Ratings based on 622 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I absolutely enjoyed my stay at The Avalon Hotel. The staff were extremely nice and attentive. Two hours after I arrived to my room the front desk called to welcome me and wish me the best during my stay. The ladies in housekeeping made sure our room was stocked and clean. The hotel security guard was also helpful and made sure me and my friends we were safe while we stood outside the hotel. I really appreciate the genuine hospitality. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Downingtown, PA

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 8, 2014
This hotel was wonderful. Great staff, great location. I would stay here again without a doubt! Free breakfast was a great bonus as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from e

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Right on South Beach. Clean and well maintained. The service at the front desk depends on the person. Concierge George who works during the day is great. But the person who works nights isn't helpful or friendly. One night I woke in the middle of the night and needed water. I asked him for some water. He refused to give me water saying only the first two bottles they put in our room are free, which I learned to be wrong after buying my own water from the supermarket for the rest of my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very friendly staff. Hotel still had that old south beach feel with a modern twist. Great location within walkin distance to great shopping and restaurants. South beach was right across from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

In the middle of all the action

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great location, right on the strip.Great restaurant on site with very good reviews.Beach is located a very short distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location; beach front on Ocean Dr.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location and pleasant staff; clean room.
Cons: Breakfast. A hot breakfast should be served as is the case by neighbouring hotels.
Location: Right on Ocean drive. 2 minute walk to Collins and add a minute to Washington. You are about 13 blocks away from Espinola and Lincoln Road.
Great location, across from the beach! Pleasant and courteous staff especially Ana and Jorge from the front desk. Continental breakfast disappointing, because last year at a nearby hotel we stayed at, it offered hot breakfast from a menu. Beach Towels provided but no chairs. Chairs and umbrella at beach can cost for 2 chairs and umbrella $39 or $50, so budget for it! There is no courtesy room if your flight leaves late; checkout us at 11:00, although they may extend it to 13:00. The restaurant offered a a great dinner menu, especiallizing in seafood fishes. Overall, a very nice stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Price
Location: EVERYTHING! Beach right across the street, shops and eating and bars all within walking distance.
I booked this hotel for my friend's bachelorette party. The hotel was in an amazing location. It is right across the street from a public beach entrance and within walking distance of TONS of bars, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel staff is WONDERFUL! They went above and beyond to make my friend's weekend amazing. They even sent a bottle of champagne up to our room! The hotel is older and maybe not as astatically pleasing, but what the hotel lacks in beauty it makes up for with the staff. I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family and I would stay there again. For the price, you can’t beat it! Thanks Avalon! Kacey's Bachelorette Party
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just O.K

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel was great, right on ocean drive and beach is very close by.
Cons: Hotel needs to renovate, especially the washrooms.
Location: A lot of restaurants/bars, and the beach is less than a 2 minute walk.
I went to the Avalon Hotel with a few of my friends. When we arrived to the hotel, the lady at the front desk was not friendly. However, during the rest of our stay, majority of the staff was nice and very helpful. I was expecting a small hotel with small rooms but there was nothing special about this hotel. There were four girls in one room, and with all of our luggage we barely had any room or space to walk around. Sometimes we found it either too cold or too hot in our room. Overall, it was an O.K hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The hotel is not what it appears to be or advertised. Next time we will spend the extra $ and go somewhere else for better quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila,pa

Nice hotel right in the middle of the action

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It was fun I had a ball was able to sleep when I wanted to without a bunch of noise. Courteous service, ok breakfast and chill night life