Ratings based on 611 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Very friendly staff. Hotel still had that old south beach feel with a modern twist. Great location within walkin distance to great shopping and restaurants. South beach was right across from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo, CA

In the middle of all the action

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Great location, right on the strip.Great restaurant on site with very good reviews.Beach is located a very short distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location; beach front on Ocean Dr.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Location and pleasant staff; clean room.
Cons: Breakfast. A hot breakfast should be served as is the case by neighbouring hotels.
Location: Right on Ocean drive. 2 minute walk to Collins and add a minute to Washington. You are about 13 blocks away from Espinola and Lincoln Road.
Great location, across from the beach! Pleasant and courteous staff especially Ana and Jorge from the front desk. Continental breakfast disappointing, because last year at a nearby hotel we stayed at, it offered hot breakfast from a menu. Beach Towels provided but no chairs. Chairs and umbrella at beach can cost for 2 chairs and umbrella $39 or $50, so budget for it! There is no courtesy room if your flight leaves late; checkout us at 11:00, although they may extend it to 13:00. The restaurant offered a a great dinner menu, especiallizing in seafood fishes. Overall, a very nice stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location, Staff, Price
Location: EVERYTHING! Beach right across the street, shops and eating and bars all within walking distance.
I booked this hotel for my friend's bachelorette party. The hotel was in an amazing location. It is right across the street from a public beach entrance and within walking distance of TONS of bars, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel staff is WONDERFUL! They went above and beyond to make my friend's weekend amazing. They even sent a bottle of champagne up to our room! The hotel is older and maybe not as astatically pleasing, but what the hotel lacks in beauty it makes up for with the staff. I would recommend the hotel to my friends and family and I would stay there again. For the price, you can’t beat it! Thanks Avalon! Kacey's Bachelorette Party
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Just O.K

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel was great, right on ocean drive and beach is very close by.
Cons: Hotel needs to renovate, especially the washrooms.
Location: A lot of restaurants/bars, and the beach is less than a 2 minute walk.
I went to the Avalon Hotel with a few of my friends. When we arrived to the hotel, the lady at the front desk was not friendly. However, during the rest of our stay, majority of the staff was nice and very helpful. I was expecting a small hotel with small rooms but there was nothing special about this hotel. There were four girls in one room, and with all of our luggage we barely had any room or space to walk around. Sometimes we found it either too cold or too hot in our room. Overall, it was an O.K hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The hotel is not what it appears to be or advertised. Next time we will spend the extra $ and go somewhere else for better quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila,pa

Nice hotel right in the middle of the action

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It was fun I had a ball was able to sleep when I wanted to without a bunch of noise. Courteous service, ok breakfast and chill night life
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Impressive for the price & location.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I loved that this hotel was right on the strip, literally steps from the beach. Room was very clean & the free continental style breakfast was good.
Cons: Only issue for me was no microwave in the room and the front desk advised there was none for hotel guest ( I KNOW they had one SOMEWHERE in the hotel)
Location: Take advantage of one of the boat tours.
This was my first stay at the Avalon. We arrived at the hotel before check in but they held our luggage and offered beach towels while we waited. Check in was at 3pm but our room was actually ready by 1:30pm at no extra cost. The hotel staff was extremely courteous and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Room size was decent but the bathroom was tiny; the bath tub was filthy and they did not sweep the floor or vacuum the rugs; there was no microwave so we could not warm up our food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Nice location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpfull, location was great. Unfortunately, there is no amenities.