Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hazel Green, AL

Hotel was not what I expected

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The room was large; just not clean.
Cons: Clean the rooms; make them smell nice; wash the sheets and towels, etc.....
Location: Merriville has lots of shopping and is close to Chicago.
The bathroom stank. It smelled like cigarette smoke to me, but the hotel clerk said it was coming from the vent which was in the bathroom. I asked to be moved to another room. It did not smell as bad, but it still had an odor. There was a dirty wash rag hanging from the shower in the second room I was moved to. The first night, around 3:43 A.M., some man started shouting, "Everybody out". I never opened my door, so I don't know what that was about, but my sleep was interrupted. After the second night, I moved to a different motel which was much much nicer and cleaner!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that your room had a foul odor. As well, I am disheartened to read of the cleanliness issues you experienced in your second room. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards so that your experience is not repeated. As well, I apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced on your first night with us. I will share your comments with my security staff so that we can investigate and prevent this from happening again. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DanceDiva from Cleveland, OH

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The look, the room, the layout, the front desk person.
Cons: King beds.
First time at an Extended Stay America, and very pleasantly surprised. Only drawback was no king beds, as we are used to one. Overall, very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We glad to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Chicago, Illinois

Weekend with Hubby.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: What I liked most about the hotel was the location and the environment of the whole establishment. It was a very quiet spot.
Cons: Can't think of any improvements,
Location: There were lots of restaurants around, a mall located down the street for shopping and gas stations were close for picking up snacks.
Our stay at Extended Stay American Merrillville was really nice. The room was very well kept, nice and clean. Simple yet nicely decorated. My husband and I really enjoyed the kitchen like amenities where we could store our snacks for the evening,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room that was to your liking. We are especially pleased to read that you enjoyed your fully-equipped kitchen. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel looked ok from outside.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: nice kitchen
Cons: everything
no ice machines in whole hotel. stop and go breakfast was half hour late. one guy told me he got bit by bed bugs. they didn't have the room they had reserved.for us. we had to get seperate rooms. terrible planning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about the kitchen; however, we apologize that we did not meet your reservation expectations and the timeliness of the breakfast. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was great, and the location is perfect.
Cons: Update the room.
Location: Everything you could need is near by if you are a traveller. Tons of restaurants and shops.
My only issue was that the room smelled moldy, I'm guessing the carpet was the culprit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our great staff and our great location, however, we apologize that your room did not meet your standards. We will continue working to improve our level of cleanliness at our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in the future and show you the positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colleen from Winnipeg, MB Canada

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jun 8, 2014
A last minute booking at the end of a long day driving resulted in a pleasent surprise. For a very good price, I got a large Quenen Studio with a kitchenette. Staff were pleasent and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Colleen - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. As well, it's great to hear that you were pleased with your fully equipped kitchen and our great staff. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S.VIDO from CEDAR LAKE IN

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so glad that you had a great time at our hotel. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I love it there

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price, you can't beat it. If you want to eat but don't want take out, it's nice to know you can cook there if you want to. The hotel is very clean, the staff is wonderful the location is perfect . In the end I will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our location, your clean room and your fully equipped kitchen. As well, it's great to hear that you enjoyed our great staff during your visit. I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our entire team. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachael from Indiana

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The price was a really good deal. The room was off the highway which was really loud. Plus whoever was in the next room to us was disrespectful and banged on the room wall and our door at inappropriate times of the night. But overall not bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Rachael - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with our rates. Still, I apologize for the noise disturbances you experienced from the nearby traffic and neighboring guests. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.