Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from NORTHAMPTON

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2012
Fairly basic room, with a smart clean bathroom and Air con (most welcome). Though more than happy we didn't stay in a lake view room which I dare say merits the extra cash! Breakfast was ok at best but the glorious setting on the terrace more than compensates. Found all the staff very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
first rate hotel run by family ..ideal location a few yards from the ferry stop ..lovely view looking out onto the lake towards varenna ..great coffee at breakfasts ..spotless room would come again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kelly M

Very much recommended!

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were a little nervous about finding the hotel, as we were coming by bus from Como, but the great bus driver let us know it's the stop after the Grand Hotel Menaggio. And the hotel is literally 20' away from the bus stop. So convenient. It's also super close to the ferries, which are a great way to travel around the lake. We faced the street and were worried that it would be noisy, but the soundproofing is perfect; we were never disturbed by street noise at all. Room was spotless, the terrace for drinks, etc. was gorgeous, the staff was attentive without hovering, the pool was clean and beautiful--all in all, a great place to stay. We'd definitely stay there again. Instead of the bus back to Como, we took the high-speed hydrofoil ferry, which worked out perfectly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convenient lakeside location.

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, especially the waiter who served us drinks on the sunny terrace. From the moment we arrived we were greeted at the door and quickly shown our reserved parking space. The reception staff were also very helpful in giving information. A lakeside room would have been preferable as there is considerable traffic noise for rooms on the street side. In the hotel description on the web it states that all rooms have a balcony, this is in fact incorrect, only a few of the rooms have balconies from what we could see. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Bellavista and would do so again should we return to Menaggio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

All about the view

Posted Dec 30, 2011
Location: Great pizza place up an alley from the main square. Not sure of the name think its called Constantiti's. They do pizza till about midnight when it seems most places stop serving food about 9
I would stay here again. Definitley choose a balcony view room as its all about the view with this hotel. Our room was v small and it was a bit difficult to move around in the bathroom at times! Also as another review prior warned us the pillows are very hard. Who cares though when you are on your balcony looking out at the view. The pool was brilliant too, it wasn't busy when we were there mid July. A real asset to have a pool as it was very hot I would definintley only book a hotel with a pool. In fact having been there and seen whats on offer I would book this hotel again with no hesitation. Food in our hotel we found to be very good. Breakfast gorgeous eating out overlooking the view again. Great location too as menaggio is some compact you can't really go too wrong.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Oct 30, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel Bellavista has a great location on the lakefront and very close to the main square of Menaggio. The jewel of the hotel is the water view from the dining room. The mountain view from rooms on the land side also has a great deal of appeal. The staff is very professional, always making sure our table in the dining room was ready for us. There is a choice of eating on the glassed-in dining porch or the adjacent indoor dining room if the porch becomes too cold. The dining areas, lobby and reception areas are attractive and well maintained, and the rooms are clean. Rugs in the hallways are about ready to be replaced, though. I should add that the restaurant is a good place to enjoy dinner, as well as breakfast. The menu selections and the entrees get high marks from our group of four. We enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north carolina

hard beds, small shower & grumpy staff

Posted Oct 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
the location of bellavista was great. it had pretty water views and a short walk to everything. our beds were very hard as were the pillows. (4 people/2 rooms.) the older hotel staff was grumpy and not very helpful. the younger staff tried hard, but it seemed that the elders didn't approve.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Rooms on the street have a moderate amount of noise. better to be on the lake side. Very helpful front desk staff. great advantage was having a pool to swim in and lounge by. Beautiful setting right on the lake. The restaurante was right on the lake also, with great food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Great Location! I'd stay again!

Posted Sep 18, 2011
This hotel was in a perfect location and the room was perfectly fine. (The room decor was dated). It's a short walk from the boat ramp. When you get off the boat, walk up to the road and take a right.. Then just follow the road and go right at the Y. You'll see the BelleVista sign up on the right. There are wonderful cafe's and shops just past the hotel. The hotel restaurant is lake side and has great views.