Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Disappointing to say the least.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Pretty garden, but it was dark by the time we got settled
Cons: See above
Location: We were only there one night, thank you very much
We were shuffled off to an off-site location two blocks away from the main hotel on a dark, almost impossible location to find. We had to return to the main hotel to ask again where to park. The parking lot was at the back of the room and we had to carry our bags up the hill from the, again dark, parking lot until we reached a narrow path, not more than 24" wide to our room. It was attractively furnished with some antiques that had seem better days and treatment. The promised fire place did no work as we were warned by a big sign that looked pretty permanent to me. The hair dryer was inoperable because the outlet didn't work. No cell phone charging here! We called with the request to fix the hairdryer and they said no service until the next day. We reminded them that our room was to include fireplace that worked and they offered to move us to a second floor location with a king size bed (not our preference), if the fireplace worked and maybe the hairdryer. Since it was now late in the evening, we opted to do without our hair wash since we couldn;t dry it. They asked: "Don't you have a hair dryer?" The dining room closed early (7:30) because they didn't have enough customers which required another trip to find a place to eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service, but the rooms were uncomfortable

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: The food was wonderful
Cons: The bed was uncomfortable
Location: Kayaking down the big river was amazing. So are the local Hikes
I am 6'2" and the beds were tiny. When laying on my back my feet were about 4in off the end of the bed. The mattress was also incredibly hard making it impossible to get a decent night sleep. The staff was friendly and the food was great but I won't be going back. I would recommend getting a room further up the coast in Fort Bragg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine. The room was too small and so was the bed. Next time I will make reservation with the hotel itself and get the two nights for one deal in a bigger room. The sink was very cute and everything else appeared and felt clean. I didn't particularly like walking down the hall to use the restroom. There was no TV in the cheapest rooms either.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
De kamers zijn zeer klein, en er is geen acoustische isolatie: de muziek uit het restaurant/bar maakte elk gesprek in de kamer moeilijk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint but dated

Posted Sep 22, 2014
On the positive side, we had dinner both nights we stayed in the hotel and the food was very good. The grounds are also very nicely kept. On the negative side, we found the place quite dated and run down. We also had a significant wait on both check in and check out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Small cramped room not as billed in email "opens onto balcony"; missing promised toiletries and bathrobe; other guests arrived after midnight and began listening to radio.Shared bath not as bad as I was dreading
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Laurelfrom Bloomington, IN

Victorian charm

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved the delightful ambience of this hotel. The staff was friendly and polite, and quick to respond to special requests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carolyn Millerfrom Mountain View

I Don't Like to Share

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a cute hotel and I like that's it's right in the middle of town but I found out I really don't like sharing and having to use a key to get into the restroom. Also they decided to vacuum the carpet right below our room before 9a, no bueno. My friend thought the bed was uncomfortable and room too small. Again though it's cute and convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Garyfrom Sausalito

Not a good check in

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We checked in about 9 pm and the woman on night duty was not very welcoming. We had prepaid and booked a garden suite with two beds or a king. We were given keys and a map to our room with no offer to help with luggage. We found our room which had no view of any garden and was tiny and tired looking with one bed and an old big box tv that took up most of the counter space. We called the desk to report that our room was unacceptable. We were then given what we booked with some lame excuse that a computer assigns the rooms when booking on line. The hotel was not at all full and why a clerk wouldn't make sure guests were in the best rooms available is a mystery to me. We won't stay there again but we will eat at FLOW next door which has terrific food and a very friendly waitstaff.