Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Nice hotel and location but stuck in the nineties

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Nice hotel and really nice location. If the room has views to the bay, it is amazing. Breakfast is really good and there is entertaining every night. Rooms are comfortable and clean but they still have the old style tv (which I have not seen for years). Alaso, in the downside they charge for everything parking, WiFi (€8 Euros per day), etc. Also the reception staff seem a bit lost, not too helpful and a bit old people orientated. In summary really nice hotel specially if you are for a quiet holiday. But for a 4 start hotel charge €8 Euros per day for the WiFi is in my view outrageous.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Hotel charges for everything

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Cons: the actitude of the people at restaurant (particularly the Terrace)
The hotel is nice although they have a policy of extra charging for every service they have. From parking to beach towel, use of safety box at room and Internet. You really have to take a lot of cash with you to enjoy the full of services they have.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by kencfrom Tulsa

Worst Hotel Stay ever

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
First room we stayed in: 1) Mattresses were horrible. The bed springs push through on your back 2) they allow you 3 glasses per room - When cleaning the room they would not get us clean glasses or sheets unless we request them. We stayed on the first floor and everytime the rooms upstairs flushed their toilets you could hear it running down the pipes. After complaining Sol Gavilanes told us for a better room we would have to upgrade our room to get anything better. Out of desparation we agreed to the upgrade. Second room was a little better but still reminded me of a seedy $40.00 motel in the US. The staff NEVER smiled and acted like they were inconvienced to do anything for guests. Unfortunate because their location is AWESOME. The lobby is very nice and the bar area overloooking the bay are stunning. Rooms and customer service leave a lot to be desired.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

not value for money

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Personnel is always so nice and friendly, the location and views, well organized nigh activities.
Cons: Rooms to be updates, specially family rooms and provide for free the basic services as safe-box in the room, kettle, wifi, beach towells
Location: Good for families, there is a kids mini aqua park 5 mins walking from hotel, which is perfect and food very acceptable. Beach good for kids too!
Hotel location is great, personnel fantastic and friendly....BUT....the Administration of the hotel charges you for every single basic facility as... 3 Euros daily for safe-box, 1 Euro for changing each beach towell, kettle, WiFi.......I was nervous to ask for an iron!!....considering the super expensive price you pay for a sea view (outdated) room, compared to any other real 4 stars establishment this is a clear abuse!, those basic services are provided for free in any Motel in any developing country.......Hotel general areas are quite well mantained, but when it come to family rooms these are substandard than 4 stars. Kids activities are perfect and night shows as well. Restaurants and food around hotel (beach) are perfect and the mini-aqua-park (5 nin walking) is super for kids and parents.....The only bad mark of the holidays was the feeling of being charges-price-wise abuse!!!...apparently this is the case of all other SOL group hotels, super expensive outdated rooms, additional unexpected charges, not 4 real stars standard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by zingwinfrom chester

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very good service and location. Only problem was Abba tribute band playing too loud and too late for those of us who dislike Abba music and would prefer golden silence late at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good location

Posted Oct 2, 2013
enjoyed our holiday hotel helpful about other areas to visit had hired car
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony

Stunning views but excessive charges for extras

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Pros: Stunning views of Cala Galdana with amazing sunsets from your balcony if you are lucky enough to have a room at the front of the hotel.
Cons: The room that I stayed in on the ninth floor was in urgent need of a lick of paint. Furniture and fittings were dated. Empty minibar
Location: The hotel location is perfect for visiting virgin beaches. Cala Mitjana is 20 minutes walk east whilst Cala Macarella and Macarelleta are 30 and 40 mi
The Good: Stunning views of Cala Galdana with amazing sunsets from your balcony if you are lucky enough to have a room at the front of the hotel.There is a small supermarket on the ground floor that sells freshly backed bread and pastries together with all the things you may need on the beach. The buffet dinner was varied and enjoyable. An outdoor terrace with lovely views of Cala Galdanan provided an alternative area for dinning as well a entertainment in the evenings. The Bad: Too many extra charges that you would expect to be part and parcel of a hotel: wifi is 4 Euros per hour whilst car parking is an extortionate 6 Euros a day. The wifi is only available in the public areas of the hotel(reception, bar, lounge and terrace). Beach towels are on loan for a refundable deposit of 10 Euros. Sadly, if you need your beach towel washed then there is a 1 Euro charge. As the hotel is built on a hill there are a fair number of steps to negotiate before reaching the beach. Not really ideal if you have mobility issues. Also if you are sensitive to noise then avoid the bedrooms on the top two floors as these overlook the terrace which has a stage where shows are performed in the evenings. The shows start at 22.00 for an hour so no chance of an early night if you happen to be in one of the bedrooms on the top floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ianfrom West Midlands

GOOD STANDARD BEACH FRONT HOTEL

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: nice and relaxing
Cons: extra charges
Location: excellent beach front location
very good standard hotel but with extra costs for car parking and Wi-Fi access
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Timfrom Seattle, WA

Menorca at its best!

Posted Jun 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location! Nice hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hotel good position facilities

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: situation & terrace
Location: convenient for beach
very good. restaurant staff friendly if a little over keen to remove plates etc. Cleaning staff good & friendly. we would like to revisit.