Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

historic hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
close to downtown with beautiful balcony view of the bay. excellent coffee in the morning as well. euro rooms a little tight, but you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: very good.
Order room service and have your breakfast/dinner on the patio of second floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom san bruno, ca

probably not a great idea for young kids

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: proximity to shops, stores, headlands.
Cons: a fridge in the room would have helped.
Location: close to the shops, bakery, pizza place
We traveled with 2 boys - 7 and 9 yrs old. The main hotel building is on Main st. We were given a room a couple of streets behind the main building on Ukiah St. I booked through Expedia for a King Bed and a pull out couch, but instead ended up with just a King size bed. We were too tired to complain and go back to the main building and argue for another room so we made do with what we have and crammed ourselves there. The bathroom was nice with separate tub and standing shower, and 2 sinks. There was a fireplace that had a warning sign that it was broken. No refrigerator inside. TV was working fine. The bed was built for really tall people, as it had a very high bottom support. We had to literally jump in and out. My boys kept on worrying about how old the room looked, and how creepy the big crawl space under the bed was. But they survived. The bed was actually comfortable and the headlands was nearby. There was also an antique looking rotary phone that my boys have never seen before. It seemed like a lot of the stores/restaurants close by 8pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Disappointing to say the least.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Pretty garden, but it was dark by the time we got settled
Cons: See above
Location: We were only there one night, thank you very much
We were shuffled off to an off-site location two blocks away from the main hotel on a dark, almost impossible location to find. We had to return to the main hotel to ask again where to park. The parking lot was at the back of the room and we had to carry our bags up the hill from the, again dark, parking lot until we reached a narrow path, not more than 24" wide to our room. It was attractively furnished with some antiques that had seem better days and treatment. The promised fire place did no work as we were warned by a big sign that looked pretty permanent to me. The hair dryer was inoperable because the outlet didn't work. No cell phone charging here! We called with the request to fix the hairdryer and they said no service until the next day. We reminded them that our room was to include fireplace that worked and they offered to move us to a second floor location with a king size bed (not our preference), if the fireplace worked and maybe the hairdryer. Since it was now late in the evening, we opted to do without our hair wash since we couldn;t dry it. They asked: "Don't you have a hair dryer?" The dining room closed early (7:30) because they didn't have enough customers which required another trip to find a place to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stevenfrom Willits

special weekend getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had the best valentines evening ever.my dear friend flew in from VA . and she was absolutely taken with the hotel and location.one of the most romantic locations I've ever been to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, but the rooms were uncomfortable

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The food was wonderful
Cons: The bed was uncomfortable
Location: Kayaking down the big river was amazing. So are the local Hikes
I am 6'2" and the beds were tiny. When laying on my back my feet were about 4in off the end of the bed. The mattress was also incredibly hard making it impossible to get a decent night sleep. The staff was friendly and the food was great but I won't be going back. I would recommend getting a room further up the coast in Fort Bragg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine. The room was too small and so was the bed. Next time I will make reservation with the hotel itself and get the two nights for one deal in a bigger room. The sink was very cute and everything else appeared and felt clean. I didn't particularly like walking down the hall to use the restroom. There was no TV in the cheapest rooms either.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
De kamers zijn zeer klein, en er is geen acoustische isolatie: de muziek uit het restaurant/bar maakte elk gesprek in de kamer moeilijk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint but dated

Posted Sep 22, 2014
On the positive side, we had dinner both nights we stayed in the hotel and the food was very good. The grounds are also very nicely kept. On the negative side, we found the place quite dated and run down. We also had a significant wait on both check in and check out.