Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no very good

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The hotel is old and not kept in good condition, the TV reception was terrible, the WIFI did not work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Cons: continental breakfast is a joke;extremely uninspiring
Very nice corner room with cross ventilation which is rare in hotel. Vintage furniture was interesting. Need to take care walking short distance to town which is on main road that doesn't have sidewalks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Petaluma, CA

DOUBLE CHARGED

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: loved the old charm
Cons: new owner is doing gradual upgrades - hope they keep the old charm
Location: up on the hill within walking distance of the shopping town
CHARGED by Expedia and also charged by the hotel with a $100 difference - hotel did not have my Expedia booking for some reason
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hill House.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Breakfast did not have anything hot. No wi-Fi. Bar and restaurant were both closed. Staff kept wanting to send us to their sister hotel with a 10% off certificate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak Mi

Relaxing!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Quaintness
Cons: Mattress
Location: Enljoyed all the little shops and stores. Great places to eat.
Our stay to Mendocino was so enjoyable we will be back. Hill House Inn was perfect. Loved the surroundings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Ramon CA

If you want a basic room with no wifi, it is clean

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Breakfast left a lot to be desired - at least on week days. We stayed here on a weekend last year, and the breakfast options were much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

A Once Nice Hotel on the Downward Slide

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The location and gardens are very nice.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: Many parks and the nearby Botanical Gardens were quite nice. Also, the Skunk Train runs very nearby and was enjoyable.
It's clear that the hotel is having financial difficulties or suffers from poor management, as evidenced from the lack of maintenance (peeling wallpaper, smoke detector open without battery, exterior painting, etc). However, the most unbelievable part of this experience is the 'breakfast' situation, where the hotel only has a limited number of spoons and guests must wait until a spoon comes back in from another guest so it can be cleaned and handed to you. This type of silliness cannot be made up and after witnessing this a second day, we asked the front desk for help. The attendant was as polite as could be and very understanding, as this was THE MOST COMMON COMPLAINT she gets from guests and will again inform 'The Management' of our concern. Imagine a hotel that regularly operates this way, even after repeated complaints from the guests. I would say this sums up the hotel and it's state of affairs quite succinctly. I will not return and steered a friend away who was headed to Mendocino the following week.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

ok but.....

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Location and history are the things to recommend the Hill house. Needs a lot of care to bring it back to it's potential.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GREGORY from Apple Valley

at the Hill House Inn for 1 night

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
We were at the hotel for 1 night. The facilities are adequate for the price. At breakfast, guests had problems due to lack of attendance at the breakfast room. Coffee, milk , juices have ran out and we have to go to the office to notify the hotel staff. In the afternoon, I tried to call the hotel with the listed phone number several times and there is no answer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This hotel is in forecolsure and therefore the whole experience was not what I was used to from previous stays. I would not recommend this hotel until it is sold and updated.