Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Travels alot from Illinois

A Glorified Motel 6

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Only one thing - that it was right inside Mesa Verde National Park
Cons: Carpet, beds, view from balcony, shower, bathroom
We were very disappointed with our stay at Far View Lodge. The only good thing about it was that it is right inside the park. The buildings that house the rooms are not part of the "Lodge". There are 4 or more rooms in each building. I understand they were built in the sixties, and I don't think they have ever been updated. Our room had old nasty carpet, worn out beds, and a small fridge that was crammed next to one of the beds, so the door couldn't even open all the way. One had to be an acrobat to navigate the bathroom - it was so small, with a shower that was only as big as a person. The sink was outside the bathroom and it had a nice size vanity, but underneath there was a 4 inch by 12 inch hole where the pipes ran into the wall - no drywall covering it - nothing - just a big gaping hole. Each room has a balcony (a little deck), but that does not guarantee a view. Our view was of the building in front of us. As far as the maid service - each day we got a set of clean towels that were left on one of the beds. They didn't even put them in the rack in the little bathroom. And our floor was not vacuumed once in the 4 nights that we spent there. Would we stay here again? No. Cortez is not that far to drive, and considering that one has to go into town to eat dinner anyway, it would be just as easy to sleep there. The Lodge restaurant had ridiculously high prices, and the cafeteria had very limited meal choices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catharine from Boulder CO

Hotel inside Mesa Verde

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Near the main attractions at Mesa Verde! Outstanding formal restaurant at the Far View Lodge.
We stayed in the less-expensive rooms at the Far View hotel and they provided simple, clean lodging. We chose to stay here because it is a long drive from the park entrance down a slow winding road to reach the main attractions at Mesa Verde. In contrast, the Far View is just 5 miles from the little museum and the jumping off point for many of the national park service tours of the various ruin sites. Each room did include a small fridge so that we could eat our own breakfasts and store the materials for picnic lunches. The formal restaurant at the the Far View Lodge serves excellent, creative southwest food for about $25-35 per person and is well worth a visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cpgoldtraveler

Clean but old

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Accommodations were clean but could use some upgrading
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the midst of a beautiful Park.

Posted Oct 2, 2013
We stayed 1 night here during our trip to Mesa Verda. We found the lodge to be comfortable with a great view. We found all the staff to be friendly. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie from Tennessee

a great anniversary experience

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: I liked the location, the cleanliness, the feeling of being out in nature.
Location: We left here and drove on to Moab and then Arches and Canyonlands.
We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the lodge. It was wonderful and we ate dinner in the restaurant. A family of deer walked right in front of the windows. I loved the scenery and the accommodations were great. I would stay again. We loved the guided tours of the park as well.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and bathrooms and carpeting.
Location: Very accessible to all sites.
The room was a disappointment in a beautiful setting. Needs updating. We were glad to be in the park for easy access to the sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Delia from Ignacio, CO

Great View, Tired Furnishings

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Location, view.
Cons: Needs refurbishing.
Location: Drive the San Juan Skyway loop road, which is super-scenic and offers interesting information on mining in the area.
Refurbishing is scheduled, and needed, but room was convenient--only lodging (other than camping) inside the park. Worth it for the view. Metate Room dining is excellent, features local ingredients in interesting combinations. The convenience of in-park lodging is important, since there is a long drive from the park entrance to important sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Elegant

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Beautiful setting, view, & balcony. Nice native furnishings and art.
Cons: Provide a TV. Nice to stay connected to news when on vacation.
Location: The adjacent lodge restaurant was very nice.
Staying inside national parks at lodges is very convenient and fun. You can enjoy your full day without having to travel outside the park. It was a nice relaxing stay at the end of fun day. If you are doing 2 days at the park I would not do it any other way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major Upgrade Needed

Posted Sep 23, 2013
Pros: The view - only.
Cons: Everything! New rooms, new staff,
I wanted to see Mesa Verde during the equinox. I knew the winding roads were not worth staying in Cortez, so I booked the Far View. Over priced, horrid rooms, lousy service. The only saving grace was a decent view. Not worth the price.