Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tina from Salt Lake City Utah

Ok for the price- spend lots of time discovering

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: As mentioned before- Juan and Alfredo made our morning breakfasts delightful
Cons: The hospitality of the staff is in need of improvement across the board. A smiled from time to time would be a welcome addition
Location: So much close by-- downtown Mexico City is full of places to explore-- Garibaldi- Zocalo- Bellas Artes-- La Alameda--- the list goes on and on
This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. Juan and Alfredo in the restaurant are the only friendly people on the staff--- everyone else makes you feel like you are annoying them- whether it be checking in or checking out- or making a request for a tv control. They are remodeling the hotel and it looks like the rooms are quite a bit nicer. Honestly for the price- that include the breakfast Buffett- you can't beat it- especially since the only thing we ever do is sleep there since there is so much to see
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from San Diego, CA

Recommended Hotel for budget price

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Pros: Location, staff, and breakfast buffet.
Cons: noise insulation
Location: Between the Zocalo and Zona Rosa is the location and there are lots of restaurants and theatre near by. Great location and great access to metro.
The hotel has an excellent location with easy access to both MetroBus and the Metro and is right on the Paseo de la Reforma for interesting walks. It is not too far from the Zona Rosa, perhaps a 15 or 20 minute walk. The hotel itself has a very nicely done lobby. My room was comfortable, an excellent bed, and a strong shower with lots of hot water. Very nice staff at the reception desk. The only drawback is that if you get a room facing the Reforma, there is quite a bit of traffic noise. I used the fan of the air conditioner to help mask some noise. I noticed that some rooms are being renovated and these may be quieter, you might want to ask for one of these rooms when making a reservation. And the buffet breakfast was excellent with omelettes made to order and lots to choose from. All in all, a very nice hotel for a budget price.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Luis Orozco from Guatemala

service

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Personel in charge of reception and receive payment ys not well prepared and trained. There is a lack of service and they were fixing the neighbord room with too much noice since 6:00 AM. I tried to do another reservation for November 4rh and lady in charge did not attend us very well
1 out of 5
Recommended
by carmen from usa

close to all atracctions

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
the best vacations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oscar from California, USA

Excellent location close to main sites in the city

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: The remodeling of the rooms and the availability of A/C window units makes the stay more comfortable for the guest. Very clean rooms and lobbies.
Cons: Internet access in the rooms. You need to stay in the lobby to connect to the internet.
Location: Excellent location on Reforma Avenue and a few yards from Hidalgo Subway Station facilitates access to public transportation venues.
The services provided by the staff (bell boy/front desk/security/maintenance) was excellent. Staff was supportive and gracious in attending the needs of my group. The breakfast buffet was great with a variety of Mexican, american dishes that satisfies the likes and diets needs of any person. The staff assigned to the restaurant (cooks/waiters/chef) were very friendly and applied to meet the needs to the satisfaction of the guest. A very good option for anybody interested in staying at a place close to all the sites and amenities within the downtown area (Traditional Colonial Section) of Mexico City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juliana from Medellin

Nice - budget hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: The location and the breakfast.
Cons: There is cable internet in the room, no WIFI. Although there is WIFI in the common areas, and there are computers next to the lobby that you can use.
Location: Located in Reforma Avenue, very centric location, close to the Metro Station.
Excellent location for getting around the city. Located in the Reforma Avenue, just in from of "el caballito", walking distance to the historic center of the city: Bellas Artes Palace, Zocalo, etc. Then if you walk through Reforma you will find the Independence Angel. There is a Metro Station just 20 steps from the hotel. The breakfast "all you can eat" buffet is excellent, with a variety of delicious local dishes, and the more traditional breakfast food (eggs, pancakes, toast, etc).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Moroni from cancun, mexico

GOOD FOR THE PRICE WE PAID

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: the breakfast bufett, the staff , and the location
Cons: the rooms are quite small, but really clean and the room service is great.
Location: well. you are on the heart of the city, downtonw is about 5 minutes, you have stores, you have everything near by, and is a great place to be.
the hotel was ok, the rooms really small, the service at the room was great, they change towels, and everything, and cleaned the room every day, so it was great in an overall, the staff helpfull. so for the proce is ok, the only thing the remote contro didn't work, of course doesnt bother me, so i didnt complain, the breakfast bufett they have was great and a nice price, the view of the restaurant was great as well, an the location was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex from San Diego

Center location at good price

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Expedia/hotel.com search
Location: Center location, safe. A lot to see and explore just by feet. Sightseeing, food, museums, local colorites.
Location is great. Next to Alameda park and 10 min walk to Zokala. Free parking, though it was tough to get to hotel entrance because it is on a lateral, and other streets around were one way. Our room was facing Paseo de la Reforma and was noisy due to old fashion single layer wiindow glass but at the same time it was a great view. Room was spacy and overall fits to 3star hotel. I recommend this hotel to those who wants perfect center location at a resonable price with minor comfort restriction. The hotel is totally worth the money you pay.
3 out of 5
by Tina from Salt Lake City, UT

For the price it was ok

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: It is very conveniently located to many different sites in downtown Mexico City and also very convenient to get to public transportation of all kinds
Cons: The hotel needs better internet service if they are going to offer "free internet", also need to do some remodeling
Location: If you plan to not spend time in your room, there is SO MUCH to do near by... it makes it worth it in some ways
I guess the old saying "you get what you pay for" always applies. As many other reviewers mention, the internet is indeed "free" however, just hope it's working when you are upstairs eating breakfast. Our first morning it was not and we had to go find internet else where to catch up on business before enjoying our days there. The staff at the restaurant for the most part is very nice. However, there is one older waiter who is NOT even close! Our first morning at breakfast we felt like invaders that shouldn't even be there... the 2nd morning was a much better experience. As for room cleanliness. There was an AWFUL smell coming from the bathroom. By keeping the door closed, we were able to keep it down in the main room part, however, it would knock us over every time we went to the bathroom. The first morning we reported it, also requesting that housekeeping keep the door shut when they were done. When we got back later in the afternoon we were upset to find the smell as strong as ever and the door of the bathroom wide open. Also, I found pubic hairs around the sink faucet in the bathroom and the bathroom ceiling in the shower was falling down. All of these things were also reported to the hotel upon departure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, but that's about it

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: The room was a very nice size. And the cleaning staff were very helpful.
Location: Location is great if you want to explore Zocalo and its surroundings.
They claim they have wifi. But only in the lobby and diner floor. They do have wired internet in the rooms, but it's very spotty. So, plan on depending on this internet. Staff are not empowered to help you. I arrived early in the morning, but they won't move you into the room until at least 1PM. I ran into someone with the same problem. If you are making the reservation thru Expedia or similar service, call the hotel directly to make sure they have received your reservation. They do have an interesting way of handling reservations---S....L...O.....W