Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by P from london

No value for money

Posted May 29, 2014
Essentially you are paying for location when it comes to hotel Isabella. Everything else is nowhere near value for money - there are no facilities and as for wifi it only works in the reception. The rooms are very small and the bathroom even smaller. Extremely congested and not worth what you pay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jean and Mike from Maine, USA

We were transferred

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived the hotel was closed for painting, but they put us into a 5 star hotel at the same price. It was wonderful. Great town to walk and shop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe and I from New York

Charming and gracious, right in the middle of life

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: see above.
Location: very central - in the heart of things
The hootel is small and gracious, not the chain hotel feel. Understated in elegance and comfort. most lovely view from the room top terrance used for breakfast, which was wonderful, or at any other time to read or chat. Location could not be more central. Isabella has beach rights to a lovely "lido". Helpful staff with great suggestions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Shreveport, LA

Easy walk with luggage from taxi drop-off

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Thus was my second stay at Hotel Isabella. Given that Taormina is a maze of steps and the main street is a pedestrian zone, it could not be better located. Whether you arrive by bus or car, you can enter the main city gate (Porta Messina) and walk a very short distance on the main street (Corso Umberto) to arrive at the hotel. I was attending operas at the Greek Theatre, and it is a very short walk from there as well. The price could not be better for the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Genteel comfort in Taormina

Posted Jul 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Isabella is a very pleasant old-fashioned European tourist hotel with a very good buffet breakfast served on a beautiful rooftop terrace with amazing panoramic views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Good location. Good size room. Wonderful view from breakfast restaurant.
Cons: I could hear the sound and voice from next room and hall. Some pigeons messing up breakfast. Wi-Fi is not free.
Location: Many restaurants, cafes and gift shops.
Location is best. This hotel is in main street in Taormina. The view from breakfast area was wonderful. You can see the sea, horizon and cliff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linc from Boston

Comfortable hotel in excellent location

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Isabella sits right on the Corso Umberto, the main pedestrian drag in Taormina. The wonderfully helpful staff and comfortable surroundings made our stay very pleasant. The only negatives were the small size of the room, the not-quite-sufficient cooling by the air conditioning system, and the availability of internet access only in the (large and very comfortable) lounge area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sidney from Boca Raton, FL

Nice Hotel in Excellent Location

Posted May 26, 2013
Location: Location is excellent. It's in the HEART of Taormina.....in the center of all activities.
Hotel Isabella is situated on Corso Umberto...the pedestrian street in Taormina. The location is perfect; staff is helpful and breakfast is included. The single problem I had with the hotel is the internet connection: it is only available in the lobby. We're from the US and require an internet connection for (inexpensive) phone calls and for just staying in touch with things back home. It was inconvenient having to go sit in the lobby to use it. But if this is not important to you...this would be an EXCELLENT hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mel E from London, UK

Great location in beautiful Taormina

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Taormina is a tiny, but beautiful village. Most of the accommodation is very expensive (resorts) and we wanted something cheaper and simpler (as we don't go on holiday to spend much time in hotels!). Hotel Isabella is in the most perfect location for exploring and enjoying Taormina, and the staff are really lovely, very helpful and speak excellent English. However, don't expect much for your money compared to other hotels of a similar price in other parts of Sicily. The hotel is old and a bit run down - our room did not have air conditioning and was awfully stuffy with the sun heating it up and not much respite from the window; the shower was pretty awful, but it worked; breakfast was pretty basic. I mention these things just so fellow travellers understand what to expect. We had a lovely stay and would definitely stay at Hotel Isabella again.