Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vikki from London

Beautiful Taormina

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The -2 floor rooms all need refurbishing.
We had a lovely time at the Villa Diodoro in beautiful Taormina. The views of the town from the Pool area are simply stunning. The pool area itself is lovely and the snack bar by the pool very good and reasonably priced. Our rooms were on the -2 level and are not as yet refurbished (apparently the rest of the hotel is). They are in need of some TLC but were clean and reasonably comfortable. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms but there is a mini bar with water and a small selection of other drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Winchester

Old world charm with modern touch

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you're in Taormina, there can't be many better places to stay - the location for the main town is ideal. The car park always seemed to have some spaces free. The grounds are beautiful and the views from superior rooms are great. 3rd and 4th floors are best but ours (218) was good as it's on a corner. The rooms are now quite minimalist but very clean This may be in response to other reviews. The rest of the hotel retains it's older charm. Once you've negotiated the steps down through the gardens, the large pool has a beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spectacular setting

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: location very good in Taormina
Cons: The hotel itself lacked any entertaining activity outside TV in your own room. Bar, boring etc.
Location: Excellent location in Taormina.
Spectacular setting overlooking the the coastline & etna. Alas, it was unusually overcast & raining when I stayed but I could definitly see its magic if the weather had been right. Relaxing short walk to the village, careful on the stairs exiting the hotel tho.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Great location, excellent pool.
Cons: Bathrooms are very old and dated.
Location: The local restaurant Al Giardino serves fantastic food with really friendly service!
Nice hotel in a great location, room was nice and spacious and clean but the bathrooms very much in need of updating/refitting.
3 out of 5
by Jez from Surrey

Good location. Tired and not very clean rooms.

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Good Points. Good Location, staff quite nice and polite.
Cons: Very expensive and not great value for money.
Location: Wine Tour is very good value at 37 euros. Amphitheatre Is well worth a visit.
First time in Taormina, so not sure if this is usual. Lovely town. Bad Points. Room not very clean, Double beds are 2 singles pushed (not clipped) together, storage poor for clothes and belongings. Bathrooms very tired old curtains, mould around the bath and up the walls. They only supply plastic cups in the room (cheap ones that split very easily), and when they clean the room they remove them and don't replace them so you have to call reception. Also NO IRON or Ironing board (in a 4 star hotel)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice secluded getaway

Posted Aug 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel with exceptional views and great pool facilities. When staying there you feel far enough away from the world but only have a 5 minute walk to authentic restaurants and shops. Nice and quite atmosphere at the hotel with staff being very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlie from Toronto

Great Location, decent resort, excellent value

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with our pick. For the cost, the room, the amazing pool, the views and the great location. I would say that overall this place has a great value and would return there. The only downside of this place was that as a young couple we did feel at times that it was a seniors resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Keith and Deb from Surrey

mid fifties but still young at heart

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: its location and views of the bay
Cons: nothing to complain about,probablu unsuitable for the elderly and very young as the pool is quite a way from the main building
Location: Fantastic
This hotel is ideal for strolling into town with great shops and restaurants. We arrived early evening and were upgraded to a suite adjacent to the pool with stunning views of the bay,at no extra cost Although we were away from the main hotel we were only a few steps from the pool and bar,where we spent most of the day. Breakfast was basic as per most hotels ,but there was plenty and the staff were friendly and attentive. The walk into "town"was easy,through the gardens and restaurants were no more than 5/6 minute walk.. Check out Mediteraneo Cafe for a pre dinner drink or after dinner/late cocktail,The service is a little slow ,but the music and ambiance is pure gold. Villa Diodoro is not a 5star hotel,but it was everything we needed for a fantastic holiday in one of our favourite places.If we come back again we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from London, UK

Great views but a little disappointing.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: the view
Cons: the shower
Location: about 10 mins walk from central street but a steep uphill climb
Hotel Diodoro has a wonderful position with amazing views over the sea and Mount Etna. Each room has a large balcony with lovely views. The swimming pool is large and also with great views and a pleasant snack bar. The room itself was comfortable but the bathroom was very disappointing - a bit dated and with a shower over the bath that kept falling out of its holder. Breakfast was OK but marred by really horrible artificial juice, though the views from the dining room were again lovely. We would go back for the view, but its not really a 4 star hotel.