Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Modern hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: Making obvious the room design
Location: Up a very winding lane with spectacular views, car essential
The term en suite here means the bath and shower and hand basin are in the bedroom, toilet is separate with a sliding door. This might be fine for honeymoon couples but for me, sharing with a friend, it ruined the holiday. Staff explained politely that all the rooms were of this design, we got round it by having 2 separate rooms which gave us privacy but meant we couldn't plan our days without meeting in a corridor....The hotel is also very sprawling it took 2 elevators and quite a walk between rooms to decide what time we'd meet for breakfast. Had this feature been made obvious from the website I wouldn't have made the booking. We had to pay for 2 rooms which was more costly than planned and were inconvenienced as well. Other features of the hotel were excellent and if you don't mind the shared ablutions it's a lovely spot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Romantic mountain getaway with amazing views

Posted May 25, 2014
Nestled high atop a mountain with gorgeous views of the Douro valley. The rooms are definitely made for couples. The hotel has a nice pool and sauna area. It's fairly far out of the closest town so you definitely want to have the car as taxi rides are pretty expensive. The restaurant had great food and we could manage to do everything in the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thierry & Cathyfrom Bordeaux

Halte au coeur de la vallée du Douro

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: La grande qualité générale qui se dégage de tous les services, à l'accueil, au restaurant. La chambre, le dîner au restaurant
Cons: Des indications de la direction de l'hôtel un peu plus tôt sur la route seraient les bienvenues
Location: Nous n'avons fait qu'une halte sur la route du retour mais un prochain séjour de 3 nuitées parait envisageable pour découvrir Porto et les caves
Court séjour (1 nuit) en couple pour une remontée de Lisbonne vers Bordeaux avec la traversée de la vallée du Douro. Magnifique hôtel, idéal pour une halte de 2 à 3 nuits pour découvrir la vallée, les caves et Porto. Belle chambre pour un prix plus que raisonnable, un spa avec grande piscine intérieure chauffée, piscine extérieure (non chauffée) surplombant la vallée, pdj copieux et varié, diner (en supplément) de grande qualité pour un tarif très abordable là aussi. Accueil avec un verre de Porto. Pour avoir lu les commentaires avant de réserver, je confirme que les avis sont pris en considération, nous avons été accompagnés jusque la chambre, les couloirs ne sont plus noirs mais blancs, le personnel très avenant. A recommander !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rui Pastorfrom São Paulo - Brasil

Moderno...

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel moderno, com quartos diferenciados do normal (banheira e chuveiro abertos junto ao quarto). O restaurante é muito bom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Momotafrom Zurich

Great spa hotel!

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything is great except the bed is not superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by dfarefrom 41

Calme mais isolé

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quelle surprise en arrivant à l’hôtel de découvrir un véritable complexe hôtelier. Très belle piscine bien chauffée, hammam, sauna et spa sont à disposition des clients. Malheureusement et comme souvent au Portugal, les adresses sont très difficiles à trouver. Il a fallu aller à Mesao Freio pour trouver une carte indiquant l’hôtel.Excellent rapport qualité-prix et superbe vue sur la vallée du Douro au réveil le matin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Newtonfrom Brasil

Serviço fantaástico !

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel muito lindo , ótima localização para quem ama vinhos, tive um problema com a internet no meu quarto o que foi rapidamente solucionado com um upgrade para a suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

panorama magnifique

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Très belle situation géographique, service impeccable!