Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Economic hotel near Zocalo.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
This hotel is inexpensive and close to the historic center of Mexico City. Each room has a kitchen and there is a convenience store on the ground floor of the building where you can get all of your basics. The Spanish speaking staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are concerned about security there is a safe in every room and the security guard meets everyone at the door and takes you to your floor in the elevator. Metro Hidalgo is just around the corner and the cheapest way to get around. There are inexpensive places to eat everywhere and if you need American fast food it is easy to find as well. The Alameda park is a beautiful oasis and is two blocks away. There are museams all over this part of the city and if you want to practice your Spanish and have a true multicultural adventure this is the hotel for you. A note about Mexico City it only get quiet for about two hours a night,between three and four in the morning. My room was on the third floor and overlooked a busy street. I had read the reviews and brought my earplugs and I was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nancy from Washington state

fantastic location

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were really pleased with Hotel Avilla. The price and location were great - especially for first time visitors to Mexico City. The little kitchenette was good for most of our needs and there was a little grocery store about two minutes away. TV reception was poor, though who watches TV on a sightseeing trip? The shower wasn't great but the towels were Hilton quality plushy! The only downside was that the street it is on is somewhat squalid. We always felt safe, though, and it was only about 100 feet to the hotel and its 24 hour concierge. Wifi was good and the staff were very professional and helpful. I would recommend this place to any budget conscious traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vlad from British Columbia

Home away from home

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room we had in Avilla was not too different from a "studio" or "efficiency" apartment in which many middle-class people live in expensive cities such as New York City (and probably Mexico City too). The room was very spacious, with lots of windows, a decent set of furniture, as well as kitchen amenities (a full-size fridge, a small 2-burner gas stove, sink, a microwave, a and some kitchen utensils). The bathroom was fully functioning and easy to use, with cold and hot water available at all times (although the shower was of the kind where you had to wait a minute or two for the water temperature to be changed once you've turned the hot or cold faucet handle). We had a room on one of the upper floors, facing a major street (Puente Alvarado), with a good view but also more street noise (tolerable to us, but possibly disturbing to some). Most rooms in the building, however, face a small side street (Sombrereros), and hopefully have less street noise. Realistically, though, you could hardly avoid street noise at a location near the very center of Mexico city. The location was pretty good too, just a block from subway entrance (the Balderas & Paseo de la Reforma entrance of the Hidalgo Station), abd just a few blocks from the Alameda. There was a small grocery (Oxxo) next door, and plenty of vendors of Mexican food across the street, as well as a Chinese grocery 3 blocks to the west.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by catherine from California

Clean Apartment Close To Alameda Park

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Friendly Helpful Staff. Kitchenette With Basic Supplies. Cleaned Daily. Convenient To Hildago Metro Stop, Street Food, Shops, OXXOS, Bakery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Florian Maldonado

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by shaliss

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Los Cabos

Kitchen, Full Size Fridge, Spacious, Affordable

Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This cozy place gave me personalized service at every request. If you need anything at this hotel, just ask and you will receive. No pressure from anyone for tips, excellent management that strives to meet your every request. Kitchen, stove, full size fridge, very spacious and secure for a forth the price of other hotels in the area. Just off Reforma. Close to Zona Rosa. 10-15 walk or 3-5 minute cab ride. If there was one request I would say to update the beds to modern queens or kings. It seems to be a double size, maybe full, and outdated. Not dirty or uncomfortable just outdated. Oh and the internet speed is good and best of all it's free. Fast enough to make and receive calls through WIFI through for example Skype. Which is pretty impressive compared to even some 4 and 5 star hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by GUILHERME

Good location

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
A good hotel for whom is searching for a good location with a good price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Johannes

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have stayed several times at the same hotel. Always received good friends service. They always are helpful. I have stayed in Mexico City at haters that are three times the price but lower standard