Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hazel Green, AL

Hotel was not what I expected

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The room was large; just not clean.
Cons: Clean the rooms; make them smell nice; wash the sheets and towels, etc.....
Location: Merriville has lots of shopping and is close to Chicago.
The bathroom stank. It smelled like cigarette smoke to me, but the hotel clerk said it was coming from the vent which was in the bathroom. I asked to be moved to another room. It did not smell as bad, but it still had an odor. There was a dirty wash rag hanging from the shower in the second room I was moved to. The first night, around 3:43 A.M., some man started shouting, "Everybody out". I never opened my door, so I don't know what that was about, but my sleep was interrupted. After the second night, I moved to a different motel which was much much nicer and cleaner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DanceDiva from Cleveland, OH

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The look, the room, the layout, the front desk person.
Cons: King beds.
First time at an Extended Stay America, and very pleasantly surprised. Only drawback was no king beds, as we are used to one. Overall, very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We glad to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Chicago, Illinois

Weekend with Hubby.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: What I liked most about the hotel was the location and the environment of the whole establishment. It was a very quiet spot.
Cons: Can't think of any improvements,
Location: There were lots of restaurants around, a mall located down the street for shopping and gas stations were close for picking up snacks.
Our stay at Extended Stay American Merrillville was really nice. The room was very well kept, nice and clean. Simple yet nicely decorated. My husband and I really enjoyed the kitchen like amenities where we could store our snacks for the evening,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel looked ok from outside.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: nice kitchen
Cons: everything
no ice machines in whole hotel. stop and go breakfast was half hour late. one guy told me he got bit by bed bugs. they didn't have the room they had reserved.for us. we had to get seperate rooms. terrible planning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about the kitchen; however, we apologize that we did not meet your reservation expectations and the timeliness of the breakfast. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was great, and the location is perfect.
Cons: Update the room.
Location: Everything you could need is near by if you are a traveller. Tons of restaurants and shops.
My only issue was that the room smelled moldy, I'm guessing the carpet was the culprit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our great staff and our great location, however, we apologize that your room did not meet your standards. We will continue working to improve our level of cleanliness at our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in the future and show you the positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Winnipeg, MB Canada

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 8, 2014
A last minute booking at the end of a long day driving resulted in a pleasent surprise. For a very good price, I got a large Quenen Studio with a kitchenette. Staff were pleasent and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Colleen - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. As well, it's great to hear that you were pleased with your fully equipped kitchen and our great staff. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jones from Indianapolis

Nice hotel for travel basketball team

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is nice hotel for basketball travel teams. Everything is nice setup for the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jones - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so glad that you liked your room and found our hotel to be perfect for your basketball travel team's needs. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Better than expected.

Posted May 17, 2014
Stayed at other comparably priced hotels in the area in the past and was pleasantly surprised the cleanliness, room appointments and quietness for being right next to the interstate. They could upgrade their breakfast offering from packaged breakfast bars, muffins and coffee to include some other fare.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service our staff provided. Your feedback regarding our free grab-and-go breakfast is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Amanda from Florida

Quick stay, nice hotel, great kitchens

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was very helpful to our specific needs, we were traveling with a dog and booked the hotel on hotels.com. Unfortunately the weight limit was much less than our dog weighed but the manager allowed us to stay anyway. The beds were smaller than if thought but it was ok.VERY nice large kitchenette in each room, would be a fantastic place to stay for a longer engagement. Grab-n-go Breakfast did the job. I was pleased overall :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our helpful staff, breakfast and kitchens; however, we apologize that the beds were small. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.