Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesquite, Tx

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Dirty bed sheets, beds were not made, terrible odor in the stairwell.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Temple

Trash

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Poor service. Rude service! Would not let my animals stay there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bladensburg. md

very poor

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: nothing, dangerious, this hotel need to be close down, total mess
Cons: close down this hotel
Location: poor
very poor . please close this hotel down as soon as possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For an overnight stay its okay

Posted Dec 24, 2014
My husband and I stayed over night, the queen size bed was a cal-twin. The worst night ever.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from monroe

This is by far the worst hotel ive ever stayed in.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: I loved that I didn't have to ride around looking for another room and that it was close to everything.
Cons: commutation and keeping promises and instructions if you come after hours.
Location: shopping eating and entertainment for the family
when I got to the motel it was closed due the lateness in the hour and to a overlay in the plane ride I was late. so I called the number online and the lady said I had to pay for a extra day which I believe was unfair so I took matters into my own hands and called the motel directly and a gentleman answered and told me how to get in. I got my room that night after telling him my story. I stayed for two days and while I was there I never got my requested cookware even after check out. I was very disappointed. the staff just gave me a run around and told me they would call cause they was understaffed and I even said I would personally come get the cookware. never again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your request was not met. In response to your review, I will be working with my staff to ensure that we are fulfilling requests and working with the guest to meet their needs. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

price makes nice

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: the discount price and was surprised by cleanliness.
Cons: small old tv and no trash can.
Location: right off highway. Walmart not far away.
for the price exceeding good. it was on $31. little dated but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with location and cleanliness of the hotel. Still, I do apologize that your room was missing a trash can. I will work with my housekeeping staff to ensure that we are properly stocking the rooms with all of the standard items. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by tina from mount Vernon Texas

it was okay.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Besides the kids running around well past 10...and the sucky WiFi. ..everything was good. ...I wouldn't stay there again due to the WiFi and no small hand towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family Reunion stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed the kitchenette.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Curtis N from Leesville Louisiana

Don't expect any consideration for special needs

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The room was okay. I had asked for a room on the first floor because of a broken vertebrae and an inability to climb stairs but was told I had to take whatever the computer assigned to me. It was a rough week climbing up and down the stairs all week but overall a good stay. Getting fresh towels was like pulling teeth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2014
It wasn't too bad for the price. I'd stay again.