Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom west sussex

Hotel with lovely view, pool very clean

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The view and clean pool and nice gentleman who looked after the pool and sun beds as he couldn't do enough for you
Cons: Employ some friendly receptionist and complimentary tea and coffee in the room
Location: Apart from steep hill to climb to get out of hotel it was extremely close to shops and loads of restaurants
Reception staff appear to be hidden behind the desk not very friendly whenever you entered the hotel, breakfast very limited, useless toaster, coffee not very nice quite limited menu unless you eat cake for breakfast. Tea and coffee in room extremely expensive like €3 for sachet of coffee and €2.50 for a tea bag, normally this facility is complimentary but beware not at all here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

fantastic views

Posted Sep 16, 2014
We only stayed in the Monte Tauro for two nights as we were in Sicily for a wedding but we found the hotel extremely comfortable and the hotel staff very helpful. It was very expensive so I don't think we could have afforded to stay for any longer than a weekend and I'm not sure how value for money it was. However, the pool was lovely but you do have to arrive early as the other hotel guests do the usual thing of bagging sun loungers with their towels, which is annoying. However, the hotel do have a policy of removing any towels that have been left there for longer than an hour, which is pretty novel! Overall I'm not sure we would come back to this hotel because of the price, but it was a very comfortable stay whilst we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
When we got to the Hotel, the staff extremely friendly, helpful. The pool is great to hangout and Could be the biggest pool in the area. The rooms are average but generally clean. The balcony outside the rooms are very nice and overlook a very scenic Mediterranean Sea. Lastly as we leave the hotel staff were very helpful with allowing late checkout, keeping bags even after a late checkout and then allowing usage of a shower room when we left later in the afternoon. All in all a very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stallionfrom cornwall

Nice hotel, very close to the town and amenities

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The varied facilities and helpful staff. The breakfast menu was excellent and catered for everyone of all nationalities
Cons: Difficult to comment, excellent hotel
Location: The location was absolutely breathtaking. A huge amount of things to do. Restaurants & bars, beautiful town with varied shop. Lots of ancient history
The hotel was lovely and the staff were very helpful and polite. It was very clean and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely use this hotel again, this was our first visit to Sicily. This hotel comes highly recommended. The 2 euro daily water charge was a surprise so please be warned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tootsfrom Liverpool

wonderful views and a short stroll to the centre

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Plenty of open space. modern decor, excellent food and spotlessly clean. Staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.
Location: Location was unbeatable with restaurants,shops,archaeological sites, central park and beach all within easy reach but it is very hilly
An exhilarating experience with so much to do and see with the option of simply chilling out if required. would recommend it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Possumfrom Taormina

Great location

Posted Sep 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have just spent a week at the Monte Tauro and overall it was a good experience. The location is fantastic, overlooking the sea, right next to the beautiful public gardens and very close to the centre of town. We only had breakfast there but that was of a good standard. The room was clean and well presented. The only negatives were firstly even though there was a stunning view from the balcony, because of the strange design, you could only see it when you were standing and not when seated. Also there is only one lift which meant that there could be a long wait! Overall though a great hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by katyafrom brooklyn, ny

not what was expected

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
small room with no view with one king size bed was given for room that was reserved for 3 adults. i was expecting more for 350 that i had to pay for that. Second room key that we needed never matched the lock after 2 trips and i finally gave up asking the front desk night service to open door. apparently they arrange extra bed that they fit in the tiny room for the 3rd person. Woudnt stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrewfrom Northampton

Great facilities and position but poor for cars

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Large rooms, Pool terrace and lunchtimes at the Pool grill/bar.
Cons: Parking
Location: Situated a short walk from the old town with it's many shops and restaurants the hotel is an ideal base for exploring Taormina.
Superbly positioned in the "old town" this hotel offers a relaxing and comfortable stay. Modernist in design it is tastefully decorated and very well kept. Excellent rooms which all have sea views, large bar and restaurant and great pool area with grill/bar. Staff are very pleasant and helpful with the only downside being very limited parking and difficult vehicle access. Unfortunately, this goes with the territory but the views and overall experience make up for this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicfrom Norfolk, UK

Perfect location

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: The views, and the pool staff really made our stay.
Cons: The pizza in the pool bar food was not good, but we only ate there once.
Location: Fantastic location; amazing views, close to the town centre but very quiet.
We selected this hotel because we needed a break from work and time to relax. It was also our wedding anniversary, so wanted somewhere quiet where we could be together. It matched our needs perfectly and we weren't disappointed - including the complimentary bottle of proseco on our arrival. We quickly decided that the hotel was in the best location in Taormina, and we loved the amazing views over the bay from wherever we were; by the pool, from our balcony and from all public areas. It was a short walk from the town centre with all the shops and restaurants on offer, but tucked away to offer a tranquil retreat from the crowds. Having a pool really made the difference; no real need to go up and down to the beaches. The staff were friendly and effecient especially those by the pool. We ate in The pool bar once and it was our only disappointment and the worst food we had during our stay; by contrast the buffet breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and lots of local produce to try. We didn't try the main restaurant as it seemed a little pricey, and besides, there were too many options outside the hotel to choose from that there was no need. Our room was comfortable and clean, with a lovely balcony, but we were pleased that we up-graded to the classic standard. TV channels were limited, but it isn't what you go to Sicily for, so not a problem to us. We would not hesitate to recommend the hotel, and look forward to our return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Suberb service

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, views stunning, staff super efficient, amenities excellent, central location in town. 5 out of 5 strongly recommended. Small steep hill to walk up immediately outside hotel so not for the infirm.