Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, B.C. Canada

Location of the hotel was excellent.

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The location, mainly. Great staff.
Cons: Checking how many guests...for number of towels. Checking that all lamps work.
Location: Location was great...in the heart of the city. Views of the main square, cathedral, palace and the Mayor's building. Great coffee shops nearby, too.
The hotel was nice, and in the heart of town overlooking the wonderful square and interesting buildings. Some of the amenities could have been better...i.e., hard beds, table lamp not working so had to use a flashlight to get up in the night. Being an old hotel, could use some refurbishing. Staff were very nice and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Nice hotel, I hope can get the same room the next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

This is the worst hotel to stay in.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Beds are outdated mattress are old, bathroom sink leeks. very bad feeli about a guard with a rifle at hotel door. internet does not work . several customers complained about the thing. Very moisy hotel. would never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chiapas, Mexico

Not so great

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: In the heart of downtown
Cons: Internet and Elevator
Location: It is smack in the center of town.
Internet and elevator were not working. Had to walk 5 floors to room and use internet only in Lobby, staff was not helpful or accomodating. Not Recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mexico City

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Awesome! Hotel staff are fabulous. Hotel is very clean. It's old do the amenities are not luxurious. Would definitely go back. View from our room was awesome.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom schenectady, ny

Near everything

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Being close to many things was great and also at times noisy for sleeping. The view atop the hotel was awesome; seeing the amazing architecture in every direction. Beds were akin to sleeping on hard ground, walls of the building are thin, and the zocalo is loud at night. It didn't help that someone's car alarm nearby went off six times throughout our first night. Also for charging electronics; room had two outlets and in one bathroom. Sometimes had to unplug lamps or tv to charge multiple things. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. We would suggest breakfast at the museum across the street. It has non-Mexican style dishes. Views and attractions in walking distance: A Comfort of room: D Staff: A
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by sydelle Tabrizyfrom California

Excellent value at charming hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was great except the beds are quite hard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location in historic center

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The restaurant and staff
Cons: The Wi-Fi was not very good at all and hardly worked.
Location: There are sites such as the National Palace, cathedral, and Templo Mayor, as well as many stores, bars, and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was nicely situated across from the National Palace in the historic district. The room was very basic and small, but the hotel was beautiful and had a nice restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Vacation

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Enjoyed the hotels location, and surroundings, Rooms and beds feel snuggly.
Cons: the windows on my balcony room needs attention to the door. had to use a pen to make sure door was locked to keep street noise minimu
Location: Zocalo, Cathedral, Bellas Artes, Alameda Central park, everything is near.
Looking forward to experiencing the city experience as well as being in Mexico City for the first time, my family and I booked the hotel because of its location as the expectations it has thru their website & other traveler reviews. The Wi-Fi was rare to connect to, at the plaza (Zocalo) at the time was a hot spot because it was world cup season and that was the only means of connection to the internet possible. Staff was no smiles, looked and appeared to not be amused with their job, only was it rare that they would greet you with a good morning, or may we help you. Need to improve customer communication or attempt to interact with the guest. I work I the hospitality industry, this hotel has a lot, A LOT o potencial with travelers, need to have more one-on-one with the guest. `
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great location

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Don't put anyone directly beneath the restaurant. There is practically no information about Mexico City attractions in the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on the Zocalo and there are tons of places to visit from there
What this hotel has going for it is the great location and possibly the roof top restaurant, (which I did not try) . Initially I was given a standard room with very musty old carpeting. I requested a change and was given a much nicer room with no carpeting, cleaner. However it was directly below the restaurant and they seemed to need to be dragging metal objects (tables or chairs) on the floor at all hours. The front desk seemed to know about this problem and said they would ask them to be quieter but it did not really help. I guess that was my penalty for complaining about the first room! The front desk staff are mildly disinterested. The other staff were more pleasant.