Ratings based on 696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location just south of town.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Appearance and comfort. Friendly staff
Cons: WiFi only works in the front office... no T-Mobile service there so it would be good to have WiFi reception in the rooms.
Location: Close to Fort Bragg and Mendocino!!!!!! Beautiful bluffs and beaches.
We did a late check in and the manager had the room ready and keys waiting just as we asked. Room was nice and comfortable! Great for such an affordable price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pet friendly

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Staff were incredible and the room met our needs with having our pet..... Febreeze and candle resolved the must odor that we were willing to ignore due to other amentities of the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Willows, CA

Easy place to stay.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Has access to a very nice secluded private beach which was the main attraction for us. Rooms are basic but clean. Old school small TV says go outside.
Cons: No cell reception- not necessarily bad. Go down to the beach and enjoy the real world.
Location: Just minutes from Ft. Bragg. Many restaurants overrated for seafood quality and price. Recommend "The Q" for that quaint place with great clam chowder
Decided to spend New Years 2015 in Ft. Bragg. Son was home from college on east coast so we decided to a little road trip to the ocean. Booked Pine Ocean Inn through Expedia. Basic Lodging with no frills but fit our need. Fit our need for a place to stay with beach access and good location from which to do all activities coastal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newark, CA

Great view of Pacific Ocean

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Great view of Pacific Ocean. Nice staff. Comfortable. Great bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Collins, Co

Older hotel near the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: It was only a short stroll to the beach, which was not heavily used. I could pop down in a minute or two for sunset, tidepooling, or just hanging out
Location: A mile or so south of Fort Bragg. There are state parks with beaches, headlands, redwoods, and more nearby.
The room was large with a view of the beach. It was somewhat spartan and outdated, but reasonably comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: not much
Cons: Needs a lot of TLC to bring it back to what it once was
Location: Too far from the town
Restrurant was not open as noted when we made the reservation. Handicap room had lots of differed maintenance. Trash not picked up. Locks on the door not functional etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Old, smelly, stay somewhere else! Really.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
I should have been prepared by the other reviews but I tend to think that I had lower expectations that most, but nope, this place was pretty bad. We enjoyed our stay but the room was just gross, I'm really glad we brought our own bedding so at least I slept well. I will say the mattress was decent. It smelled bad, it was really really dated and crusty. The WiFi hardly worked, no big deal, we weren't on vacation to sit on the internet all day. I think if they put a tiny bit of money back into this place it would make a big difference. But it seems like the owners just really don't care at all. I definitely won't be back and I won't be recommending anyone stay at the Pine Beach Inn any time, ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sierra foothills

Room with a view

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The location on the beach side of the road, and with access directly to the beach.
Cons: It could use a larger television screen. At least one of the picnic tables needed to be replaced.
Location: The hotel is a few miles away from MacKerricher State Park, which has miles of trails along the coast, and through marshland. This park is a gem.
Our room overlooked a lovely beach a few minutes walk down a small path. The hotel is on the beach side of the highway, which was especially nice. The room was fairly large and very clean. Some of the rooms had back door access directly to the lawn. The beds were comfortable. There were outside places to sit, and an area for a barbecue. The television screen was only a little bit larger than my laptop, so it was difficult to see from across the room, but we didn't go there to watch television anyway. Great location and very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burnaby, B. C.

Pine Beach Inn

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Price, peace & quiet, cool beach.
Cons: Little things all around but it is a big place and would require a large crew to keep it tip top. Just accept it for what it is, great; place, & price
Location: Easily accessible, but no nearby attractions.
They say - `you get what you pay for’. This is usually true though sometimes it is in reverse of what you expect. Take, for instance, the Pine Beach Inn. One would rate this as a one or two star lodge. A typical old roadside motel. And it is. It is older and to the side of a road. Once the main coastal highway throughout the state it is still the only road South to North on this part of the California coast. Consequently it is fairly busy, yet the motel only has a few of its units facing the road and even then they are set back away from the traffic noise. To the North of the Inn is a canyon filled with growth which makes it hard to see and leaves a large space of nothing but green along the side of the highway which means when you approach the tall sign at night it is easy to find your way home. The street to the South goes into a private subdivision of cliff top dwellings. The turn top the right takes you to the office and driving straight ahead takes you to a large common area, with gazebo, which separates the wings of the motel, further insuring calm and quite in the units themselves. Behind the West wing of the inn is a paved path that is fairly steep and leads to the bottom of the canyon and the mouth of a small creek. This area can be fairly dangerous, if there is a large storm brewing on the Pacific Ocean, and there are signs warning you to stay away. However on a calm day it is a lovely stretch of beach where you may spot some wildlife in the early morning or
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calif

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The location, it was quiet, the surroundings are beautiful.
Cons: Does need some upgrades, everything is old in the room, including bedding, but it was clean.
Good place to use as a sleep pad, outside surroundings are very nice, inside of motel rooms are a bit depressing. If you want a place with ambiance, this is not it. We spent very little time in our room so it was fine and at $105.+ tax it was reasonable.