Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, Ca

Great Hotel, super clean and friendly

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: I liked everything about this Hotel. Close to the beach,dinning and shopping!
Cons: If I could improve something it would be bigger trash cans in the rooms.
Location: Mendocino is 7 miles down the road with all of it's shops and dinning. Patterson's is my favorite place. Ricochet Ranch horseback riding on the beach
This was a great place to stay. Friendly and very helpful staff. The room was so clean and the beds and pillows were SO comfortable. At the end of the road about 1/4 mile is a place to park and watch the ocean waves. Beautiful sunsets!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Interior Northern California

Emerald at Ft. Bragg

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, roomy, nice appointments...and location, location, location! Take a walk or a bike ride to the nearby cliff edge park. Really lovely.
Cons: We haven't figured out why lodging places seem to avoid recycling. Huge waste, be think. Bad TV, no PBS.
Location: It's all there...
To cite disappointments - which I will nonetheless do - is to diminish a very pleasant experience at this nice, new-ish, coastal motel. Very nice staff, comfy room, modest rates, and good location. I wish only to gripe that they have yet to move into the 21st century with HD televison (the picture on the TV was awful), and their selection did not include a PBS station - for us a real negative. In any event, we'd stay there again at the drop of a hat. The difference between $100 at the Emerald and $75 at Motel 6 or 8 or 9 or whatever is the difference between a truly pleasant trip and an edgy one. Spend it! You'll not regret it for a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Very clean hotel, staff very pleasant and friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Motel 6 Quality at an Exhorbitant Price!

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: The bed linens were nice.
Cons: 1. Change your front desk staff. 2. Cut the price by half. 3. Repair your HVAC and in room refrigerators.
Location: Fort Bragg is a wonderful place to visit, with many wonderful accommodations. Unfortunately, the Emerald Dolphin is not one of them.
I arrived at the hotel and was harangued by the clerk. She said that my payment to Expedia had been declined, that she had no way to contact me (no e-mail or phone number), and that she was 15 minutes away from giving the room I had booked through Expedia to someone else. Finally, I believe that the hotel clerk overcharged me by adding a "booking fee" to my stay that was not disclosed by Expedia. After this experience, I will not be using Expedia to book hotels again. And, even if I were to use Expedia again, I'd avoid this place! The room itself was very disappointing, especially for the price. The HVAC was non-functional, so we had a sweltering night inside. The in-room refrigerator was so loud that it kept waking my children up. The hotel staff were extraordinarily rude as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable but not elaborate

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: good for the price
Cons: air conditioning
Location: lots to do in the area
It would have helped to have air conditioning, the room got very warm in the evening and night There was no bar in the bath tub to help getting up out of the tub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno

Close to everything.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort, cleaning staff.
Cons: Breakfast, soundproofing.
Location: Mini golf is on the premises, ocean views and tide pools within 1/4 mile. Downtown is 2 miles away, including all restaurants, shopping, skunk train.
1/4 mile to ocean views. Secluded beach, restaurants, and harbor a bit further. Breakfast was minimalist, Danish and coffee. Mini golf was a nice perk for the kids. Walls are thin, my most common complaint at hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Too warm in evenings. Couldn't cool the room down since no a/c and windows only opened part way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yuba City, CA

Posted Jul 18, 2014
The room was very clean! Beds were comfortable and the grounds were nice! Will definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by retiredfrom Washington

Clean, well arranged property

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the quiet and nice setting. The appearance of the hotel if very clean and well kept.
Location: This property is close to the beach and includes a nice put-put golf for those so inclined to paly.
This property is close to the beach and is very clean and comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful. Our room was nicely appointed and decorated with attention to detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane

Independent motel with big chain quality

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Location: Conveniently located next to highway, had a great dinner in a restaurant within walking distance.
Very nice room, everything seemed new and super clean. Dynamite inroom coffee!