Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Facilities, Poor Service

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: rooms were very spacious
Cons: we found previous residents food in kitchen cupboards. Water should not have been switch off. Parking service is not good!
Location: Hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Ave.
We stayed at the Boulan for three nights. One the second night we arrived back at the hotel to find a notice advising that the water would be switched off between 2am and 6am that night. Needless to say, the water was switched off and was not switched on again until 10.05am! Absolutely disgraceful as you could not use the toilet or the bathroom...we did of course complain and received a credit to our bill...but in my opinion water should never be switched off in a hotel with resident guests! Then on second day, we asked for our car to be 'brought round from the valet parking'...after a 45min wait...we saw our car approach the hotel..turn round and drive away again....again, an apology was received with a credit to the parking charges but it did rather spoil our plans for the afternoon! The hotel rooms are very spacious and the pool area was very pleasant and the hotel is well situated...but we were a little disappointed overall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will definitely rebook !!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Excellent location !! Ideal accommodations .. Bottom line boulan for me was him away from home !!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, Average Comfort/Attention to Detail

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Negatives - not enough kitchen utensils for cooking - stove didn't work properly - freezer didn't work properly - thermostat didn't work properly - sofa bed was very uncomfortable and wasn't a queen as advertised - regular king bed mattress was old and uncomfortable - no dish soap, kitchen rags or laundry detergent included (should have been given price of hotel) Positives - good location - nice bathroom - nice rooftop pool - adequate gym facility - clean - staff is pleasant
2 out of 5
by Priscilla from New York

More like a condo building

Posted Mar 20, 2014
I get better service in my building in NYC than we got at Boulan. The first room they took me to reeked of cigarettes and was in poor condition, with scratches in the walls and was nothing like the pictures on the website. I asked to be moved and the second room was nice enough, with a comfortable bed and nice furniture. Likewise the roofdeck pool was nice enough, as were the lobby areas, and hallways. But the restaurant is not really in the hotel, the valet service is not really managed by the hotel, the beach is not really managed by the hotel. All this results in not so stellar service. Three days in I was so frustrated that I wanted to move, but they would not give me a refund so we had to stay. Our car was late the first few days and I was late to appointments, so we started requesting it before we needed it. Then they would call us and tell us that if we didn't come down they would take it away. When we called for room service the restaurant told me that I had an outdated menu in the room. We showed up at the beach and were told we should have gone to the hotel first and requested a card for the beach. Whatever it was, it was always our fault, and not the hotel's. The gym has a broken elliptical machine. We spilled something at the gym, and it was still there three days later. Now, I honestly felt that the staff tried their best, but they don't have a real hotel to work with. The Boulan is way too pricey for not being one. Next time I'll stay somewhere that is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from woodstock ontario canada

Great Location!

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Cons: some furniture on the terrace/balcony would be nice.
Location: 2 minute walk to the beach and the nice pool on the roof is really great when its too cold to go to the beach. the loungers there are great!
Nice stay in a comfortable room. New and modern and a very pleasing environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Pretty views and great service

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: The room was very big, plenty of room for 4 ladies! Loved having huge refrigerator and microwave. But the service helpful, friendly.
Cons: Remove the dumpster outside!! Eyesore. I know renovating, but ugh.
Location: only 1 block from ocean, nice park next door, the W Hotel is diagonal from Hotel. 15 min. walk to Lincold Road.
From beginning to end of our girls weekend away, was amazing! The hotel is a little further north from where we were used to, but everything was still walkable or taxi handy. The Hotel service was fantastic. They were able to get us in our room early, send up recommendations of local places to order in (since raining), hailed taxis for us, would answer our requests for more towels, etc, in less than 5 min. of calling. We happened to meet the owner in hotel's restaurant, Charles Street, and he was very hospitable and over the top willing to make our stay as perfect as possible. Two thumbs up for Sean! We will most definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DebbieDoo from Georgia

Weekend in South Beach

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location was good. Right on the edge of South Beach and North Beach. Easy walk to everything. Right across the street from the beach.
Location: Lots of shopping and restaurants. We did not have a car and were still able to get around on foot.
Hotel was clean, service at front desk was friendly and helpful. However, for some reason it took 2 days to get washcloths in our room. Finally had to go to front desk to get them. Would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but lots of hidden charges

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Not equipped and not enough towels.
Location: Lincoln Ave was great.
Great location, but lots of hidden charges. Not enough towels, you pay for your in room coffee with not even a coffee stirrer to be had! The pool was also cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel but breakfast

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Cons: complimentary breakfast should be expanded
hotel was superior but complimentary breakfast was minimal, they wouldn't even include a refill of your coffee without a charge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from New York, NY

A lovely all-suite hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Beautifully decorated room. Amazing bathroom. Immaculately clean
Cons: The lobby could use an upgrade (peeling paint on the ceiling) and the valet parking situation needs to be rectified
Location: Although the hotel says it's on 20th Street, the entrance is on 21st. Great beach access one half block away. Lincoln Road shopping and dining four bl
This is an excellent option in South Beach. About a block from the beach, with a roof top pool, the beautifully appointed one bedroom suite was luxurious (we upgraded to a water view king room). Our room was on the top floor and faced toward the water (partial view) with a terrace that ran the entire length of the living room and bedroom. The living has a pull out sleeper sofa. The kitchen was equipped with high end appliances, and the cabinets were reasonably equipped (basic pots and dishes), although the restaurants in the area make cooking/eating-in seem unnecessary. Make a supermarket run for the basics for coffee in the morning and a snack for happy hour. Although this is a residential condo, we had full hotel services in our room. The one hiccup we had was retrieving the car from valet parking. The cars are kept around the corner in a parking lot, and it can take upwards of 45 minutes to get your car so plan ahead. The hotel is currently doing some renovation on the first level that while unsightly, did not impact our stay.