Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful hotel, conveniently located

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We had a wonderful experience at Cadet Hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and loved the proximity of the hotel to the beach and other attractions. We stayed in a cozy queen room which was indeed cozy. The nice little touches such as the welcome fruit/chocolate and treats after turndown service were great. We loved the spa area/jacuzzi. Overall we had a wonderful experience and would come back if we were in Miami again...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Good Boutique Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The charming little touches, such as little notes, complimentary items like the little "cookies" (still can't remember the real name) and champagne.
Cons: Other than the aforementioned loud noises, they have a spa pool, which means it is basically a pool-temperature jacuzzi. I say, go full jacuzzi!
Location: Right in the heart of Miami beach, so everything is near: restaurants, clubs, bars, pharmacies, beach, etc.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. The room was charming and there were some nice little touches, such as little notes, complimentary champagne, and little "cookies" (I forget the real name) when you get maid service. For what this hotel is - a small boutique hotel a block or 2 from the beach - it rocked. The staff were eager to please, and I found the room accommodations generally pleasant. With that said, it is a rather old building and, as such, had its share of minor annoyances: plumbing was loud (i.e., every time I turned on the hot water in the bathroom, I heard a tremendous screech. Perhaps some WD-40?) In addition, I could hear other people's next door conversations while in my bathroom. I had read some reviews where people complained of the loud a/c. This proved to be true, at least for the first 2 days (maybe I just got used to it. lol). When I turned on the a/c, it sounded like a helicopter was hovering nearby. But, again, the hotel has its charm. If you're looking for all the accommodations of a big, luxury hotel, The Cadet may not be for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quite hotel with no pool

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel is very quite and romantic. It was exactly what my boyfriend and I were looking for. The staff were amazing!! The only down side is the "pool" is a jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect romantic getaway

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: La Sandwicherie - 229 14th Street Shops on Lincoln Road
Took my husband here for my birthday. Felt like we had the whole place to ourselves for a week. Pool in the back.. perfect everyday (including rainy days). And Dimitry makes a great cocktail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kellie P from St Petersburg, FL

Good location, cute hotel, but inconsistent.

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A charming little hotel located near the Convention Center. The hotel has no parking or valet. There is a lot a half block away with in/out privileges. Upon walking into the deco inspired lobby there is a musty odor. Fortunately that doesn't continue up to the second floor where my room was. During my two night stay there was a lot of work being done close by, but also pounding from within the hotel. The cleanliness of the room was inconsistent - while at first glance it appeared clean and tidy, I quickly realized that appearances were deceiving. There was a good layer of dust on things like the sconces, the top of some books, the headboard and some framed photos. Some of the finishes we less than well kept while others seemed quite high end. There were some nice touches, a welcome cup of fresh fruit, an assortment of lovely loose tea and tiny macaroons on my bedside table the second night. By far, the thing that most influenced my feelings about this hotel though, was the fact that I could not control the temperature in my room. The wall unit did not come with a thermostat that I could control. After getting a restless warm night of sleep the first night I called down the next day to ask about adjusting it and an attendant had to come to my room to change it with a remote control, but it never really got cool, only moderately more tolerable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved the hotel. Got good deal & we were delighted with everything it had to offer, check in service was swift & we were given the tour of hotel facilities. <5 min walk to beach & Lincoln road (shops & restaurants). Very quiet room 117 , small & very comfy beds., fresh fruit on arrival, sweets on pillows & towels available at no charge for beach. Parking across street at $25 a night though hotel did send us down the street where it was $30, went with cheapest option which was safe & secure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from Mesa AZ

Small rooms

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall I cannot give the Cadet a bad review: the room was clean, the service was great, and it provided everything it said it would. However, there were a few things that made me wish I had looked at little harder at the room I was booking. We booked the Cozy King room and let me tell you that cozy is another word for small. We tripped over each other trying to move around the room. We also stayed in summer and it's hot in Miami during summer. Don't expect to enjoy the outdoor areas of the Cadet because the terrace is devoid of breeze and although it is beautiful, it could use some fans. The pool/spa is a hot tub and again, although beautiful, we were wishing it was a nice refreshing pool. If you're looking for a place that's close to everything, clean, quiet and reasonably priced, this is your place. If you want a balcony, an ocean view or a spacious room, you may want to look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tiffany Folkes from New York

Comfy Stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on our honeymoon and were very surprised at the hotel we choose to stay at. It was different from the more common and commercial hotels that we know. We loved how it felt like we were in someone's home and in the guest room. It was peaceful and comfortable. The hotel managers were very polite and helpful about what to do around Miami Beach. The location was perfect. It was only one block away from the beach and two small blocks from the mall shopping area. My only one concern I had was with housekeeping. Sometimes we were late out of the bed (honeymooners) and housekeeping would knock at the door to find that we were still in bed. Housekeeping made us give them a time of when we would be out of the room. And when we did leave for a few hours when we came back the room was still untidy. I did have to ask for fresh towels at that point. Eventually, housekeeping did comeback that day to clean the room. This continued for a few days. Overall, If we ever go back to Miami Beach we would stay there.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travel Dog

Modest Hotel 2 blocks from the Beach

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: I loved the little touches like the welcoming fruit platter, the chocolates with turn down service, and complimentary beach towels and bottled water.
Cons: Bathrooms were a little old fashioned and could use an upgrade, but it did add to its charm.
Location: Close to great restaurants on Washington Ave and Lincoln Rd. Also close to Art Deco District on Collins Ave.
The hotel is well located just 2 blocks from the beach and close to shops and restaurants on Washington Ave and the Lincoln Rd Mall. There is no elevator here, so you either have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs to the second floor or tolerate the from above on the ground floor. There is a kind of old fashioned charm to the hotel. It has modern elements to the rooms, but the bathroom was very old fashioned. There are photos of Clark Gable in the lobby who was once a regular guest. The hotel is also close to bus stops for visits downtown, and close to the Hop On Hop Off bus route. The swimming pool is more like a Jacuzzi but being so close to the beach you wont really need it. Breakfast is not included, but there are grocery stores a block away and a small fridge in every room. The staff are nice and I enjoyed the fruit platter awaiting in my room with a personalised welcoming letter. There was also complimentary bottles of water and beach towels are available in the lobby. I also liked the evening turndown service with chocolates left on the bed, which added to the old fashioned charm of this hotel. Rooms are a little small, but this is common in South Beach.