Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Adorable, gorgeous, historical, wonderful staff

Posted Jun 28, 2014
This historic hotel is right on the water and really beautiful. It has lots of character and makes for an amazing stay in Mendocino. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cait

beautiful scenery, beautiful furnishings

Posted Jun 3, 2014
The price may make you hesitate, however the setting, view and furnishings all make it worth it! We were in one of the garden suites and were suprised by how spacious and clean everything was. Definitely take a walk around the headlands, it is well worth the view!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pete from uk

Very nice picturesque hotel.

Posted May 19, 2014
Stayed in a 'European' style room which has a shared bathroom. Very small room, bed is about 3ft off the ground. Sink and a small, rickety wooden chair and a small side table were the rooms other furnishings. Shared bathroom was fine but would recommend spending more on a better room. Staff were good. Location is great. Didn't eat in restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rich from Tacoma, WA

Quaint old world charm

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location and uniqueness. Early morning coffee in the lobby bar.
Cons: Wi-Fi signal strength needs to be beefed up. Signal strength at times was so weak the signal was lost in the room.
Location: Hiking, exploring, sight seeing, and wine tasting.
This was the third time we have stayed at the Mendocino Hotel in one of their shared bath units. Never have had an issue with the shared bath/shower but the units are small and we knew that before coming here. May see if a private bath with Queen bed suits us better next time even with the added cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, wonderful location

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Great vintage decor, friendly welcome, fabulous view -- can't wait to visit again!
1 out of 5
by Cary

disappointment for sure

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Nice location and view from the diner and bar.
Cons: The rooms need to be cleaned and deodorized.
The room had an overwhelming stink. Had to leave. I must say that the staff is very nice and efficient. We got our money back with no argument.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by josh

Thoroughly disappointed

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room did not have a deep bath and separate shower as stated on hotels.com. The fixtures were falling apart, the wall paper was peeling away from the walls. The view "overlooking" the garden was a strip of ivy between us and the road. Avoid room 308.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Calum from Scotland

Idyllic

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Mendocino hotel is gorgeous, with an old-time charm all of its own; perfectly situated on the front street of this beautiful little town, it's a great place to stay when you're here. We stayed for two nights, eating in the bistro on the first night and the Victorian dining room on the second; both were excellent, with friendly, attentive service, great food and excellent wine. Our garden suite, was large and comfortable, with a wood fire, fridge and armchairs; the bed upstairs was large and very comfortable. For the (winter) price we paid, we were very happy with our stay, though we felt that for full, summer prices, the room could do with some upgrading.