Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Hotel downtown Mexico City

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Great location. Perfect parking facilities for Mexico City.
Location: The whole downtown pedestrian strip. The main square, the Cathedral, Aztec Templo Mayor, restaurants. Everything done on foot or subway if necessary.
The hotel has single rooms, so I got one (Therefore I paid less tax). The bathroom great, the room itself small. The rate was very good. The parking facilities are small, but perfect for Mexico City. The food, whether at the dining room or room service, is very reasonably priced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Dont stay in this hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
The gym is not a gym nothing works and the hotel staff are mean they dont help you. I will never go back to that hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location! The hotel is in a fine location.

Posted May 27, 2014
Checking in was no problem. The restaurant was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lew from Los Angeles, CA

First visit to Mexico City

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Perfect location for the historical center and its attractions. Walk to many, many locations and easy bus/subway access.
Cons: Really needs a clock or alarm clock in the room.
Location: Tons of museums, cathedrals, shopping within easy walking distance. Beautiful park (Alameda) just down the street.
Hotel Marlowe is comparable to a European-style hotel. Room was clean and comfortable, but not plush. Be sure to add the breakfast buffet - great value for the cost. Staff speaks limited English. No clock (alarm or otherwise) in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: It was very clean, close to the downtown attractions of Mexico City.
Location: It was within walking distance of the Alameda Plaza, Zocalo, the Cathedral and the Templo Mayor.
We found this hotel to be very comfortable. We were very pleased with this choice of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack

Great location, very good value, highly recommend

Posted Apr 14, 2014
You can stay 1 block away in the Hilton and maybe not more satisfied for 4-5x the money. It's not a 5 star hotel in facilities but it was 5 stars for usability, utility, cleanliness (even public bathrooms spotless) and location. We were there 5 days - my 2nd travel trip to Mex DF - I would stay there in a second and next time for 10 days - at that price - you can afford to. Car parking is tight - only 11 spaces. It's 1 block fro Belles Artes - spend the 800p for 1st class tickets and see the Ballet Folklorico - you saved enough for the best seats.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great base for a city break

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was great.
Cons: The gym facilities.
Location: Centrally located & an easy walk to all the central attractions. The street is quite quiet despite its cental location.
I was pleased with this hotel which a friend had recommended. I was in the city for a 4 day break & it was a great base for my stay. The room was clean & compact & the breakfast buffet was very good. I went on a day excursion to Teotihuacan to which the staff recommended & arranged. The only disappointment which I had hoped to take advantage of was the gym facilities - the equipment was quite old & outdated. Apart from that the staff were great it was a very central base in a great city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not a star hotel at all

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel promises an "European Plan", but not a free continental breakfast.It fails to provide rudimentary comforts, conveniences and courtesies.The bed is too narrow for two.No A.C. but only a mono-speed ceiling fan with no regulator.No reading lamp but only dim ceiling lights. No ice and no bucket and no chilled water. Only an in-room faucet with room-temperatute water. No tissue box, only 5 to 10 tissues if you ask for, Of course no frig, no microwave and no coffee pot. The desk clerks, with only one exception are glum, no smile and no greetings. They barely throw answers if you ask for any information. One of the worst hotel stays ever during 5 visits to Mexico.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Never again at this hotel.

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
the Hotel fails to provide basic comforts & conveniences which even a no-star hotel usually provides.: it has no a.c, a ceiling fan with no regulator, no reading lamp, only dim ceiling lights, no chilled water or ice, only a faucet in the room that dispenses barely cool drinking water, 5-10 sheets of tissue after asking, a bed that is hardly big enough for two,no microwave, no coffee pot, no frig. Worst of all: the desk- clerks with only one exception never smiles or greets, answers to questions are essentially thrown at the guests,the bell-boys do not carry the bags or show the room. Felt very uncomfortable.