Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Central location but run down

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Location: Location was right in the middle of town, an easy walk to shops. It's a taxi ride to the bus station although a cab stand just outside made it easy
Booked this hotel after reviewing on the net. My impression was that it once would have been a lovely hotel but it has not been maintained. I was an older male solo traveller so not looking for luxury, just a clean reasonable place to sleep and clean up. The room they gave me was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. I asked for a better room but was told it was the best they had, even though the hotel was nearly empty. Anyone with a weight problem or a disability would have been hard pressed to get into the shower, squeezing past the toilet and then to find the water just dribbled out of the faucet. The restaurant downstairs was fairly basic although the staff were quite friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel with a good location

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the old style architecture
Cons: The air conditioning, TV, and a bath mat and wash cloth.
Location: The hotel is in the center of the old town with many sights and restaurants.
We have stayed at the El Caribe for many years because we have been looking for a hotel with a good location. The hotel itself has some drawbacks, but if you know that going in then it is OK. The WIFI is spotty as is the air conditioning. The rooms are large and simply furnished. If you are looking for an inexpensive hotel then it is a good buy. If you are looking for Western style comfort then you need to go to a better place. We will be returning because we know what to expect and don't mind the inconveniences.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Schererville., in.

Horrible parking arrangements. .

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Small bathroom. .With bugs....inconveniente parking system..people gave good service. ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by catfrom oregon

great location

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location rooms are a bit small, but the roof top pool was a pleasant surprise
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kyrafrom Oregon

We love this budget hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Centrally located really nice people. Only drawback is to get internet you have to go to lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judyfrom San Carlos Sonora/Kansas

Price was right

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: LOCATION!!
Cons: restaurant
Perfect location to see Merida! We got a special deal so the price couldn't have been better for what we got. Had a superior room on the 3rd floor right beside the pool which had just been fixed & filled the day we arrived. Our AC worked well as was controlled with a thermostat but other 2 rooms could not be controlled so were too cold if left to run. Had one day of no hot water but that was promptly fixed. Our bathroom was adequate although others thought theirs were pretty small. Overall, this hotel has an excellent location & was quite adequate for our stay as we really weren't in our rooms except to sleep & shower. Had a few "issues" with internet but overall it too was adequate. The restaurant isn't much but enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace in front. With a little work this place could be a "gold mine"!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
I spent two nights at Hotel Caribe. The location is the best - right in the center of the historic district, one block from Plaza Grande. The room was very clean and staff was pleasant. I had one dinner at the restaurant and it was not very good, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Merida and highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ingerfrom Denmark

The best location

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a great stay.. The hotel is a bit old, but there is not a better location.. The staff is very nice and it is nice with a pool :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Janicefrom Tweed

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at the Caribe many times. It's location is perfect. My suggestion to management is that they improve the seating around the pool. There were really only 2 functioning lounge chairs. It would have been lovely to sit comfortably around the pool and enjoy the view .a touch of paint wouldn't hurt either