Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Cons: The towels and washcloths should be replaced.
Location: The location was fine.
There was nothing in the cabinets, no dishes, pots/pans, flat wear, etc. No extra pillows. The towels and wash cloths were so horribly hard I was tempted to purchase some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We appreciate the kind comments about our convenient location; however, we apologize that our new kitchen equipment policy was not explained better to you. We now keep all utensils and equipment behind the front desk to ensure that they are properly sanitized. We will deliver them to you upon request. I will work with my staff to ensure that guests are informed of this upon check-in. As well, I am very sorry the linen did not meet your expectations. I will share your feedback with our purchasing department so that we can look into making upgrades. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hazel Green, AL

Hotel was not what I expected

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The room was large; just not clean.
Cons: Clean the rooms; make them smell nice; wash the sheets and towels, etc.....
Location: Merriville has lots of shopping and is close to Chicago.
The bathroom stank. It smelled like cigarette smoke to me, but the hotel clerk said it was coming from the vent which was in the bathroom. I asked to be moved to another room. It did not smell as bad, but it still had an odor. There was a dirty wash rag hanging from the shower in the second room I was moved to. The first night, around 3:43 A.M., some man started shouting, "Everybody out". I never opened my door, so I don't know what that was about, but my sleep was interrupted. After the second night, I moved to a different motel which was much much nicer and cleaner!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am sorry to hear that your room had a foul odor. As well, I am disheartened to read of the cleanliness issues you experienced in your second room. I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards so that your experience is not repeated. As well, I apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced on your first night with us. I will share your comments with my security staff so that we can investigate and prevent this from happening again. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DanceDiva from Cleveland, OH

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The look, the room, the layout, the front desk person.
Cons: King beds.
First time at an Extended Stay America, and very pleasantly surprised. Only drawback was no king beds, as we are used to one. Overall, very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We glad to know that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you stay with us again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Chicago, Illinois

Weekend with Hubby.

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: What I liked most about the hotel was the location and the environment of the whole establishment. It was a very quiet spot.
Cons: Can't think of any improvements,
Location: There were lots of restaurants around, a mall located down the street for shopping and gas stations were close for picking up snacks.
Our stay at Extended Stay American Merrillville was really nice. The room was very well kept, nice and clean. Simple yet nicely decorated. My husband and I really enjoyed the kitchen like amenities where we could store our snacks for the evening,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The staff and I are proud to have provided you with a clean room that was to your liking. We are especially pleased to read that you enjoyed your fully-equipped kitchen. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel looked ok from outside.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: nice kitchen
Cons: everything
no ice machines in whole hotel. stop and go breakfast was half hour late. one guy told me he got bit by bed bugs. they didn't have the room they had reserved.for us. we had to get seperate rooms. terrible planning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about the kitchen; however, we apologize that we did not meet your reservation expectations and the timeliness of the breakfast. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was great, and the location is perfect.
Cons: Update the room.
Location: Everything you could need is near by if you are a traveller. Tons of restaurants and shops.
My only issue was that the room smelled moldy, I'm guessing the carpet was the culprit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our great staff and our great location, however, we apologize that your room did not meet your standards. We will continue working to improve our level of cleanliness at our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us in the future and show you the positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Antonio from Chicago

Good deal

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, clean, and had kitchenette, I would rated a nice 3.0 to 3.5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Antonio - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your clean room and your fully equipped kitchen during your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. It would be our pleasure to have you repeat your experience with us soon.