Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Walter from Washington, D.C.

El Castellano Hotel. Merida, Mexico

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Service and location - as well as price.
Cons: Better room service with ice bucket - no ice buckets in room.
Location: Central historic Merida is walking distances with Opera; theraters; shops; Central Plaza; museums; and numerous resturants and cafes.
Hotel has professional staff - to include reception; resturant; service, etc. Hotel also has free parking and good rates and is centrally located in Merida - walking distance to historic section. Hotel has one of the best breakfest buffets in Merida and good resturant over-all. However, Expedia and hotel advertisement as to "studio room" is misleading as rooms - although clean and comfortable - well priced - are small. Not "studio size". El Castellano is good bargain for costs but again - small room and no bar. Staff services ranges from good to excellent. Parking can be limited and pool area is marginal. Marginal for business travel as no business center.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Main Square

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: The location, within the old walled city, is in the middle of a renovation and has been recently re-plastered and painted, very beautiful.
Cons: Bed linens that are made for the bed. Seal on bottom of room door would have provided some sound control as any noise in the atrium was magnified.
Location: Museums, mercado, old fortresses, beaches, local food, shopping, art and events.
Hotel was a short walk to the main square in Campeche's old town. It was only a short walk to the sea wall as well. My only complaint would be that the linens on the bed weren't made for the bed. The top sheet and blanket were only as wide as the bed; and any movement by one of us would uncover the other. So I can't describe the night's sleep as restful... I would recommend this hotel for convenience and price; however, there are many hotels in Campeche and, depending on what you want to do, or how much of a walker you are, you have to do a little research and compare.
2 out of 5
by Carol from Laguna Woods, CA

First and Last Time Here

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Offensive smell and stains on the mattresses and bathroom wall.
Location: 3 blocks from the town square, quiet enough away from major traffic noise.
Lighting was poor; Although the hotel had an overall sterile look our room was not clean in that there was an offensive oder in the bedroom and bathroom. Also mold in the bathroom. The pool was not heated and very cold. The staff was very nice; the breakfast buffet was very good. The location was good; the travel consultant was good. This is a large hotel and bus loads of people come in and out almost every day and stay only a day or two. The walls are paper thin. There was a near-by band that played until 2 a.m. but I enjoyed the music and used ear plugs if I wanted sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was just okay. The staff were nice enough and the location was very central. However, the room was small and starting to get run down. The toiletries were below average (the lotion smelled faintly of rubbing alcohol and the conditioner made my hair crunchy). We booked late and therefore didn't have a lot of options; it seems you can get a nicer place in the area for the same price or less. Nothing about the place was terrible but if I visit Mérida again I will stay elsewhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by allan tremblay from toronto, Canada

Not satisfied

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had to pay for an upgrade to a standard room that I have previously, always received. Instead a got a tiny room. They told it was because Hotels.com had a special with them and these were the rooms one got. Rates were similar to before so I question the rationale.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Allan Tremblay from Toronto, Canada

DISAPPOINTED

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed there many times and always booked through Hotels.com. Always I was given a standard room. This time myself and my guests were all given small sub standard rooms and asked to pay for an upgrade to what we had before. Their explanation was that they had a promotion with you for cheap rates, thus the tiny rooms. In fact, those rates were very similar to what I booked before. Buyer beware !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by family of four from California

not-so-comfy

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel looked great from the outside, but was not what we expected. The beds and pillows were so hard and the room smelled moldy. Breakfast was not included but were allowed a complimentary water bottle. Location was not so bad, a few blocks and you are on the zocalo. Room was not too noisy and honestly we could of found something better for the same price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alice from Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada

A Good Sleep and Brunch

Posted Feb 21, 2013
Pros: Brunch! Lots of space. Views. Convenience of location.
Cons: Need to request hot water in one of our two junior suites. This though was attended to promptly.
Location: Great location. Walking distance to everywhere in the Centro Historico - restaurants, squares, shops
This hotel was again a great place to stay overnight when we arrived on that 9:15 pm flight from Houston. We enjoyed the usual splendid brunch next morning before we set out for our house at the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by allan

Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good value for money spent. Great staff.