Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charles from Chicago, IL

great hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
This hotel is in the center of the city, 3 blocks away from central square, lots of resturants arounded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014
2 out of 5
by kirstin from london

Posted Jan 9, 2014
The location of this hotel is excellent - it couldn't be more central. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the hotel is very much in need of some maintenance - the towels and curtains in the room were old and worn. The shower in our room didn't really work - the first morning it took us ages to get the right temperature, and the second morning we went without showers altogether as there was no hot water coming through. It's a very quaint little hotel in a great location, just in need of some TLC.
2 out of 5
by Carlos from Mexico DF

Disappointing experience

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, location and common areas
Cons: Cleanliness of maintenance of rooms
Location: Great location in the center of Merida
I had good expectations on the basis of the reviews on Expedia and the pictures. I was disappointed when I entered the room. I am really not sure why this hotel has a very good review on Expedia which was the main reason I booked this hotel. They even had a 2012 Expedia Excellence Award at the entrance which was not part of Expedia's booking system. I wonder whether this sign was real or not. The common areas are nice and the staff was very friendly. Nonetheless the room was old, had stain and dust and some furniture looked old and as not belonging to the room (different decoration styles, no single frame, etc.). I would not go back to this hotel and book instead a different place. Merida is full of other better hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Convenience and big spacious room close to the pool. The pool and garden area is very nice and relaxing.
Cons: The food isn't the best. The continental breakfast was the same every day mainly toast and 1 croissant to share. Fruit was always the same.
Nice hotel in a very convenient location and within walking distance to the Historic District.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Eugene, OR, USA

Reasonable and Central

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: Location, price, food. Shower.
Cons: Room could use better seating area.
Location: Across from Parque Santa Lucía, just a few blocks north of the zócalo. Numerous restaurants, shopping, museums. Little great street food in this area.
Small hotel, centrally located but our room was nice and quiet. Bathroom ample- nice shower. Largish rooms, but could be better furnished for seating. No extra beds available for family groups, but our room had 2 queens and we were very comfortable (one adult and 2 grown children). Liked the hand-painted wall designs, sort of art nouveau Very pleasant staff, and a surprise: the restaurant serves mainly middle eastern food. It is well-prepared and very tasty. We very much appreciated the break from traditional Yucatecan food. Desserts we tried also very nice, especially the apple pie. Very reasonably priced hotel for its condition and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Looks good But

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room looked pretty but smelled musty. We arrived at 3pm which was check in time and were told that the previous guests had a late check out and our room was not ready. So we waited in the restaurant area and waited for 30 minutes before the first room was ready then an additional 15 minutes for the second room. Funny thing is we never saw anyone go into the two rooms to clean. The bathroom was mouldy and nt very clean. I would nt stat there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfy and convenient.

Posted Jan 27, 2013
Casa Lucia has a nice ambience and it close to all the sites. On Thursday nights there is a concert directly across the street. It was magical. The pool area needs some work, it is not a inviting as it should be. Due to the vegetation and wind, the pool had alot of debris in it. The rooms are large with furnishings you would expect to find in colonial Merida. If you have an issue with stairs, upgrade to the ground level as there is no elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert

Old World charm in Mexico

Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay at Casa Lucia.The room and the inner courtyard were clean and beautiful.Restaurants,shopping and history were right outside our door.The inside area was quiet.We took many excursions to historical sights.We highly recommend it!!!!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James

Love the room

Posted Jan 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a lovely hotel with a great location, less than a 10 min. walk to the cathedral & plaza. The room was fantastic and had a lot of charm & character. The hot water was barely enough for one shower (5 consecutive mornings), and the last 2 of my five days breakfast was limited to toast - no hot cakes, no eggs, not even black tea. I think someone from the staff could have gone to the store next door and bought some black tea.