Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Quant
Cons: Room size,
Location: Convenient
One chair ...there was not sufficient room for two chairs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from Ottawa, Ontario

An idyllic spot

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: I liked the price (very reasonable) and the proximity to shops and restaurants.
Cons: Only the weather. It rained while we were there, so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor patios and gardens.
Location: An easy walk to jewelry stores, galleries and half a dozen restaurants.
We spent one night in The Shed, a tiny cottage that contains a bedroom and bath. It was beautifully decorated and cozy. In the morning we were served a delicious breakfast of an oversized muffin, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. There is no dining room, so we ate with friends in their room, which was in the main building (and also lovely).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travel warriors from HVL, California

Girls Getaway

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The gardens and breakfast
Had an awesome 2 night stay in Mendocino. The Sea Gull Inn is a cute comfortable B & B and the location is great. Walked everywhere in town and loved the view from the "Sand Dollar" room we had. Loved DICK's Bar & Patterson's Irish Pub. Had a great dinner at Flow's. It rained part of our second day there but clear by the afternoon. I enjoyed the cool Ocean air at night and the gardens at The Sea Gull are so beautiful...They serve breakfast every morning to your room and that is very nice. Overall stay is a 5 star rating from me...I will go back to The Sea Gull Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Cozy room, excellent hosts

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Service, and breakfast.
Cons: Internet connection was slow.
Location: see Mendocino for things to do. Great food at the Flow restaurant.
Cozy room, but may be a bit small for some. They even made a special effort to get soy milk for us for our breakfast! Nice and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Berkeley, Ca

Lovely and great location

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Cozy and very relaxing. Staff were friendly and nice. Great breakfast.
Cons: Shower could be updated. It was old and needed some refurbishing.
Location: Walk on the Headlands in Mendocino.hike at Van Damne State Park. Look for whales in January. Visit the shops and great restaurants.
My daughter, age 26, had never been to Mendocino. This was a great getaway for the two of us after the holidays and the hectic life in the City. It was a perfect special time with my daughter. I was her age when I first discovered Mendocino so I could tell her stories about my time there. It was a charming Inn and we loved the morning breakfast in our room and we could eat in our jammies. We also could walk out the door and explore the town, have dinner and stroll on the headlands. Loved the ambiance and I will truly do it again. Next time with my husband of 30 yrs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Victoria from SF Bay Area

Okay for a short stay

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were disappointed that there is no common living or dining room and were therefor confined to our bedroom, even for breakfast, but that was okay for just one night. The quarters are small, but we chose this B&B because of the location and the availability of a room with two beds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice!

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Location: Lots of state parks near by with good hikes. We went to Russian Gulch State Park and did the hike to the water fall hike.
Good location, very friendly staff... we had a very nice stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sherry from Stevensville, MT

Historical and Natural Charm

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed at the Sea Gull Inn mid-week in November, so it was a quiet time in Mendocino and along the coast in general. Points nearby that made this a good location were the Point Arena Lighthouse and it's wonderful museum, the headlands and sea caves of Mendocino, and the redwoods along the Navarro River. The town itself was fun to explore, although because of the time of my visit, none of the stores were open after 5 PM. I felt very welcome at the Sea Gull Inn, shown how to get to the beach and headlands, and was accommodated with an earlier breakfast. Best of all, after a week and a half in California, I finally had good coffee, both in town and at the Inn. The room was cozy and I loved having the garden full of birds (even in November) and rocking chairs on the porch. I wish I could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fiona from london

Sea gull inn Mendocino

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: All the above plus the position in te heart of Mendocino.
Cons: Hum from extractor fan next door slightly spoilt sitting in the garden.
Location: Centre of town 2 mins from shops and good restaurants and cafes.
Attractive wooden house with bedrooms all of different characters. Our room was extremely floral and pretty. Host welcomed us very warmly and explained the facilities and some things to do locally. We sat on a deck in the garden watching the hummingbirds on arrival. All facilities worked and everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was brought to our room and was orange juice, warm raspberry muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt and tea and coffee. All attratively served on china tea set.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mindy from Vermont

An absolute gem!

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Everything
This B&B is charming, clean, in a great location. The rooms were comfortable and spacious enough and exuded a quaint, ocean cottage atmosphere. Behind the inn, the garden meanders and flowers bloomed everywhere. Breakfast was simple but delicious and brought to our room on a tray. The raspberry muffins were the best! Innkeepers were pleasant and helpful. Bathroom was a bit dated but very clean and functional. No TV, thank goodness and internet worked well. The inn is a block from shops and restaurants and you can see the water from the front porch.