Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Relaxing location from which to explore Lake Como

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The comfort and the staff; and the location for the view.
Cons: Nothing to suggest - other than a reminder that the hillside location means a drive or walk to be in the action, but personally we liked this.
The owners and staff at Hotel Royal are most hospitable and helpful. This applies not only to Mario, but also to all the staff - reception, dining room, people who cleaned our room. The hotel itself is very comfortable and we enjoyed the terrace from our ground floor room with views over the garden and in the distance over the lake. A great place to enjoy relaxing and the occasional spritzer! As the hotel is small, it has an intimacy about it. Breakfasts were good and we chose to eat in the three nights we were there as the meals were very good and very reasonably priced. As the hotel is located up the hill from the town, it is either a 20+ minutes steep walk back (or drive), although Mario was obliging too in taking us to the wharf to catch the ferry. It does mean that dining is the easiest option! Lucky that it is also a good option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom aus

Great place to stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
A little out of town, this hotel offers very good rooms however the stars are the owners. Very hospitable wanting to ensure your stay is perfect. The restaurant is of a high standard. The views were brilliant from our room, an ideal setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Treat of a hotel up in the hills of Menaggio!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Great views from the garden rooms, warm owners and staff and delicious food!
Cons: The mattresses - could use a little padding so as not to feel the springs
Great stay for a wedding - just wish my boyfriend could have joined me!! Fantastic views and delicious food at the hotel. The pool is truly a great place to unwind and have a nice glass of wine whilst enjoying the surroundings. The owners as well as the staff were lovely. Really nice like minded guests as well. A 10€ taxi ride to and from Menaggio town center. The hotel is simple but comfortable and everything you need if you are out exploring and the lake but want a great dinner and breakfast at your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel - leider mit Baustelle

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Das Hotel liegt etwas außerhalb vom Stadtzentrum. Zu Fuß ins Zentrum ist es keine schöne Strecke. Das Frühstück war top, die Besitzer sehr freundlich (der Hausherr spricht deutsch, italienisch, englisch und französisch!) die Zimmer etwas klein. Das wussten wir aber. Der Pool war ein Traum mit gratis Handtücher und gratis Sonnenliegen. Wir hätten allerdings gerne vorher von der Baustelle am Nachbargrundstück gewusst. Der Lärm war tagsüber doch leider störend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

der nette weg ins städtchen,

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: die schöne anlage und das restaurant und die liebe familie.
Cons: es war alles ok.
Location: wenn man mit dem auto fährt kann man die inseln besuchen,die sich am see befinden oder in die stadt como fahren.
der herzliche empfang,sowie das empfehlendswerte lokal mit sehr gutem esse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maryfrom Atlanta

5 star hotel for a 3 star,price

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Impeccable white marble floors, Oriental carpets, velvet upholstery, exotic flowers, cozy, immaculately clean rooms, delicious food, superior view of the lake, happy and helpful staff is what you will find at Hotel Royal. The breakfast was a generous smorgasbord of oh so fresh items. It's a bit of a hike from the boat terminal in Menaggio, but it means you can eat more pasta and bread. If you just can't hike back up the hill after sightseeing, the taxi is only 10 euros from Piazza Garibaldi. HIGHLY recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolle Aussicht

Posted Jun 13, 2014
tolle Aussicht - schöner Pool - freundliches Personal, familiäre Atmosphäre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel !

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay. A little gem. Take the walk into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascalfrom Paris

Hôtel accueillant; idéal pour se reposer

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: accueil : personnel agréable et serviable le jardin avec la piscine la vue sur le lac de Côme La restauration et surtout le petit déjeuner
Cons: éclairage salle de bain
Très bon hôtel pour se reposer quelques jours après un voyage en Italie Voiture obligatoire car l'hôtel est situé sur les hauteurs de la ville de Menaggio Nous n'avions pu réserver que 2 nuits par Expedia et à notre arrivée une 3ème nuit a pu nous être proposée grâce à un désistement de dernière minute. De plus on nous a pu nous basculer dans une chambre plus grande pour tout le séjour et au même prix. Je recommande cet hôtel mais attention il y a toutefois quelques chambres assez petites. Ce n'est pas un problème lorsqu'on passe sa journée à l'extérieur.