Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chigwell, Essex

Elegant hotel in beautiful position

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Location: Good location near to ferry station and on the edge of town. Near to restaurants and shops.
Hotel is on the lake side in a very convenient position. Very elegant, good restaurant, high standard. Menaggio must be one of the nicest areas on Lake Como.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ALAINfrom BERGERAC

Vacances au bord du lac de Come

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bien qu'un peu vieillissant, rien à redire au niveau de la propreté en général, de la qualité du service et des équipements de l'hôtel. Nous avons bénéficié d'une chambre avec vue sur le lac. Bien que la baignade ne soit plus de saison, la piscine est malgré tout, entretenue, ce qui la rend agréable à regarder. Le buffet du petit déjeuner était très correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom leicester

Very nice stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Cons: The decor could do with being updated
Location: Great location, right next to the ferrry terminal and also close to the town and amenities
This hotel is in a fantastic position right on the lake, it is also very close to the town and right next to the ferry terminal. Although the hotel is a little dated it is still a very nice place to stay. Our room was a really good size but unfortunately did not have a shower. I would stay here again and would be interested to know what it is like in the summer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My hotel experience and Lake Como

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: It was in a good location, easy to pick up the ferry to other spots on the lake. To be fair, there aren't many hotels in Menaggio to compare to.
Cons: Modernisation. Showers in rooms - who wants to spend time in a bath on holiday? Comfortable furniture in the lounge.
Location: Location was good. Ferry to Balaggio 2 mins away, and other spots. Nothing to do if the weather is bad and the weather was bad.
It would seem few rooms have proper showers. Our first room had a fantastic spa bath with a pull up shower but no cubicle or even shower curtain which made it impossible to shower. To be fair, they changed our room on the first evening to a room which did have a shower. However, this room, although supposedly a higher grade room, was smaller because it had actually did have a balcony. The hotel must have been very plush in its time as you can see the quality but it was very dated now. There are lots of sofas in the lounger area which has views across the pool over to the lake but non were comfy because of their age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Menaggio stay

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived late and hungry the hotel front desk and reception personnel book us a table at a nearby pizzeria and asked the owner to wait for us We will go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC Canada

Great hotel on the water

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location, rooms, service, breakfast.
Cons: it would be nice to have espresso in the morning, rather than North American style coffee.
Location: The location of the hotel is great, beside the ferries which you can take to a variety of other towns on the lake.
We had a great experience at The Grand Hotel Menaggio on Lake Como. The lakeside rooms with balcony provide spectacular views. The rooms are very spacious and the staff extremely accommodating. The hotel is in a great location, at the edge of town right beside the ferry. the breakfast buffet was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom victoria, b.c.

Grand Old Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The hotel has been a great facility at one time but is showing signs of age. An Agatha Christie book would match the wonderfully formal dining room. Breakfast was good as was the view. Make sure to get a lakeside room and be tolerant of the obvious signs of aging. The location was excellent close to town and next to the ferries. The cost/return ratio was not good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Views

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good experience. Clean rooms and mostly friendly staff. The town is tiny and the hotel is well located to the only eating area. The lake views were spectacular. The breakfast was okay (just okay) and didn't come with much service (i.e. you have to get your own coffee etc). I did see one of the breakfast servers pick up fruit off the table and add it back to the bowl (big NO NO). Mostly it was a good experience. On a side note, one of the bell man wasn't wearing deodorant and he STUNK up the entryway. When he took our bags to the room his scent lingered for hours. No joke. I would beg the hotel to enforce a deodorant polity with the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Very nice upscale hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Everything the grounds around te hotel were well mainacured we had a room over looking the swimming pool. The room was very comfortable.
Cons: In my opinion nothing
Location: Only stayed there over night so not real sure how convenient everything was.
The hotel was very nice with a nice view very close to where we needed to catch the Ferry to Bellagio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Old World Hotel on the Lake

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Lake Como is beautiful and the hotel is right on the lake
Cons: No, our stay was wonderful
Location: Take the mid-lake ferries. We bought the whole day pass and spent the day going from town to town.
We loved our stay at the Grand Hotel Menaggio. The room was small, but charming, comfortable and clean. We had a lake side view room, the view was impressive. We did not have a problem with noise, but there is a bar/disco that is close to the ferry dock. The bar was hopping until 11:00 PM or so….If you are a light sleeper and plan on going to bed early, noise is an issue.