Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from SF Bay Area

Worth a stay if you're in the area

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Good size if basic, clean room and bathroom; two queen beds.
Cons: The shower is really short; if you're 5 feet tall, I don't think the stream would hit the top of your head, but it's OK. Less road noise desirable.
Location: Hiking, fishing, photography during 3 seasons, snow & skiing nearby during winter. Very nice rural area.
The Christmas Tree Inn is marked by large blue spruce trees along the highway, hence the name. Pretty good standard motel, a single long building facing the road; most rooms are upstairs. No complaints except the traffic is pretty close and large trucks pass through the night causing significant noise, then logging trucks start early in the morning making it worse. Windows are single pane aluminum frame, so newer double pane would block noise better. Blackout curtain worked well. No elevator to second level but it's just one flight of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monmonchan

It's starting to feel a lot like Christmas!

Posted Jul 23, 2013
This hotel is a quaint little hotel set in California. The rooms were comfortable, clean. We had access to internet, a huge bathroom and beautiful scenery. The host was a lovely lady who couldn't do enough for you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a family.

Posted Nov 27, 2012
Hotel was ok, but the price was higher for what we received. I would recommend stay somewhere else, if you have an option.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uninformed

Posted Sep 24, 2012
We arrived and they told us we should have called first. The owners were not all that friendly. Need to post pet rules more clearly when booking
5 out of 5
by Kim from Turlock, CA, USA

A Gem in the Sierra's

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Pros: Cleanliness, everything I needed was provided
Cons: I could hear people outside my room in the morning.
Location: Mi Wuk village is at an early elevation on the road to Sonora Pass
Such a charming place with charming hosts! I would stay again in a heartbeat. And so affordable. Nothing fancy but definitely homey...I felt great while there
2 out of 5
by Branden from Turlock, CA, USA

cheap isnt always better...

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Fridge and microwave
Cons: Pool, hot tub, bed, staff, outdated everything. For the price they ask, it should be nicer.
Location: Location is alright
Cheap hotel. That's it. Pool is not heated. Hot tub is no hotter than bath water. Staff will knock on door once, even if you say you are coming, they will open the door to your room. No privacy. Bed is hard. The only plus was the price, which was still pricy for a hotel like this, the microwave and the fridge were the only benefits. Unless your down to your last nickel and dime, spend the extra $10 and stay in Sonora or twaine harte. This hotel isn't worth the effort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ken from Brisbane, Qld, Australia

Christmas Inn

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: A "Mum and Dad" couple that ran it, made it very homely.
Cons: A breakfast snack would have been nice.
Location: Excellent location between some picturesque lakes and historic towns - plenty to visit.
The proprietors were helpful, welcoming and very friendly. The only comment I would make is that for a similar tariff at other motels there was breakfast (tea/coffee and buns/muffins) - more for convenience than economy, but worth a mention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Annette from Bath, UK

Tucked away on the edge of the forest

Posted Aug 9, 2012
A very nice motel a little off the beaten track. Very comfortable. We arrived too late to use the pool, but it did look inviting. We stopped here after travelling through Yosemite, it was a little further than we thought as it is on the edge of the park at the end of the Sonoro Pass, we came through the park on the Tioga Pass so had to sort of double back on ourselves for a few miles it was not a problem though. We were there in July, but it is a ski village in the winter (I believe about 20minutes to the ski lifts). I think it would be wonderful in the winter. The owner recommended a bar/restaurant a few minutes drive away, when we got there they re-opened the kitchen for us and were incredibly helpful. Would definately recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Bay Area

1st time guest--Extremely satisfied..

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: Owner operated!
Cons: Older TV's, could be upgraded to flat screen..
Location: Great location, close to both Pinecrest and Sonora..
Great Service! Owner operated, and friendly staff.. Rooms are simply but very clean and functional.. Quite location considering it's location right on Hwy 108.. Pool and Spa were clean and refreshing. 20 min drive to Pinecrest Lake/Camp Hi-Sierra...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from pittsburgh, pa

charming

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: room large and pleasant
Cons: nothing
Location: out skirts of small town but the town had a number of good options for eating
charming hotel, hot tub was welcome relief from long day at yosemite,