Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, staff not so much

Posted Mar 12, 2015
The hotel was very nice. The rooms were nice and spacious. The Internet did not work at all. The staff was very rude, it seemed like we were bothering them checking in. We asked one of the staff member a question and he informed me he doesn't speak English. Overall it seemed barely anyone spoke english. However the hotel itself was nice. The pool was a nice refresher and the beach was super close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Right on the Miami beach on ocean avenue

Posted Mar 9, 2015
We were looking for a affordable hotel at Miami beach, this one is the one of the best hotel. We booked ocean view, with balcony deluxe suites which may sound very expensive at Miami beach but we got a very good price from Expedia. Remember price can vary time to time. Room, bed, interior were beyond excellent plus there is free valet parking. Other Miami hotels don't offer free parking and parking fee ranges from 25 to 40 bucks per night. Location and ocean view is amazing. Ocean view with balcony deluxe suites is very romantic and enjoyable. I recommend this hotel to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not like it, not coming back

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The view fron the room...even thought the windows were not as clean....
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Beach
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel one night, I booked from my phone because I lost another reservation I had and this was the cheapest hotel I could find in the area at the moment. For 90 dollars, I expected way more...the rooms look clean to the eye but it didn’t really feel that clean...the rooms are old and some chairs are rusted and the halls look cheap and kind of have a smell. The valet parking is a mess, it took us more than 30 minutes to get our car when we left, we were lost when we come in, didn’t know who was in charge or what should we do to check in. There are two different front desks and the lady helping me was anything but nice. The room didn’t include breakfast, we were asked to check out at 10.30am, and every minute after that they will charge you...overall...a not so nice Miami experience...I would not go back...and I don’t recommend the hotel, especially because I have stayed at so many different hotels and I know that i can get a nice room for less than that, with breakfast included and with people that actually know about hospitality. Oh, one last thing, when we were leaving, there was a lady, I would guess a guest that was complaining about the valet parking service and she was making an scene right in front of the hotel telling the manager, or the person in charge how bad the service was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, Fl

Nice Hotel, nice location amazing view!!!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Like all the buildings in Miami is old, but the location is excellent the view is amazing. I was on 16 floor, the room was clean and big. Also very good deal in the expensive Miami. Plus free parking!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Disappointing stay in an old suite

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: it was near the beach, but many hotels were and had more amenities for their guests.
Cons: unless the management was changed I can't list the many disappointments I had with a family of four.
Location: Miami beach area restaurants, beaches, music and walks. The everglades were close by.
The rooms were not maintained: the counter in the room was broken, the painting around the air vent was dilapidated, the wiring to the TV was done by an amateur dangling from the ceiling, the wifi was anemic . The valet took for ever which delayed me for my appointments. The room was on the street side and it was noisy. the showers barely had enough lukewarm water for a family of four to shower. The lighting inside the bath room was very poor.The elevators were poorly maintained and you can tell the owners didn't take pride in their establishment and were too cheap to pay some one to paint the wood in the elevators.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Jacksonville FL

Old Hotel In Need of Repair

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: was somewhat convenient to the boat show and there were several good restaurants north of the hotel that offered wonderful food (Normans)
We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and confirmed this via telephone when we made the reservation thru Expedia-no pet deposit required. Upon check in we were told that we needed to give a $250 pet deposit in cash. We refused and finally agreed to allow them to run the deposit on a credit card. A manager tore up the slip when we checked out and was furious that we had been asked to pay this $250. The room was awkward - bisected with a strange wall so there were really two rooms. The bed in the room with the television was lumpy and uncomfortable. The second bed was better but there was no TV in that room. The biggest problem was that the bathroom fixtures were inoperable. It was impossible to turn the shower or bath on. We finally realized that we had to pull the fixture out with all of our might to get the water to trickle. The tile had been cut away and it was clear they had rigged it to work...but barely! No hot water in the sink. The pool had only one third of the lounges one would expect and I saw people sitting on lounges with broken legs. The stairs leading in and out were crumbling and held together with duct tape in some cases. This hotel needs a major renovation. The furniture in the rooms was the cheapest of cheap. We were impressed with how quickly the valet system worked. They were efficient and pleasant! The elevators were quick and the beach access was nice because on this section of the beach we were allowed to take our puppy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama Gulf Coast

Not bad, not a resort but ok. They're trying!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Don't be to scared of some of some of these reviews. It depends on what "condo" you get. Ours on 8th floor main bldg and a friends on 12th floor main bldg were ok. Clean and no bugs as some reported. Halls and elevators were clean. Elevator system is odd but works. Everything is separately managed/Subed? Check-in, valet cleaning, etc. There is no help with luggage if you need it be prepared. Valet was not bad. We were there for Miami Boat show and never waited more than 15 minutes. They were friendly and quick. Not many chairs at pool so if driving bring a folder or get to pool early. Hats off to the Retaurant there in hotel, "Blue ?". Food was excellent and service was great! Felipe helped a large group of us the best he could and was impressive. Eat there if you get a chance. We will go back if just needing a place to stay with business in town. You get what you pay for. You can tell they are trying.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by karina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thanks Design Suites Miami
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Rude staff n inconvient

Posted Feb 13, 2015
The staff were rude.. The front desk is only 6am to 10pm. They never gave me back my cash deposit bc the front desk was closed bc I had a early departure. Expedia n myself was unable to contact the front desk or reservations about my despute.. I left numerous vmails n got no call back. There are no phones in room n the hotel is dated... The only nice thing is the beach behind the hotel..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very dirty hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I DO NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL TO NO ONE Hotel smell like humid. And insects I the bathroom
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom mty

Good for one night, no more

Posted Feb 4, 2015
So expensive related with the room, staff, general