Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

highly recommend

Posted Jun 19, 2014
beautiful grounds overlooking the ocean. wonderful place for a romantic getaway. restaurant and bar on site. FP and Jacuzzi nice touch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dolores from San Jose, Ca

Little River Inn Mendocino, Ca.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The landscaping is so wonderful that walking around the grounds is very enjoyable. Our room was perfect. Restaurant well worth the price.
Cons: Check-in. Doorstop to hold the balcony door open. Side mounted mirror to put on makeup. Warn that there may be some minor remodeling going on weekdays
Location: It sits along the Pacific ocean, so any beach activities . There state parks in the redwood forests. Town is 5 miles away. Like a Cape Cod town.
It is a special place to stay. Our room was lovely with a fireplace, a sitting area, and jetted tub inside the bathroom. ( I do wish the ice machine wasn't down a flight of stairs and across the lawns. Although others find this trivial.) The welcoming staff was friendly but it took almost 30 minutes to check in because the one clerk was on the phone taking reservations.( I was the only one checking in.) Finally someone else came, but couldn't complete it without the other's help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, peaceful hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Great room with an awesome ocean view. Golf was great & the Little River Inn Restaurant was awesome as well. Can't wait to go back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Very charming hotel. The view of the ocean was beautiful. It was nice to be able to sit outside an enjoy the nice weather and the view. Definitely a place I would stay at again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mani from San Francisco bay area. CA

Nice hotel with a great view

Posted Apr 22, 2014
We had a great experience in this place. The hotel had amazing view and the food was very good. Must try the restaurant. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barb from San Diego

We Loved it Here

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: Just minutes from Mendocino and right on the coast.
We've been to Mendocino several times and always stayed there, but we decided to try Little River this time and we were so glad that we did. This hotel had thought of everything and we were just delighted with it. The staff went out of their way to make us happy. The room was large, very nice with tasteful decorating and even though it's across the street from the ocean the view from our room was great. We had dinner in both the dining room and the bar and both were very good. We would stay here again and again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patty from San Francisco

Wonderful hotel with ocean view.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Quaintness and inviting room with fireplace and view of ocean from our porch.
Cons: Bar and restaurant close too early.
Location: We went to the beach across from the River Inn. Fort Bragg was only 26 minutes away and they have museums and shops. Good eateries.
Great getaway when you want to get out of the city! We had a relaxing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really laid back comfort.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Locking Screens on the glass doors so you could leave it open at night and hear the waves.
Location: The location should be planned for a destination to stay and enjoy the golf, excellent dinner, a amicable bar, and a perfect location for a writer.
Great bed, linens, whirlpool tub in room after driving the coast was great. We sat on our private veranda in rockers watching the sun set, sipping wine from Napa Valley and saw several whales. The dining room was white table cloth nice, good service and excellent food. I had the Osso Bucco, and while I prefer veal the pork, was prepared perfectly, there were four in our party and no one had a single complaint. The gardens were beautiful. A flock of wild turkeys were on the golf course the next morning. We will return for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great get away for a relax weekend

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Golf course around the corner, good food, wine, and incredible sun sets
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AppleAnnie 57 from earth, CA

Incredible service & Amazing Housekeeping !

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The layout of the room, attention to the customers needs & the good customer service were only overshadowed by the Best Housekeeping Services !!!!!!!!
Cons: The chef, like it or not the budget may be the real issue but little if any risks taken in the way of spices. How about using a little rosemary , etc
Location: Tons of stuff, Mendocino & Fort Bragg are filled with shops & then there's the Botanical Gardens, whale watching (on & off shore = boats) !!!
We Loved the facilities, the room & the friendly staff - they aim to please, the booklet in our room even stated if we couldn't find it they would help....that finding us a Llama was "do-able" ! Their housekeeping staff met & Exceeded any 5 star establishment we've ever been to. Bath products & tissues, coffee & tea all great but toilet paper mighty thin... My only real complaint. The cuisine at restaurant & bar very "Hit & Miss" Crab Cakes & roasted Brussels Sprouts, the melted Brie & fruit platter all raves. Bread pudding pretty good. The crab puff pie, lacked any spice, had freezer burnt pea taste & a sauce that I could have poured out of a Campbell's soup can, the Burgers appeared pre-formed (as in frozen) & were tasteless. The dinner rolls unique & the wait staff very professional & extremely patient with drunks & spoiled persons. We witnessed a lot of patron waste, too. People sitting out on porches with doors open, every light in the place on & room heat running to beat the Band ! (And you wonder why costs may need to increase, do you act like that at home ? I think not !) Will we go back, in a heartbeat !!! BTW any food complaints were met with true customer service, we just wish the chef would use more spices ; or offer more on the side !