Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO,IL

ETNA HOTEL

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: THE FRIENDLINESS & WILLINGNESS OF THE STAFF TO HELP US WITH WHATEVER WE NEEDED.
Cons: CANNOT REALLY THINK OF ANYTHING.
Location: WE DID NOT LEAVE THE HOTEL AREA.
THE HOTEL WAS VERY QUAINT. THE STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY & QUITE PLEASANT. THE ROOMS WERE CLEAN, SPACIOUS & COMFORTABLE. THE FOOD WAS EXCELLENT. THE POOL & SURROUNDING AREAS WERE BEAUTIFUL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fabulous hotel to stay in if you have a car

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Loved everything about it. Just be aware that it is located in a town called Giarre - which is very unexciting - so to get to anywhere you'll need your own transport. However - they do book lots of excursions from there if you prefer... We were very lucky to be there while Etna was errupting, which was extraordinary (and entirely safe!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

good hotel for touring the area

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The view of the lava flow at night was spectacular and made it a memorable time. The rooms on the back overlooking the mountain are worthwhile having
Location: It is about 40 minutes out of Catania and you would need a car ideally to make the most of your stay. An easy drive to Taormina on the coast road.
stayed for nine nights. the room was clean and comfortable. The pool was well kept and nice to use. Our room had a small terrace and looked out over Mt Etna. Breakfast was served on the terrace and had a good variety of cold meats, cheese, fruit and bread/cakes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne from Isle of Wight, GB.

Typical Italian buildings and gardens

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The gardens, courtyard, pool side were just magic. The staff was helpful, friendly, yet discreet. Breakfast in the sunny courtyard was lovely.
Cons: More tables needed in the courtyard to allow all guests to have breakfast outside on a sunny day. Better double glazing in rooms onto the street.
Location: Hotel in the outskirts of the town where streets are dirty, narrow and not suited to pedestrians. A car is a must to visit the sites along the coast.
We stayed 7 night at the end of May: the hotel looked just as in the pictures with Mt Etna smoking gently in the background. Arrived after 10.30 pm and enjoyed the bottle of bubbly left in our fridge to welcome us. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods; the pool was very clean and the gardens full of all kinds of flowers. However, our bedroom, which looked onto the road, was noisy, despite the double glazing, because of very heavy traffic from around 6am to 10 pm. The view from our balcony was ugly: a garage forecourt full of cars and some messy old buildings. It was difficult to walk anywhere due to the lack of pavements and the narrow busy roads: that was disappointing as we had chosen to be in a town for that purpose. Fortunately we had a car and were able to go and visit some beautiful sites up and down the coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chrissy from uk

Lovely old manor house

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Interesting building, individually decorated and furnished rooms, beautiful flowers. Good breakfast. Good Restaurant next door.
Cons: All rooms entered through the French windows and no way of ventilating the room at night as need to have the doors shut. There is no lift.
Location: Giarre is a bit run down and there didn't seem to be many other places to eat in. Great base for Etna tours- can organise through hotel.
Stayed here for two nights to visit Etna. Lovely old manor house with good pool area and views of Etna. Organised day trip, thorough the hotel, to Etna with Etna Trouvatura and had a brilliant day. Enjoyed the pool. Not sure it is the kind of place to stay in for a week though as nowhere to wander out for a meal, apart from the lovely restaurant next door. If you book, ask for a room with a pool view- they also have a little seating area outside where you can sit in the evening, and look towards Etna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel as a base

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful and friendly
Cons: There is no facility to make tea or coffee and the room was dark and empty, would be nice to have a bar open in the evening to meet other guests
Location: The location was good for a base to visit other area's, but there is absolutely nothing to do nearby (within 1 mile)
The hotel is on a fairly busy road, so you need to be careful with your choice of rooms (Rm 203 / Rm 204 over looking mount Etna and the swimming pool and are away from the road and any noise. Rm 106 is on the courtyard so is also quite and large but has no windows, just a door with small windows. The smell from the Orange / Lemon trees and flowers was wonderful The swimming pool was well looked after and a nice area to relax The staff were all very helpful The breakfast was good, bread rolls, meat, cheese, tomatoes, oranges, cakes... and excellent service and coffee There is a restaurant on site had good quality food, but the portions are small and very expensive (12 euros for a small plate of pasta / 12 Euros for two small sausages and salad, there is also a service charge of 2 euros per head. We considered this to be very poor value but found a great little Pizzeria in Riposto, (Pizzeria Bella Napoli, Corso Italia 215) about 7 minutes drive away... Not always easy to find on street parking We drove to see Mount Etna, about a 50 minute drive to the base station where you could catch a cable car. However we found visiting Mt Etna disappointing and a rip off. It cost 30 euros per person to take you only part the way up by cable car, to get closer to the main crater you have to pay another 30 euros and take a bus.. Save your money and take a picture from the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John A Giglia from Richmond, Virginia, USA

You couldn't find a nicer hotel

Posted May 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in a converted winery, this hotel has plenty of charm and beauty. Of all the hotels I've stayed in while traveling in Sicily, this has been the nicest. The staff are wonderful and make you feel right at home. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. We liked the hotel so much we booked a third night here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Somerset, UK

Would choose it again

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, easy to find, friendly staff, good breakfast and restaurant.
Location: We used it as a base for trips to Mount Etna, Syracuse and Taormina
We stayed for four nights at the end of March when the hotel was fairly empty. We were pleased with our choice and would choose it again if we were in the area. It was in a quiet position off the main road and we were happy with the service and room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com