Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wendy from England

Excellent hotel, perfect location

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: The main hotel location and views over Mount Etna and the bay of Naxos were stunning.
Cons: More accurate description of rooms and views
Location: The hotel is ideally located to explore Taormina on foot and is situated next to the Greek Theatre
We stayed for one week at the Grand Hotel Timeo. The hotel and grounds were immaculately kept and we found the staff excellent and informative. The breakfast and restaurant food was of a very high standard. We booked a double room located in Villa Flora, adjacent to the hotel. The view was described as a garden or village view. Disappointingly as our room was at the rear of the building, our view was a sheer rock face, a few feet from the patio door. Sadly we were told the hotel was fully booked so there was no opportunity to change.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

"A little bit of paradise"

Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quality of service and advice on places to go was brilliant from hotel! They gave a great inside track on things to do in the area. Hotel itself is amazing, certainly grand!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nikkim1713 from Naples, FL, USA

Great Hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: The View was spectacular. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The food and service were wonderful.
Cons: There wasn't a thing I would change about the hotel.
Location: The location was awesome. It was right in the heart of town on the top of the mountain with an amazing view.
We had a fabulous time in Taormino. The hotel was absolutely lovely and the staff couldn't be kinder. We hope to go back and stay there in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike'N'Jane from London, UK

Amazing hotel for a romantic break !

Posted Apr 15, 2013
Pros: The view from the terrace and from the room, gardens and pool. The friendliness of Francesco, Stefano, Luigi, Davide, Steven, Anna and everyone we met
Cons: The cheese and ham toasted sandwich, which we felt was rather dry, was our only disappointment of the trip. Eat the amazing Caesar salad in stead.
Location: Taormina is built on a long rocky ledge 600 feet/200 metres above the Mediterranean. Narrow touristic streets climb or fall away from the main drag.
What a totally amazing hotel ! The view from the hotel is of the Bay of Taormina, glitteringly blue in the sun, directly ahead. Diagonally to the right you see Etna soaring to 11,000 feet/3,300 metres. Snow capped in winter, Etna is a very regular volcano, pluming smoke out of it's top most of the time. If you're lucky, as we were during our stay, you may see it belch red lava into the night sky ! To the right there is a church and a Saracen castle on a craggy hilltop. Whilst immediately behind you, over your left shoulder, is the 2,500 year old Greek ampitheatre, where upto 5,000 spectators would watch plays whilst soaking up the views of the sea and Etna. The views are a big draw, because the both the rooms and the top floor terrace, where you will spend a lot of time in the indoor/outdoor restaurant or bar, look out onto it.The staff are excellent too. Friendly and helpful, they remember your name, and are happy to chatter with you in the bar, in the restaurant, or at the front desk or the concierge. This is really a hotel where the staff make you feel that nothing is too much trouble !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TD from Belfast

Spoilt in Taormina

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Wonderful service
Cons: Leaving
Location: Taormina is a beautiful relaxing location for a break.
Pampered and relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Watch your wallet

Posted Apr 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is no more beautiful setting than the one the Timeo offers. However, if you don't book a junior suite, you don't get the views and the terrace. For $850, you get an average room with no view unless you walk up a little stairway to a balcony that isn't big enough to have a chair on. This hotel is really expensive to start with, so when you eat dinner there and they give you a wine list with wines that start at $150 per bottle - and fail to tell you(unless you ask for it) that there is another wine list with more reasonably priced wines -- you feel taken advantage of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from London, UK

The Hotel Timeo, Taormina, Sicily

Posted Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Breakfast on the Terrace
Cons: The prices
Location: Probably the best in Taormina
The Hotel Timeo is a beautiful place perfectly situated on the cliffs overlooking the bay and below the Greek Theatre. The view from the terrace of the bay, coastline and Mount Etna has to be one of the most beautiful in the world. provided you can close your eyes to the eyewateringly high prices charged by this deservedly 5 star hotel your stay will be close to perfection. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff to do for you. The meals are outstanding as is the quality of the drinks served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great Hotel in Taormina...we will use again.

Posted Oct 28, 2009
The Hotel is old but in great condition. The breakfast buffet is superb right up with a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton or any 5 star hotel. The dinner was one of the best meals of the trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Terrible value for money

Posted Oct 4, 2009
Terrible value for money - both in the room rate and 'extras'. Service is arrogant and complaints are met with a shrug. Although it looks 5* on the surface, it doesn't meet this standard in practice. Rooms are small and uncomfortable. There are endless attempts to extract huge charges for basic hotel services (e.g. room service, mini-bar, and laundry are outrageously priced). In-room TV set is cheap and nasty and there are very few English speaking channels (although English speaking quests predominate).