Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful hotel but extortionately priced

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The location, the gardens, the facilities and the activities are superb. All the family was very happy with the hotel, just the food let it down.
Cons: The restaurants could simply be more generous with the local produce, serving generous amounts of fresh fruit and vegetables. Adult pools desirable.
Location: Most key archaeological sites are over an hour away (Olympia over 90 minutes and Ancient Messini over 60). A boat ride in Pylos is a must.
The hotel, the grounds and the facilities are amazing, but the thing that lets the hotel down is the restaurants. The service was incredibly slow, and we had to wait sometimes over an hour between starter and main courses. Yet the worse thing was the price. It is always Michelin prices without Michelin meals. Not to say the food wasn't of a good standard, but the servings were miniscule. We paid over 900 euros for a meal for 11 people (including two children) and they didn't even serve enough new potatoes for each person to have one. There were not enough vegetables for every one to have a serving. The quantities of coffee, tea and UHT milk pots were not enough for two people to have a cup of English breakfast tea for two. It appears that the management is trying their best to extort the maximum amount of money out of each visitor. Nearly all the food is locally produced, so the meanness of portions seemed ridiculous given that the prices of their menus are literally four times a good local restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Athens

Excellent top notch family hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Loved the pools, breakfast, great facilities. Food expensive. ..go to nearby Gialova if you have a car, it's much cheaper and has some good tavernas. We had a free room upgrade. ..very hapoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The Hotel California

Posted Aug 2, 2014
A superb facility, in a beautiful location with an excellent service ethic it does exactly what it says on the proverbial tin. Any criticism seems churlish but I had a few small issues with the place. Too big, too many people, you feel trapped in the hotel and accordingly forced to spend there. NB On arrival they block off ones credit card to the tune of 100 Euros per day of stay. Also, even if you hired a car most of the wonders of the Peloponesse are not close. The result for me was a loss of exclusivity, the feeling of being in a souped up turbo charged 3 star holiday complex and call me old fashioned a loss of romance. Despite this the hotel's 'Stepford Wives' quality can make you forget these quibbles if you allow it too and my advice is considering the cost...you should allow it too... Your family will love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gavin from London

Marvellous setting

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel blends in perfectly with its natural setting, and does not disrupt views of the Peloponnesian coast. It is a big resort, and we could have done with a map; and on one day the service at breakfast was overwhelmed by the number of guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marina from athens

Amazing resort for enjoying and relaxing

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Very friendly and polite staff, really professional. Amazing spa facilities, very clean and huge swimming pools! Very clean rooms with beautiful decoration and view. In general a great resort with all you can imagine inside the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A U from USA

The beaches near the hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a real nice time it's a bautiful hotel and really nice beaches
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

terrible food

Posted Aug 5, 2013
rettible restaurants and expensive for the quality
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Impressive Hotel and facilities

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent Resort, would return again and again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angie from Oxford, UK

Great resort for a new family

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Perfect for babies
Cons: Smoke everywhere and food disappointing
Location: Idyllic
Amazingly well designed resort, high quality finish to the whole place. Multiple pools and own private beach. Brilliant for babies and kids especially the waterpark and creche facilities. The hotel provided a proper cot (not just a pop up travel one) for our baby. If travelling without kids this may well be overwhelming, I certainly would have disliked it before we started a family. Food and drinks were eye-wateringly expensive e.g. (in Euros) 4.50 for a can of coke, 5.00 for two scoops of ice-cream and 9.00 for a small souvlaki. As the resort is so massive and you can't really escape to visit local restaurants, it's a captive market. I expected 5* hotel prices, but I'm sad to report that the quality of the food did not match up to the 5* quality you'd expect for the price. Also, they charge 60 Euros for internet access for the week which is definitely a rip off as the connection is not good enough to justify the cost (e.g. you can't watch youtube video). I would expect to be surrounded in clouds of cigarette smoke in Southern Europe but the hotel does bill itself as a smoke-free environment (there are signs in every room). Sadly this is not the case. It was pretty difficult to avoid smoke (on our balcony, by the pool, in the restaurants - there are no smoke free areas!). Frustrating with a baby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rachelle from Sydney, Australia

Outstanding

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: Service, comfort of room, staff, pools and grounds
Cons: It is a 3.5 hour drive from Athens
Location: It isn't a short car trip, but worth the drive
This Hotel is superb. Had a wonderful experience, Faultless.