Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

メリダ 中心地にあるホテル

Posted Jan 16, 2015
古いが規模もそれなりのホテルだった 観光の中心地に立地しているためホテルから教会が見えとても良い感じだった。 バスターミナルからは15分と離れているが、市内中心部なので一人歩きしても危険はないが、夜遅くはタクシーを使うべきだと思う。
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Terrible hotel!!!! The room was terrible and old. I thought I was going to get lung cancer from the cigarette smell in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Villa HIlls, KY

the absolute best location in all of Merida

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: not a thing: don't ruin it
Location: see above
I have stayed at the Hotel Caribe over 7 tijmes over the last 12 years. the location is fantastic--the best in the city; the building itself is quite historical and charming: colonial with a courtyard and fountain. The rooms are simple but quite adequate, especially at these prices. The staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good, but I wouldn't eat here for dinner...there are too many close by options where the food is better. The hotel sits on its own park (Parque Hidalgo) back from the main street (Calle 60) and is only one block from the principal central plaza in the city (Plaza de Independencia) otherwise known as the zocalo. So many activites are within a three minute walk. It is easy to get around by foot (for shopping, eating, enjoying the festivities;;;;especially Sunday in the central park; and for the dancing at Parque Santa Lucia---4 blocks) and also easy to get a taxi to visit museums on the Paseo de Montejo. I wouldn't stay any where else in Merida...but don't expect a luxury accomodationl.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Veracruz

Hotel agradable muy centrico

Posted Jan 3, 2015
DUrante la estancia en el hotel fue comodo el hospedarme ahi, la cercania con la plaza central fue muy buena lo que permitio tener acceso a diferentes puntos de la ciudad por medio dle transporte publico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mèxico

Muy cèntrico y limpio.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Situado en el corazôn del centro histôrico, muy cerca de la Catedral y parque principal, y de los mejores restaurantes tîpicos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Camarillo, CA

In the Middle of Everything

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: I wouldn't want to upset the applecart by initiating any changes.
Location: See experience,aabove.
I've stayed at the Hotel Caribe four times in the past 20 years, and the experience has been consistently satisfactory. Don't expect chocolates on your pillow or room service, but the average nature of the hotel is more than made up for by low price and a priceless location. It's a block north of the zocalo, where locals and visitors congregate for music and dance and ceremonial displays, and just a short walk south of live theater, Yucatan University, and Santa Lucia park, another center of free public performances of all kinds. The hotel restaurant is excellent. English is no problem at the front desk, and the service is exemplary, once you realize you have to ask for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Central location but run down

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Location: Location was right in the middle of town, an easy walk to shops. It's a taxi ride to the bus station although a cab stand just outside made it easy
Booked this hotel after reviewing on the net. My impression was that it once would have been a lovely hotel but it has not been maintained. I was an older male solo traveller so not looking for luxury, just a clean reasonable place to sleep and clean up. The room they gave me was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. I asked for a better room but was told it was the best they had, even though the hotel was nearly empty. Anyone with a weight problem or a disability would have been hard pressed to get into the shower, squeezing past the toilet and then to find the water just dribbled out of the faucet. The restaurant downstairs was fairly basic although the staff were quite friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel with a good location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the old style architecture
Cons: The air conditioning, TV, and a bath mat and wash cloth.
Location: The hotel is in the center of the old town with many sights and restaurants.
We have stayed at the El Caribe for many years because we have been looking for a hotel with a good location. The hotel itself has some drawbacks, but if you know that going in then it is OK. The WIFI is spotty as is the air conditioning. The rooms are large and simply furnished. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel then it is a good buy. If you are looking for Western style comfort then you need to go to a better place. We will be returning because we know what to expect and don't mind the inconveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Torreón, Coahuila

Cómodo y céntrico!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Muy bonito, tipico...unico inconveniente no tiene estacionamiento. Proporcionan el servicio de uno gratuitamente de 7pm a 7am a una cuadra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lizfrom Hamilton Ontario Canada

week end get away in Merida

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
My daughter and I wanted to go Merida and get away from my condo in Progreso . The hotel is a little oasis in Merida .Beautiful colonial building rigt off the park .The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable .Get the upgraded room on the third floor and the roof top pool is right outside your door .It is within a few blocks of the market and 1 block from the main square and cathedral Very inexpensive ...I love it .