Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Anne from Ohio

Not terrible, but could have been much better.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: The room's kitchenette was nice. The room was very clean. Vanilla creamer at grab and go breakfast.
Cons: Decaf tea bags, pretty basic. Expand Breakfast. Hangers! Lighting, see above. Kitchenette could be a little smaller & have room for a king size bed!!
Location: Nice area with food, shopping centers, etc. We were there on business, not looking for things to do.
We travel a lot and stay in a lot of different hotels, but will try not to stay in this hotel again or this chain, if they are all like this. My first clue this wasn't what I expected was when the clerk referred to the "free breakfast" as their "grab and go breakfast" and pointed to a small cabinet in the lobby. (As it turned out, they didn't have decaf tea bags.) My second unfortunate finding was in the room, where I discovered they have no king size beds, at all, and there was 1 lonely hanger in the closet. The lighting is interesting, as well...while there was one table lamp and one wall lamp, most of the lighting came from ceiling lights even in the bed area...not very relaxing. The room's kitchenette was nice, actually big. (Could have made it a little smaller, and have room for a king size bed.) The room was very clean, but the blanket was old looking. The checkin clerk had an upbeat, very pleasant attitude. The morning clerk, not so much. The only saving grace about "grab and go" breakfast was the vanilla creamer.
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
Anne – Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I appreciate your kind comments regarding your fully equipped kitchen and the cleanliness of our hotel. Still, I apologize that your bed size and our grab-and-go breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. As well, I am sorry that you were not provided with more hangers in your room. Your feedback will all be considered as we continue to improve our guest experience. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Indianapolis

Nice clean quiet room

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in this room for one night, it was clean and quiet and mostly very comfortable. I only had dealings with 2 staff members but both were very nice and hospitable. The WiFi worked flawlessly. The room was also stocked well with enough kitchen supplies to prepare a meal for an entire family. My only complaint is that the "king" size bed in the room was smaller than the queen size bed in my home but it was still rather comfortable none the less. In the likely event that I visit the Chicago area again Extended Stay in Merrilville will be where I am likely to sleep.
Comment from
Jan 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m thrilled to hear that your room was clean, quiet and comfortable. As well, I am happy to hear that our staff, free Wi-Fi and your fully equipped kitchen met your travel needs. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

great place just like home

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Al from Chicago

Great hotel reasonable price

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel great staff only negative was bed was to small they said queen bed when I booked it but it was more like a full size bed! Other then that hotel was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Kitchen amenities
Cons: Hairdryer, better bedding
Location: Love staying in Merrillville with business in Chicago as I feel safer as a women traveling alone. Lots of shopping opportunities in the pm.
Might be ok for someone wanting a place for a week. The kitchen ammenities were terrific. Had to request shampoo/conditioner etc, and hair dryer. There was an odor that just wouldn't go away. Computer access was easy to use- bed and shower were ok. It was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: location from highway very close.
Cons: will probably stay again at same price. better signs on door about reentry key needed.
Clean, fairly quiet, went outside in morning and got locked out.no signs that you need card to reenter .would be nice if coffee was available in lobby. morning brkfst snacks would have been nice at 5;00 a.m. .Left before snacks were available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com