Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kay

Loved the location near the plazas

Posted Feb 16, 2014
We appreciated our very comfortable room after walking the city 5 -10 miles each day, especially the many spaces available for relaxing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

1 Block to Central Plaza

Posted Jun 24, 2010
An excellent place to stay, rooms were comfortable and roomy. Older building has converted to a centralized AC system and it was always cool in our room even though it was 100 degrees outside. Traveling with 2 children age 10 and 12 they enjoyed the hotel. Will definately return here on our next trip to the Yucatan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Charming Hotel in the Heart of a Charming City!

Posted Jun 11, 2010
From the moment we arrived we felt welcome in our "home away from home"! It looks just like the photos online, which I appreciate because there is nothing worse than finding out you are not getting what you thought... The rooms were very clean and spacious. The shower was great (important to me), and there was no noise issue (husband is a light sleeper), except for the air conditioner! I hope they fixed that. Everyone was very accomodating to all of our needs. We booked one day trip to Chichen It'za through the hotel that turned out to be just great. For all of our othere activites, we had family friends who took us everywhere. I am confidant that the hotel could have assisted us with everything the family did for us if we did not have them to guide us. In fact, I would have liked to speak more with Jorge at the front desk - he seems very passionate about guest services and hospitality! My only complaint is the breakfast. When we arrived, we were given little tickets for Continental Breakfast, with the date on each ticket. When making reservations, you can choose to have a full breakfast included for an extra fee. I chose no breakfast, and assumed this must be complimentary with the room, as the tickets were given to us, and it was not for full breakfast. We only went to breakfast twice, but upon checkout, the charges were explained and there was a daily charge for breakfast. I did not protest, because I should have asked at check in. I will do so in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SATXgal from San Antonio TX

Good Stay

Posted Apr 11, 2010
Very good stay.. good location..staff very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX

Extremely good choice!

Posted Apr 7, 2010
The hotel was convenient to all events, shopping and entertainment. We attended a conference for researchers and this hotel was only a few blocks from conference center. The attention to the customer was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Biz traveller from seattle,wa

Best of Merida

Posted Mar 10, 2010
The hotel has a very nice colonial ambiance and is a relatively small hotel. From arrival to departure everything was great. We required some extra services on arrival, but the staff accomplished them quickly and efficiently. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Our floor had a veranda with comfortable chairs that afforded a panoramic view of the city that was enjoyable in the cool of the evening. We only took breakfast at the hotel and it was well prepared and served by an excellent wait staff. Several local residents told me that the Casa de Balam"s restaurant is a very good choice for supper. I will definitely try the dinners on my next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Comfortable Garden Oasis in a busy historic town

Posted Dec 29, 2009
All of the staff was so nice and helpful. Great place, central location. Basic rooms, but comfortable. Excellent food and beautiful garden atmosphere! Very beautiful and quiet oasis in a busy town. Offered FREE use of laptop and internet, (although hotel's high online security did not allow proper access to retrieve even airline seating information.) Front desk staff ON THE BALL!... Took a message while we were out regarding our airport shuttle pick-up time for the next day. Later that night we called the front desk for a wake-up call, Desk called our room a minute later questioning the wake-up time we requested, because they remembered taking the message that our shuttle was picking us up EARLIER than we asked to be awakened. We thanked him, but let him know that we had called the shuttle company and asked for a later pick-up time. Such nice people and a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chelem, Yucatan

Modern Comfort in Old World Charm

Posted Dec 16, 2009
This hotel is ideally suited for wandering around in Merida centro. The staff are always friendly and helpful if you need any infromation on things to do. The rooms have all the modern amenities but are decorated with old style furniture. In the past we have booked the suites which are really nice but this time only a room was available. The pool is in the central courtyard and one of the suites has a balcony overlooking it. Another has a small balcony overlooking the entrance and the street. You can eat either in the restaurant or the outside courtyard and breakfast was very good. We live at the beach but if we plan a late event in Merida we usually stay here. Parking is just down the road and is free with a stamp from the front desk. You can have your car washed and cleaned while you relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA USA

Casa del Balam

Posted Nov 20, 2008
We Stayed at the Casa del Balam for the Hanal Pixan Festivities late October, Early November. The Staff were pleasant and the room was nice - Parking was gratis and relatively trouble free. The Pool area was lovely and the location could not be better, just a couple of blocks from the Main Square. I would call this a moderate class hotel with good service