Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eine Perle über Menaggio

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Ein Hotel mit Herz, Charme und tollen Service ....in bester Lage.
Ein kleines Hotel mit ganz großen Service, einer gepflegten Anlage mit einem tollen Blick über den See. Noch besser... das hauseigene Restaurant.....einfach ausprobieren und genießen. Das beginnt schon beim Frühstück...... große Auswahl in bester Qualität und mit Liebe angerichtet. Wir hatten ein kleineres Doppelzimmer im Haupthaus gebucht (Badzimmer wirklich großzügig), Balkon mit Blick in den Garten und auf den See. Sehr schön und ruhig. Auch bei der Sauberkeit gab es nichts zu bemängeln, dies gilt auch für den Poll. Liegen und tägliche frische Badetücher ausreichend vorhanden. Sicher ist man hier nicht direkt am See, dafür ist es aber um einiges entspannter, weitläufiger, ohne Parkplatznot und Strandsuche....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful and peaceful place in lake Como!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is nice, far from the noise, in the middle of the lake.
Marvelous, the owners very nice people and attended, the views al the surrender
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Comfortable and homely
Cons: No
Location: Cannot comment as it was a one night stop
The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is in excellent condition and very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great place great people!

Posted May 17, 2015
Loved our stay here, small place with great charm. The owner and staff were excellent, so friendly and really made the stay one of a kind! Complete Italian charm, food at the restaurant was better than anything we found in Menaggio or Como. The walk to town is a not for everyone would be the only possible downside but is part of saving a ton of money over the lakeside hotels. Wouldn't trade it for them anyway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Schöner Ausblick. Freundliches Personal. Gutes Essen. Zimmer sehr eng. Frühstücksbuffet nicht so reichhaltig wie beschrieben.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Relaxing location from which to explore Lake Como

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The comfort and the staff; and the location for the view.
Cons: Nothing to suggest - other than a reminder that the hillside location means a drive or walk to be in the action, but personally we liked this.
The owners and staff at Hotel Royal are most hospitable and helpful. This applies not only to Mario, but also to all the staff - reception, dining room, people who cleaned our room. The hotel itself is very comfortable and we enjoyed the terrace from our ground floor room with views over the garden and in the distance over the lake. A great place to enjoy relaxing and the occasional spritzer! As the hotel is small, it has an intimacy about it. Breakfasts were good and we chose to eat in the three nights we were there as the meals were very good and very reasonably priced. As the hotel is located up the hill from the town, it is either a 20+ minutes steep walk back (or drive), although Mario was obliging too in taking us to the wharf to catch the ferry. It does mean that dining is the easiest option! Lucky that it is also a good option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Urs from Schweiz

Kurz-Aufenthalt in Menaggio

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
Sehr gepflegtes Hotel, guter Service und umfangreiches Frühstück-Buffet. Die Depandance hat eine eigene Einstellhalle, was sehr gut war, da wir auch die Bikes im Auto hatten. Der Spaziergang ins Zentrum von Menaggio dauert ca. 20 min.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from aus

Great place to stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
A little out of town, this hotel offers very good rooms however the stars are the owners. Very hospitable wanting to ensure your stay is perfect. The restaurant is of a high standard. The views were brilliant from our room, an ideal setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Treat of a hotel up in the hills of Menaggio!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Great views from the garden rooms, warm owners and staff and delicious food!
Cons: The mattresses - could use a little padding so as not to feel the springs
Great stay for a wedding - just wish my boyfriend could have joined me!! Fantastic views and delicious food at the hotel. The pool is truly a great place to unwind and have a nice glass of wine whilst enjoying the surroundings. The owners as well as the staff were lovely. Really nice like minded guests as well. A 10€ taxi ride to and from Menaggio town center. The hotel is simple but comfortable and everything you need if you are out exploring and the lake but want a great dinner and breakfast at your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel - leider mit Baustelle

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
Das Hotel liegt etwas außerhalb vom Stadtzentrum. Zu Fuß ins Zentrum ist es keine schöne Strecke. Das Frühstück war top, die Besitzer sehr freundlich (der Hausherr spricht deutsch, italienisch, englisch und französisch!) die Zimmer etwas klein. Das wussten wir aber. Der Pool war ein Traum mit gratis Handtücher und gratis Sonnenliegen. Wir hätten allerdings gerne vorher von der Baustelle am Nachbargrundstück gewusst. Der Lärm war tagsüber doch leider störend.