Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Royal Oak Mi

Relaxing!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Quaintness
Cons: Mattress
Location: Enljoyed all the little shops and stores. Great places to eat.
Our stay to Mendocino was so enjoyable we will be back. Hill House Inn was perfect. Loved the surroundings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Ramon CA

If you want a basic room with no wifi, it is clean

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Breakfast left a lot to be desired - at least on week days. We stayed here on a weekend last year, and the breakfast options were much better.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

A Once Nice Hotel on the Downward Slide

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The location and gardens are very nice.
Cons: Please see above.
Location: Many parks and the nearby Botanical Gardens were quite nice. Also, the Skunk Train runs very nearby and was enjoyable.
It's clear that the hotel is having financial difficulties or suffers from poor management, as evidenced from the lack of maintenance (peeling wallpaper, smoke detector open without battery, exterior painting, etc). However, the most unbelievable part of this experience is the 'breakfast' situation, where the hotel only has a limited number of spoons and guests must wait until a spoon comes back in from another guest so it can be cleaned and handed to you. This type of silliness cannot be made up and after witnessing this a second day, we asked the front desk for help. The attendant was as polite as could be and very understanding, as this was THE MOST COMMON COMPLAINT she gets from guests and will again inform 'The Management' of our concern. Imagine a hotel that regularly operates this way, even after repeated complaints from the guests. I would say this sums up the hotel and it's state of affairs quite succinctly. I will not return and steered a friend away who was headed to Mendocino the following week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2015
This hotel is in forecolsure and therefore the whole experience was not what I was used to from previous stays. I would not recommend this hotel until it is sold and updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shopping stores.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Better emenities. Better wifi. Better continental breakfast.
Location: Hotel was easy to get to. Shopping was in walking distance.
Our stay was comfortable. Our room location was noisy though it quieted down in the evening. The emenities were bare. Wifi was horrible. Continental breakfast was fair. The location was the best out of everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moraga, CA

Quaint Hotel in Mendocino

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Only complaint is the maids were kind of loud in the morning.
Location: The eats are alright. Local bar scene is nice and simple. Go to Patterson's Pub first, then Dick's Place (gets rowdy on the weekend).
Check in was simple and easy. Lady at the front desk was very helpful. They experienced a power outage a couple days prior to our stay, so wi fi was only accessible in the lobby. Seems like an old place, but management kept the hotel clean for the most part. Very close to the town, about 5-8 min walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Beautiful room

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The room was perfect.
Cons: dining experience. only breakfast and a bar
Location: cozy little town close to ocean.
We loved the room, almost so much that we didn't want to leave. The evening lady at the desk was over the top gracious and helpful.. She made our stay so pleasant. The only thing to say negative was the continental breakfast was terrible. The only cereal was kid cereals, no oatmeal, only breads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

classic as its best

Posted Mar 24, 2015
this hotel stays aside from my numerous stays in all-look-alike typical american hotels. This one is charming, beautifully decorated, in a very relaxing settings. We had a large 221 suit with a real fireplace, king bed and comfy sofa. Staff was very welcoming and immediately responded to our needs to make us more than happy. We stayed only one night, though I would love to spend a longer vacation at this place. The only one disappointing this was breakfast with a limited selection of mediocre food, though it couldn't ruin our overall good feelings about Hill house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa, CA

Affordable Victorian Inn.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The price, location.
Cons: The continental breakfast was very disappointing. No yogurt, instant oatmeal, eggs or fresh fruit except for apples.
Location: The location is good. It is close to downtown, 2 blocks. The ocean and bluffs are about 1/2 mile from the hotel. We saw whales from the bluffs.
The Hill House Inn is the most affordable place to stay in Mendocino. The Inn is nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was disappointing, Very Sparse. We had a room with a ocean view. It is a nice view. The staff was friendly. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: It was an easy walk into town, the shower was great and the bed was pretty good.
Cons: For what we paid you would expect some extra features like a mini-fridge, or a better view, hot tub etc.
Location: It was close to town, but so are all other hotels in this area.
The front desk staff were a little unprofessional in my opinion. Set a bad tone for the stay. The room was pretty dated, but clean and comfy. Lacking in extra amenities. It was adequate but we felt a little costly for what we received.