Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Nowthen,MN

Very nice and clean!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Very clean room and bathroom ! Staff very friendly and helpfull. Great place to stay!
2 out of 5
by RC from San Francisco

Nice location by the beach... but dirty...

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: I liked how close it was to the beach. It is pretty close to all the great attractions in the area
Cons: I think something should be done to clean the bathroom (especially the floors...).
Location: Charming boutiques and antique shops in Mendocino; Sunset at Glass Beach; Lunch at BBQ place down the street from the hotel.
Overall, our experience at this hotel was OK/somewhat disappointing. It seemed as though a few upgrades were made to the room (e.g. new duvet covers and a flat screen TV). However, for the amount that we paid for one night, I was hoping for a nicer, cleaner hotel room. The bathroom floor seemed pretty dirty...The biggest problem was the smell. Our "non-smoking" room was infused with the smell of cigarette smoke.. I don't blame that on Best Western. It was probably just some inconsiderate guest before us who decided to smoke in a non-smoking room. Anyhow, the smell was awful. Also, two out of our 3 door keys did not work at all, and the one that did work was spotty... every time we tried to get into our room, we had to stick the card in like 10 times... it was frustrating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, no frills, clean

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, clean, reasonably priced.
Cons: No ideas about this.
Location: The beautiful coast!
I imagine the 2nd floor rooms had better ocean views, but this is an okay place. Rooms were clean and spacious, beds were comfy. I would stay there again. I think when you're in Fort Bragg, you're more interested in the outdoors than the indoors, and this is a reasonably priced place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice spot on the north side of town.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Surprised by the peaceful view of Pudding Creek flowing into the ocean. Room was really nice, and no ugly hotel bedspread either. Will definitely stay here again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An adequate place to stay

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: The ease in getting in and out of the parking lot. It's proximity to Pudding Creek beach.
Cons: Pay more attention to the condition of the towels. Close the windows by the pool and warm that space up.
Location: Close to downtown Ft. Bragg. Across the street from Pudding Creek beach, a favorite of ours.
I generally like Best Western's, and this one was adequate for my needs. The room, however, was difficult to warm up as it was radiant heat. The water in the pool was too cold for me to swim in, although my grandson loved it. The pool area is not heated and has open windows allowing the cool (cold) air to come in. Not a problem in the summer, but a negative in the winter. I did like the grounds, and the way the buildings were situated away from the main lobby. There was no microwave in the room (definite negative), and you could hear every footstep and door close from the second floor. Finally, (nit picking) the towels in the bathroom were frayed at the edges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by annette from half moon bay, ca

Great rooms with views!

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The people that work and live there.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Glass beach and the seaglass museum. Botanical gardens. Skunk train Northwest brewing coman Whale watching. Mendocino close by Coastal trails.
Been staying here now for about eight years. Will keep going back. Rooms comfortable, cleAn with flat screen tvs. Lots of choices for breakfast. Bagels, waffles, fresh fruit , coffee, tea, sweet rolls, cereal, bread, hard boiled eggs. Very clean always. Quiet at night. Peaceful setting. Just love the view and the way we are treated upon arrival and during our stay. Nice indoor swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place - recommended !!

Posted Nov 6, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Cons: update the d├ęcor a little.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Flat screen TVs, rate is usually reasonable
Cons: First bed was comfortable, second was not (they should keep better tabs on the mattresses)
Location: The hotel is on the far end of town, but has partial ocean views. Visit Triangle Tattoo (tattoo shop/museum) while you're there - really interesting
I've now stayed at this hotel twice - once in the building across from the front desk and once in the hotel's second building. The second building backs up to a cemetery, which may make some uneasy, but I didn't have a problem with it. The rooms are clean, with flat screen televisions. There is a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room, but that's about it. Breakfast is what is expected, but only served until 10 a.m. - make your own waffles, bagels and cream cheese, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, toast, coffee, orange juice, apple juice and bananas. The beds are OK - not painfully uncomfortable, but not superbly comfortable. The hotel itself is on the back end of town (if you're coming from the southern part of California). It's a little bit off from town center. If you want to be right in the middle of everything, I probably wouldn't stay at this hotel. If you want to be close to everything, then this would most likely work for you. You could walk the distance from the hotel to the center of town, but you'd be better off driving. The front desk is mostly nice, although when our remote control's batteries started to die, they made us bring the remote to them instead of sending someone to us. It isn't a big deal considering they only have one person at the front desk at any given time, but it would have been nice if they had come to us. Because the rates are usually reasonable, I will probably stay here again.