Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ted from San Francisco

Ideal Inn on Mendocino Coast

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Elegant yet laid back B&B on Northern California Coast. Every detail was perfect. Mia and her staff took great care of us while giving us all the privacy we desired. Breakfast was gourmet and healthy. Mia arranged a fabulous dinner for us at a tiny local restaurant when everything else was closed.The hotel is a short walk from the dock where the crab and fishing boats dock. We loved watching the surfers and exploring the tidal pools. We rode our bikes to the Lighthouse point and watched the migrating Gray Whales. Be aware that this is not a tourist town but rather an authentic fishing village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Berkeley, CA

Beautiful, romantic, relaxing bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 20, 2013
Mia and her staff did a great job of making us feel welcome. It was our honeymoon, and we enjoyed the lavishly appointed bedroom overlooking the pier and coast. Breakfasts were scrumptious, with plenty of coffee and tea, homemade breads, fruit salad, souffl├ęs and pancakes. Mia gave many helpful sightseeing suggestions. It was a great time and we'd return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good view and quaint

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Quiet remote location
Cons: Coffee and hot water for tea available through out the day
Location: Fort Bragg has a number of things to see.
Location is perfect if you do not want to do anything but read a book Your are totally off the grid. Wifii is available but cell phones may not work. Everything is at least a 30 minute drive on coastal highway. Look into Fort Bragg for a day trip. It is not area highlighted by the owner but there is a shunk train and botantical gardens that are will worth the drive. Hint if you are coming from a different time zone and want to eat something before 9:00 AM when breakfast is served make sure that you bring your own food because owner gets upset if you sit before 9:00 AM to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Walnut Creek, CA, USA

Great place for a couple to get away!

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Quiet, relaxed, friendly, overlooks the water.
Cons: Pt. Arena is not easy to get to - but that makes it great to get away from the hordes........
Location: On a hillside above the road at the end of a long driveway. Overlooks the ocean and the ravine. Very pretty.
This is a special place. Overlooks Pt. Arena cove, and is a 4 minute walk down to the pier. The scenery is terrific, there is a boat launch (hoist) off the pier, a very good restaurant, and is close to some terrific hikes, beaches, and the Pt. Arena Lighthouse. The hotel is VERY quiet, clean, and takes a limited number of guests. It is a Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and the folks staying there were as nice as the owners. We'll be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Les

Great Romantic Getaway but Isolated Location

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful location on the harbor, clean, good breakfast. Minimal amenities, very quiet isolated location. No internet, no pool or hot tub. Cell phone reception marginal. Few restaurants in the area. If you want to get away from it all in a beautiful location, this is it. If you need to stay in touch or keep kids entertained, find another place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jill from Indiana

Romantic coast getaway

Posted Jul 30, 2012
The inn and our Flag Room were magical! Loved every minute of it! The room and bath could not have been cuter or cleaner. Breakfast was delicious on a perfectly laid out table. The view was fantastic. I can not say enough wonderful things about the inn!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

It's a B & B at Hotel prices!

Posted Aug 17, 2010
We were not expecting a B&B, especially for that price! Thought it was going to be a small hotel with nice grounds and views to enjoy. It is actually just an expensive B & B. However, it is very clean, our room was small with a queen bed in a nook and a very cramped sitting area but had its charm. They do serve a very nice breakfast to all the guests at 9.00 am. The friend looking after the Inn was very pleasant. Not the most beautiful bay on the coast either, we were happy to head out of town the next morning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins, CO

Great Get Away

Posted Jul 7, 2008
Very quiet and relaxed. Close to the pier and very near a couple of Light houses. We had a great and relaxing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Eureka, CA

A Relaxing and Restful Great-Away!

Posted Jul 25, 2007
We throughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Coast Guard House Historic Inn. We arrived in time to have dinner at the near by resturant (as suggested by the inn owner), which featured fresh caught salmon from the marina, then spent a quiet night surrounded by sounds of the sea and warmed by the gas fireplace in our room. The room was an all white bead-board covered attic room with interesting ceilings and a tiled bath. The kind of room you dream your aunt always keeps open for you. In the morning we wandered over to the pier to watch them lowering fishing vessels into the ocean ($20 for both lowering and removing! - wish we had brought a boat!)and spent an enjoyable half hour talking to the man who ran the harbor. At 8:30 coffee and tea was available by the pot-bellied stove at the Inn, followed by a great breakfast at 9:00. We left after breakfast for an enjoyable drive up the coast to Mendocino and Ft. Bragg. Great get-away! Suggest you contact the Inn for better driving instructions than MapQuest offers, though!