Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moraga, CA

Quaint Hotel in Mendocino

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Clean, lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Only complaint is the maids were kind of loud in the morning.
Location: The eats are alright. Local bar scene is nice and simple. Go to Patterson's Pub first, then Dick's Place (gets rowdy on the weekend).
Check in was simple and easy. Lady at the front desk was very helpful. They experienced a power outage a couple days prior to our stay, so wi fi was only accessible in the lobby. Seems like an old place, but management kept the hotel clean for the most part. Very close to the town, about 5-8 min walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

Beautiful room

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The room was perfect.
Cons: dining experience. only breakfast and a bar
Location: cozy little town close to ocean.
We loved the room, almost so much that we didn't want to leave. The evening lady at the desk was over the top gracious and helpful.. She made our stay so pleasant. The only thing to say negative was the continental breakfast was terrible. The only cereal was kid cereals, no oatmeal, only breads.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san francisco

classic as its best

Posted Mar 24, 2015
this hotel stays aside from my numerous stays in all-look-alike typical american hotels. This one is charming, beautifully decorated, in a very relaxing settings. We had a large 221 suit with a real fireplace, king bed and comfy sofa. Staff was very welcoming and immediately responded to our needs to make us more than happy. We stayed only one night, though I would love to spend a longer vacation at this place. The only one disappointing this was breakfast with a limited selection of mediocre food, though it couldn't ruin our overall good feelings about Hill house.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Napa, CA

Affordable Victorian Inn.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The price, location.
Cons: The continental breakfast was very disappointing. No yogurt, instant oatmeal, eggs or fresh fruit except for apples.
Location: The location is good. It is close to downtown, 2 blocks. The ocean and bluffs are about 1/2 mile from the hotel. We saw whales from the bluffs.
The Hill House Inn is the most affordable place to stay in Mendocino. The Inn is nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was disappointing, Very Sparse. We had a room with a ocean view. It is a nice view. The staff was friendly. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chico, CA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: It was an easy walk into town, the shower was great and the bed was pretty good.
Cons: For what we paid you would expect some extra features like a mini-fridge, or a better view, hot tub etc.
Location: It was close to town, but so are all other hotels in this area.
The front desk staff were a little unprofessional in my opinion. Set a bad tone for the stay. The room was pretty dated, but clean and comfy. Lacking in extra amenities. It was adequate but we felt a little costly for what we received.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Mar 12, 2015
We didn't see whales but the view was nice. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the inn. The service was good and the chicken sandwich with salad was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Perfect for weekly fraternity parties!

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Location, setting.
Cons: Cut the frat parties. Have a staff member on site at night, or a number to call. Respond to guest complaints instead of laughing them off.
Location: I love Mendocino, and this awful experience was not a reflection of the rest of the community. Too bad they put up with this bad apple!
We had checked out the quaint, green house on the hill on a prior trip. So when we made last-minute plans to return to Mendocino, and they had a great deal on Expedia, we jumped on it. Huge mistake. The first two nights (during the week) were lovely -- great location, easy walking distance to the village. Then then onslaught. It turns out that the hotel successfully markets itself to twenty-somethings who want a place to party-til-dawn and then sleep off their hangover at a discounted room rate. We found ourselves in the middle of such a party on Friday night. While the frat party started in a rented party room, when their rental ended at midnight, they drunkenly stumbled to guest rooms and continued the party -- in the courtyard, parking lot, hallway outside our door, & the room next to ours. And of course, the hotel has no staff on the premises at night, and no instructions to guests on what to do in the event staff is required at night. After unsuccessfully asking the partiers to quiet down, at 2:30 a.m. we had to call the Sheriff. That resulted in about 15 minutes of peace, but the party ramped up again until they collapsed at 4:30 a.m. When I complained to the front desk staff the next morning, she was amused! Other guests complained too, and a staff member said, "This is Mendocino - get used to it!" and ran out the back door. I asked to be reimbursed for the last night, and they said "management will look into it." No response at all to my letter.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland CA

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Quiet location but walking distance to shops.
Cons: The place, while OK with seniors who remember the dated furniture/wallpaper, needs an update.
HAIRS on toilet seat cover and floor. "Continental" breakfast was typical but coffee was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, ca

A great get-away from city life..

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Very charming.
Location: Great to walk to the beach and town.
A great stay in this old hotel. Beautiful furniture if you like antiques.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom E C LansingI

Book room direct

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Great location . Would go back. The town is lovely . Great little places to eat. A real getaway .