Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Don't put anyone directly beneath the restaurant. There is practically no information about Mexico City attractions in the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on the Zocalo and there are tons of places to visit from there
What this hotel has going for it is the great location and possibly the roof top restaurant, (which I did not try) . Initially I was given a standard room with very musty old carpeting. I requested a change and was given a much nicer room with no carpeting, cleaner. However it was directly below the restaurant and they seemed to need to be dragging metal objects (tables or chairs) on the floor at all hours. The front desk seemed to know about this problem and said they would ask them to be quieter but it did not really help. I guess that was my penalty for complaining about the first room! The front desk staff are mildly disinterested. The other staff were more pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jen from Australia

Step back in time

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Decor, atmosphere and staff
Cons: Nothing- I did have to ask for help with bags on arrival as taxi cannot pull up at the entrance.
Location: Lots to do - visit the tour desk. Be sure to viosit templo Major and as you approach the Cathedral for 20 pesos someone will give you a guided tour.
I enjoyed my stay here. The decor and colonial building were an awesome environment to complete the Mexico leg of my trip. Staff very freindly and helpful. View of the Zocalo from my room was awesome but noisy- esp since Mexico were about to play an important Fifa match and there were thousands there. Not the fault of the hotel for that and they had a nice roof top event to join in with the cheering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from DC

Great location; near everything.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Plumbing and light fixtures.
Location: Located right on the Zocalo, overlooking the Cathedral and Gov't buildings. Excellent food within walking distance (Cardenal for breakfast!!)
The good: Beautiful old hotel Best location; can easily use Metro to get to other parts of the city. Incredibly helpful staff Very clean room Rooftop bar/restaurant 7.2 Earthquake; 6th floor....a little rock and roll, but no damage The bad: Bathroom very old; plumbing not the best (this doesn't matter much to me and things were fixed right away) Single, operator elevator can cause a wait (again, I don't care and we just walked down each time) Bottom line: If you want a Marriott or Hilton, go there. We really enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel super close to the zocalo

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Great please to stay in the middle of the historic center on Mexico City
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toucan from Brisbane, Australia

Best location for the price.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Great location right on the Zocala. Rooms were comfortable and clean and staff were pleasant althoigh not much English spoken. Rooms facing the Zocala could be noisy. Fantastic rooftop terrace for breakfast or drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jessica from Philadelphia

Nice room overlooking the Zocalo

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booked last minute after my flight was cancelled. The hotel is beautiful and I had an amazing view of the Zocalo (although it was rather noisy at night). I enjoyed the restaurant on the 7th floor as well. Good service, although if you ask them to help you get a taxi back to the airport they do have different prices for the terminals. Only complaint is that wifi was very unreliable in my room (didn't try other areas).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AC from Texas

Great location, professional service

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was wonderful. Although it was during the holidays when I stayed there; the crowds were out there enjoying the ice rink and the ice slide, the noise wasn't bad. The location is great, right in the center of everything. Walking distance to everything. They offered sightseeing tours to various destinations and I very much enjoyed the pyramids tour. I am definitely going back to this hotel on my next trip. The hotel employees were very courteous and professional. I enjoyed my stay.
2 out of 5
by ricardo from el paso tx

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nate from Denver, CO

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: location, and value
Location: It's right at the central of the city, perfect. Museums are very close, great restaurants to choose from. And the shopping street malls near.
I enjoyed my stay, it was a perfect location to sites and museums, subway. I thought room would be noisy but it was fine all night. Services were good for me, no complaints.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com