Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by diane

Beautiful and well furnished room with large tub.

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: I liked the beautiful room with all new modern sink and tub. It was a few Blocks away from the old main house.
Cons: I could not control the heat or a/c.
Location: This hotel is in Mendocino. The whole town is quaint and well maintained, and right on the ocean.
Staff were exceptionally nice. They explained everything clearly about the accommodations. The waiters were welcoming and attentive and the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Peaceful and relaxing.

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Private, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Restaurant service during dinner was slow.
Location: Convenient location and parking is usually available.
Highly recommend the suites for a short trip to Mendocino. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fabulous although a bit on the high-end range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

The MacCullum House in Medocino

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room we had was beautiful. The hot tub outside was such a nice touch. The bathroom in the large suite was huge. The tub was such a treat to bathe in with the jets and bubble bath. When we found the hidden treasure of the indoor sauna - wow! The bed ws huge and comfy, as was the fireplace. The breakfast served was top notch. The bar and restaurant served delicious goodies. The only complaint is that the inn was further away from downtown than what we had planned, so we had to drive for dinner. But other then that, our stay was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Nice Venue

Posted Apr 19, 2011
This is a nice B & B in Mendocino, CA. The economy has reached this beautiful little town. A lot of the shops and eating establishments have closed. The food and bar at the B & B were high quality. A problem arose when we went to dinner and found that reservations should have been made at check-in. A two hour wait was not workable for us. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We were in room 14, in the barn. This is a nicely appointed room. There was an issue with the bath tub. If a shower was attempted there was no way to keep water off the floor. Wet tile is slick. Needs a safety consideration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Charming, but not for us

Posted Feb 26, 2011
Quaint little coastal town, but not much going on during the week-days; we actually drove 8 miles north to Fort Bragg to do some exploring/shopping/drinks. A Ft Bragg local recommended the Mac Callum House for dinner; she didn't know we were already staying there. We of course took the locals' advice, but I must say it wasn't 'our cup of tea'. Nice, I'm sure, but you have to like that sort of upper scale dining to have enjoyed it. But all in all, the B&B was nice and charming, and a good place for experienced B&B lovers...it was our first, so it fell short of what we thought it would be, but a great place for breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2010
The hotel was wonderful. Skip the restaurant, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, CA

Extremely relaxing - 2 days away felt like a week!

Posted Oct 30, 2009
The room was extremely pleasant. On their website, the picture of the room looked very pink. However in person it was much more pleasant, very faint. So take some of the pictures with a grain of salt. The provided soaps/lotions/bath salts were of top quality and very luxurious. The breakfast that came with the room was incredible. Even without the breakfast the room was fantastic, but with the inclusion of the breakfast it makes the MacCallum House a wonderful stay. The room was nice and roomy - with upgraded windows and such. It was very comfortable. The room we had even had a balcony that we could eat lunch on. I highly recommend the deluxe rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Golden

Peaceful oasis

Posted Oct 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the MacCullum House suites room 28. The room was large and felt very comfortable and "homey". The bed was very comfortable. The surroundings are beautiful and the grounds are very peaceful. We extended our stay two extra days we enjoyed it so much. The suites are a couple blocks away from the Inn but still walking distance to main street and the ocean. If I return to Mendocino I will definitely stay at MacCullum House!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

My favorite B&B in Mendocino

Posted Oct 22, 2009
I have visited the Mendocino area all my life, and after a few notable places closed over the years, I have been delighted to discover the Mac Callum House. From the moment of my arrival, I felt like I went back to the old days. Such a beautiful place to stay, with wonderful comforts and attention to detail. I rate the staff and their chef as some of the most professional and helpful I've come across in years. Worth coming to for the breakfast alone. I'll be back!