Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Older Hotel-but great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Hotel was very comfortable, but was a little worn. There was only one elevator working. Put us across from a very loud ice machine. Asked to be moved and was but the elevator closest to the room was out of order. No one knew why. Room was a little worn,bathroom needed updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amherst, N.Y.

Comfortable, clean, and wonderful staff !!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I loved my room. After such a long and hot drive in from Buffalo, I slept like a baby. Beds were so comfortable, and I had my choice of firm pillows or soft pillows. Extremely kind and helpful staff. Chris who was working at the front desk was so amazing. He printed out two maps with steps of directions for me in about three minutes. Also great restaurants within walking distance. Definitely would return without hesitation !!!! Thank you Holiday Inn, Cleveland Northeast-Mentor
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Liz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback in regards to your stay at the Holiday Inn Mentor. We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you letting us know. We hope to have you stay with us in the future. Yours in Hospitality, Liz Nemecek
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mentor

Very nice experience !

Posted Aug 4, 2014
I had two rooms and we truly enjoyed our stay! The bed spread was dirty but when asked to fix it they came within minutes. The hotel was clean and the staff could not have been nicer !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice Hotel good location.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Every thing was clean and well maintained. The staff was very professional and polite.
Cons: Front desk needs to be trained on local destinations, especially restaurants. That way they can make better recommendations.
Location: I was traveling for business and didn't spend much time out. however The lake is only a ten minute drive north
Overall experience was pleasant I was very tired by the time I arrived but check in was quick and easy. Same with check out in the morning. Everything was clean and ready for me. I will definitely come back again. I do wish the front desk had a little more training in regards to local destinations. I wanted to eat at a restaurant on Lake Erie with a good view of the water and they recommended a restaurant near the lake but on the river.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Coffee in room

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Always put coffee in my room! There where mornings I only had decaf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated rooms

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Renovated rooms
Cons: Pool area, elevators, and hallways.
Location: Lots of restaurants and bars in the area. Great lake Erie beaches.
Friendly staff, nice bar/restaurant. Many things to do in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from Ohio

Couldn't fix the guest problem

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, but failed in 2 huge ways. 1. There was a baseball team staying overnight and their parents let them run around screaming all night. I called down to the front desk and they knew it was bad but just lamented how much noise and problems they were causing...but did nothing to fix it. Bad bad service for that. 2. Huge hotel only has 2 luggage carts?!? One family monopolized them for an hour so I had to carry 150 lbs of stuff by hand. Seems cheap to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Liz, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent feedback. I know that during the past few weekends we did have many sports teams in. We do try our best to control any noise throughout the hotel, unfortunatly, the quanity of teams causing this issue was so great that we had a difficult time controlling them. We do have 3 luggage carts on property, although during that weekend one was down due to one of the wheel breaking. We have replaced all of the wheels on that cart and now have 3 carts available again. Once again, I apologize for the stay that you had and do hope you stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanliness not a priority

Posted May 19, 2014
I was very disappointed in this Holiday Inn. When we entered the room it looked nice but noticed the dark furniture was very dusty, but not complaining at this point. Went in the bathroom and the toilet had urin and hair on it, more upset but not complaining just cleaned it with lysole wips we brought. Later that evening at bed time when we turned our bed down it was covered on one side in multiple black curly hairs .....at this I complained. Tried multiple times to reach the desk by phone with no success, so at 11pm i go to the front desk and wait for about 15min then finally a lady came in from smoking outside. She was nice and brought blankets up to change bed and comped breakfast but could not do anything else she said do to the fact we prepaid through the site.... Was very disappointed not what I have come to expect form Holiday Inn, Also when you walk the hallways and elevator you can see dirt and crumbs all over the floors, very disappointing would not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted May 18, 2014
I've stayed here twice and have nothing bad to say. Great location, clean, modern and new decor. Friendly staff and a comfortable room! I love that they have free fruit infused water in the lobby too. Will be back!