Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Small B&B close to town centre

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and central
Cons: A more friendly and outgoing approach from the staff.
Location: Mendocino is a charming town with some lovely shops
This suited our need for a one-night stop in Mendocino. We particularly enjoyed meeting new people at the communal breakfast table.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Lovely Inn in Mendocino!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: I loved the furnishings. The very comfortable bed and roomy bathroom. It was on a nice quiet street, yet close to downtown. Very convenient location
Location: Very close to downtown Mendocino, shops, art galleries, and the beach. Also the music festival was happening! The beach is about two blocks away.
The Nicholson Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast. My room was beautiful, very nicely appointed, with lovely furnishings. It had lots of space, with a dresser, bed, and two arm chairs. The bathroom was spotless and had good lighting and plenty of space. I loved it and will definitely return. A great place to relax and enjoy Mendocino. It is conveniently located to all the shops and the beach. A great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Fine place.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location is good. The breakfast was excellent.
Cons: It's an old building, that has been fixed up. It will never seem modern, if that is what you want... But it was very comfortable.
On-street parking was not a plus, since we had bikes on the back of the car overnight. But there was no problem. The stairs to the upper story are steep. Not for the old and feeble. But those are the rooms which are guaranteed to have been pet-free. Because of lung allergies, that was a requirement for us. The wi-fi was located in the adjacent office building, and the signal was weak in the room. The data rate was low, but fine for e-mail. Overall, the place was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The room was very small. Heard the people in other rooms. Very concerned about our pet in the room. So not to be charged for more costs. The manager that accepted was very short. My first experience in a bed & breakfast was not the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fremont, CA

Wonderful Couples Retreat

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The location was awesome. Quiet, but within walking distance to everything. The breakfast was wonderful. There is a great deck on the back.
Cons: I didn't find the guy behind the desk to be very personable and the walls were a little thin, but otherwise it was great.
Location: Mendocino is quaint and picturesque and there are wonderful restaurants and fun shopping. It is a great place for a romantic weekend.
We had a wonderful weekend. This was a great place to stay. Quiet and peaceful, but within walking distance of everything in town. The breakfast was wonderful with lots of options. Not really a place for kids, but a nice place for a couples get-a-way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Brody from Nellysford, Va

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was a quick overnight. Got to Mendocino to late to really enjoy. Room was great , very comfortable, great nights sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A cheaper place to stay, but at a cost.

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Overall charm.
Cons: Windows: they were either stuck or misshaped.
Nice staff. Hotel itself is basic. Thin walls. [Expedia is asking me to add more to my review but I do not know what else to say so I am including this sentence just as filler.]
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hsan diego

Excellent stay at nicholson bed and breakfast inn

Posted May 28, 2014
My son and i stayed one night at nicholson inn. Brent, the manager was welcoming and informative, about places to eat and where the art center was located. The breakfast buffet had fresh strawberries, blueberries, and bananas on the large table in the office where it was served. A basket of warm scones, and assortment of whole grain bread, bagels, hard boiled eggs, salami and sliced cheeses and yogurt, as well as coffee and orange juice were in the breakfast area. All in all, this is a nice inn to stay.
2 out of 5
by Jack from Sonoma County, CA

Convenient

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Convenient to restaurants.
Cons: Newer mattress.
Location: Mendocino is, of course a great place with a good variety of restaurants. Close to ft. Bragg, Point Arena. Driving up through Anderson Valley, nice!
Room was quite small, not even a small table. Bed was not very comfortable. Signs all over the place asking to conserve water but had no low flow devices. Shower was so forceful it actually created a breeze. No TV in room. Parking on street.