Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Cruz, CA

Nice old house in very poor condition

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location and charm
Cons: Freshen it up and repair
Location: Mendocino is a charming town. Everything is in walking distance.
great location and view. Old house was actually falling apart in front of our faces. From the neglected landscaping, broken steps to front porch, 20 year old paint with cracking plaster in the common areas as well as most rooms we saw, this place gives deferred maintenance a new meaning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad vibe.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Creepy place, looks like amityville movie. Staff nonexistent. Weird lady who was so proud to be an atheist and proclaiming so while playing uncomfortable music during breakfast. I couldn't get out if there soon enough. Should be called drudge- r- redoo. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room 65 is outside the main building which I like.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable
Cons: In room coffee maker would be nice.
Location: Short walk to main-street stores, trail to beach.
Room has refrigerator, small stand-alone fireplace, it's own bathroom. Breakfast was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remove it

Posted Oct 19, 2014
This lodging needs major TLC you should remove it from your listing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great peaceful place

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We had an enjoyable/peaceful stay for our 4th wedding anniversary. Sitting outside under the Mendocino stars was memorable. Kathie made us really feel welcomed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Very Disappointing

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly host
Cons: Everything needed to be cleaned and updated. Probably too expensive to do since it was a very old house.
Location: Location was right in town so very convenient.
Should have known it wouldn't be what was expected when there was no picture of the Inn on the website. Bathroom had a cracked sink, very old tub and shelf above sink was made of several pieces of wood sitting on hooks. Rug had spots on it and everything was old and dingy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach, restaurants and shops.

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Comfort and relaxing environment.
Nice breakfast and central area for guests to mingle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by DiANEfrom san frNCISCO Bay

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
bREAKFast was great. Proprietors were friendly and cheerful. Room was comfortable but older house floors creaked, bed, etc. but still was veryconvenient to town. I would stAY THERE again n recomment to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monicafrom Redwood City, CA

Adorable!

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We decided to book the inn solely based on the pictures of the rooms - we loved the look (wallpaper, antiques, old home). We were very excited to later learn this is a bed and breakfast. The inn is a historic building from 1881 and we loved it. We stayed in room 68. The bathroom is extremely small - I had very little elbow room when I was doing my hair so I opened up the bathroom door - problem solved. The bed was lumpy and had seen better days but we liked the idea that it felt like we were staying with friends and not at a hotel. Breakfast was DELICIOUS. Seriously. We were served eggs with sourcream, coconut oil, shitake mushrooms and some maple/pecan crusted bacon that had been cooked in the oven. I skipped the pancakes but my bf had them and thought they were amazing. We sat on a couch and shared a tv tray to eat while chatting with other guests. It truly was awesome. I've always stayed in Fort Bragg when visiting this area but will now return to this spot. The price was right and we ate at Patterson's Pub for dinner - amazing food and decently priced. The Didjeridoo has a lot of wall art displaying pot, what did you expect? Our view was of the church that you can see while kayaking Big River. The staff was very interested in where we were from and where we were going - if you're looking for an experience then you might want to check this place out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Fine location if you don't mind old and musty

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dirty carpets. Mold on the ceiling. OLD....But it's a great location. I wouldn't stay there again unless I was desperate.