Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location is the best quality

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Its location in Mesa Verde National Park, close to areas of interest, wonderful views from the rooms.
Cons: Maintenance...the guest rooms need extensive rehab.
The central building with restaurant is very nice, restaurant food was very good, but the guest room buildings have had substandard maintenance and look shoddy. The telephone didn't work, the light outside the door didn't work (even tho maintenance looked at it), the window screens were torn and installed upside down, the blankets were thin and moth-eaten. This was my fourth visit since I was a teen, and the guest facilities were very unsatisfactory.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from colorado

Only hotel within Mesa Verde

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: friendliness and accessibility of the staff. Fantastic restaurant.
Cons: Maintenance and general upkeep. All rooms need to be airconditioned.
Location: Mesa Verde is a world heritage site with hundreds of cliff dwellings and other archaeological sites with tours, hikes, a museum and gift shop.
This hotel was a mixed bag....The staff went out of their way to be helpful...The food at the restaurant was fabulous. It is worth it at Mesa Verde to stay inside the park as it is at least a 1 hour drive from the park entrance to the dwelling sites. Staying in the park cuts it to a 15 min drive. The downside....It was not clear when booking our room that the difference in the prices of the rooms is air conditioning. From Expedia's description of the rooms I thought they were all air conditioned. Mesa Verde is in a desert. It is hot. Also, there was a transom window above the door to the room that let in light all night long from the porch, thus it was difficult to sleep. Also our windows and balcony door (easily accessible from the outside) would not close all the way and lock, thus we had safety concerns. If you are looking for comfort...this room is not worth the price. If you want the convenience of being in the park....well, it is your only option other than camping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sedona AZ

The Far View Lodge

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The staff is unfailingly polite and helpful and our room had wonderful views from the balcony.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated and modernized. The daily cleaning could be better as they do not vacuum.
Location: Outstanding location within Mesa Verde National Park and all of the wonderful sites. The restaurant is excellent, if not a bit pricey.
The hotel rooms are a bit disappointing. The bathroom is very small and smelled a bit moldy. The room could certainly use a bit of updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Needs updating

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Nice restaurant but hotel is not in good shape. Setting is great but hotel suffers from lack of investment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LVgal from Las Vegas

Needs renovation!

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was better than I thought because after reading reviews of other guests I got worried but we wanted to stay in the park to be close. It is very old and small but it was clean. The beds and linens aren't like The Hampton Inn but was acceptable. Just make sure you get a discount for the room. Also, ask for an end unit so you won't have to deal with noise on two sides. Also, ask for a view it will help. We stayed two nights and when we left I asked the front desk about renovation and they are doing room by room at a time. So I guess we have to be patient but the Metate Restaurant at the Far View Lodge is to die for. The food is amazing! Don't miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris C. from Greenville, SC

Best choice to enjoy the park

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a long way in to the ruins in Mesa Verde. Staying here makes it very convenient to explore the park. The views from the hotel are incredible. We watched wild horses from the balcony in the morning before breakfast. The hotel is older, but it is clean and meets the needs. We also enjoyed the restaurant for dinner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcia from Charleston, WV

An excellent stay

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are dated with only very basic furnishings. But the views, service, and the food are incredible. Kevin, the bartender, was a outstanding server and the drinks were fabulous. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Texas

Clean and nice

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff very nice. Room was clean and in good condition. It was great waking up and being so close to the attractions.
After reading other reviews we were nervous with booking this room. However, after we checked in we were quite happy. Hotel staff are very nice and eager to make you happy. We stayed in a regular room in early June. It was plenty cool. However our room did have AC. Not sure if this is an update or not, but it really was not needed. Our room was clean and had plenty of space for my family of four. the shower is a little small, but definitely manageable. I enjoyed the sunrise with my cup of coffee on our balcony. Yes they do recommend keeping your snacks food in the car,
1 out of 5
by Tiny from Henderson, CO

NOT GREAT

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is ideal for those looking to explore the park. The restaurant was also very nice.
Cons: The room need an update desperately!! When staying in a hotel room in the middle of a dessert, air conditioning is a must. Not just a fan!
Location: During our stay we explored several Cliff dwellings as well as the mesa loop and the remains of the homes still standing.
We were greeted by a nice woman who checked us in and directed us to the Matate Room for dessert. After having a nice dining experience in what I thought was a beautiful restaurant, we went to our room. The room looked as though it hadn't been updated in nearly 3 decades, the room had no air conditioning and I (being a 120lb, 5'2") barely fit in the shower, never mind my 200lb, 6'2" husband.