Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mountain Ocean from Sandpoint, Idaho

Affordable and Friendly

Posted Feb 4, 2014
This is a simple nondescript but clean hotel 2 blocks from the central bus station and 10 blocks to central plaza. Nothing but a tiny lobby, a handful of rooms, and a nice small garden area for your included delicious breakfast with friendly owners and staff. Not the kind of hotel to lounge around in but great for a clean and friendly place to lie your head while enjoying the rest of Merida and Yucatan.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They Lost My Reservation. Not fun!

Posted Jan 29, 2014
I booked this double room hotel (which is really like a backpacker hostel) 3 weeks prior to going to Merida, Mexico. Expedia listed the reservation as first "reserved" and then "booked." Received an email notification stating that the owners accepted the stay and payment. When we got there, the house owner, Rosalinda, could not find it. Due to it being nightfall and having a rental car it was too late to look elsewhere. We ended up staying in exactly WHAT I DID NOT WANT! A small room right off the street, extremely noisy, on a main bus route of 2nd class buses. And the kicker? The tiny bed was pushed straight against the non-insulated window. I did not get the double room with two beds that I paid for. I got no sleep the entire night and it ruined the travel the following day. Had I gotten the double room, I wouldn't have been on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Friendly Owners

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was more like a B&B rather than a hotel, which was very comfortable. A very short walk from the ADO bus station, I was welcomed by the one of the owners of the place who was very helpful indeed. He told me everything I needed to know about my stay, and gave me some good advice as to how to get into the center of town (providing a map with a clear walking direction) and also when asked for a restaurant he gave a good suggestion. The room itself was tidy, and the bathroom was more than adequate for what I needed. A great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by zxiank from singapore

Near bus station

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is good as it's near the bus station but the neighbourhood is kind of dark and quiet. However, inside the hotel, it's very nice and has a home feel to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel host in Merida

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Nice and simple. Close to the bus station. Great price.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Merida is the cultural capital of the peninsula and a great jumping off point for the Yucatan.
The hotel host felt like a friend after just one night. The next morning when I had to rush off, he even made a sandwich for me for the road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Casa chalia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good place to be alone

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
They stay on this hotel was ok. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is really good. The staff is very friendly but they talk about "rules" in the apartment which they never showed me. I felt very uncomfortable in Casa Chalia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by clarissa from italy

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed this little family-run hotel very much! The price is correct, rooms are clean and with a/c, location is ok (10 minutes walk to the center), breakfast is great and different every day, hosts are absolutely helpful and very friendly. Hotel collaborates with tour operator for excursions to nearby attractions such as Chichen Itza. Definitely recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from South Carolina

Convenient for early morning flights out of Merida

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Reasonable price and access to Centro
Cons: Replace pillows, repair broken toilet seat and provide small coffee pot.
Location: Within walking distance of markets and Grand Plaza. Did not stay long enough to do much exploring.
The room was small but clean. Given that I only wanted it for one night, no problem. Was met at door by owner who showed me around, carried my bag to my room and gave me a map so that I could find somewhere to eat. Room was air conditioned with shower. Basic amenities only but sufficient. The pillows were lumpy and hard, absolutely impossible to get comfortable. The pump for the water I believe kept coming on very loudly and given my early morning departure interrupted sleep considerably. Toilet seat was broken. Reasonable value for the money so can't complain. Would have like a coffee pot as I left too early for the complimentary breakfast. Would consider staying again under similar circumstances but hope they replace those pillows!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from UK

Recommended

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Staff, comfort, breakfast, aircon
Cons: poor wifi
Location: Good location but not too central...about 10 minutes walk to Merida shops and restaurants.
Great budget place to stay. The rooms are small but comfortable and sweet. The owners, Rosalina and Jan, are more than helpful and gave us so much information on how to experience merida without spending on tours. They provide a very nice breakfast with traditional mexican food and fruits in a lovely garden of the house. They were so friendly that it really made our stay memorable. Rooms also have aircon! Only issue we had was that WIFI did not work in rooms or most of building, but we were not expecting a wifi connection anyway