Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Good Boutique Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The charming little touches, such as little notes, complimentary items like the little "cookies" (still can't remember the real name) and champagne.
Cons: Other than the aforementioned loud noises, they have a spa pool, which means it is basically a pool-temperature jacuzzi. I say, go full jacuzzi!
Location: Right in the heart of Miami beach, so everything is near: restaurants, clubs, bars, pharmacies, beach, etc.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. The room was charming and there were some nice little touches, such as little notes, complimentary champagne, and little "cookies" (I forget the real name) when you get maid service. For what this hotel is - a small boutique hotel a block or 2 from the beach - it rocked. The staff were eager to please, and I found the room accommodations generally pleasant. With that said, it is a rather old building and, as such, had its share of minor annoyances: plumbing was loud (i.e., every time I turned on the hot water in the bathroom, I heard a tremendous screech. Perhaps some WD-40?) In addition, I could hear other people's next door conversations while in my bathroom. I had read some reviews where people complained of the loud a/c. This proved to be true, at least for the first 2 days (maybe I just got used to it. lol). When I turned on the a/c, it sounded like a helicopter was hovering nearby. But, again, the hotel has its charm. If you're looking for all the accommodations of a big, luxury hotel, The Cadet may not be for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quite hotel with no pool

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The hotel is very quite and romantic. It was exactly what my boyfriend and I were looking for. The staff were amazing!! The only down side is the "pool" is a jacuzzi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect romantic getaway

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: La Sandwicherie - 229 14th Street Shops on Lincoln Road
Took my husband here for my birthday. Felt like we had the whole place to ourselves for a week. Pool in the back.. perfect everyday (including rainy days). And Dimitry makes a great cocktail.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travel Dog

Modest Hotel 2 blocks from the Beach

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: I loved the little touches like the welcoming fruit platter, the chocolates with turn down service, and complimentary beach towels and bottled water.
Cons: Bathrooms were a little old fashioned and could use an upgrade, but it did add to its charm.
Location: Close to great restaurants on Washington Ave and Lincoln Rd. Also close to Art Deco District on Collins Ave.
The hotel is well located just 2 blocks from the beach and close to shops and restaurants on Washington Ave and the Lincoln Rd Mall. There is no elevator here, so you either have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs to the second floor or tolerate the from above on the ground floor. There is a kind of old fashioned charm to the hotel. It has modern elements to the rooms, but the bathroom was very old fashioned. There are photos of Clark Gable in the lobby who was once a regular guest. The hotel is also close to bus stops for visits downtown, and close to the Hop On Hop Off bus route. The swimming pool is more like a Jacuzzi but being so close to the beach you wont really need it. Breakfast is not included, but there are grocery stores a block away and a small fridge in every room. The staff are nice and I enjoyed the fruit platter awaiting in my room with a personalised welcoming letter. There was also complimentary bottles of water and beach towels are available in the lobby. I also liked the evening turndown service with chocolates left on the bed, which added to the old fashioned charm of this hotel. Rooms are a little small, but this is common in South Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice, a little expensive, very good staff

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: location wasn't bad, staff was excellent
Cons: the room could use a nice quiet ceiling fan. That would have been great.
Location: Lincoln Road is very close. The music hall has free outdoor movies on Wednesday. Go to Yardbird for bourbon and chicken biscuits. Oh, and Bella Cuban.
The staff was excellent and made the stay. The room was as advertised, but the bathroom was a little small. The hotel was nice and conveniently located for us. The bar, breakfast and restaurant were all a little high. I think we had 6 drinks and the bill was $85.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michele from New York, NY

Nice hotel but staff is strict.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Charming atmosphere
Cons: Hotel should offer a free continental breakfast for the price they charge of a nightly stay.
Location: Location is great - one block from beach. One block from Botanical Gardens and a few blocks from Holocaust Memorial and Bass Museum.
Hotel was very charming and caters to an international crowd. However, we were not allowed to bring a pizza back to the hotel pool for dinner one night and instead had to eat in our room. Additionally, they were very chinzy with the soap, shampoo, and toiletries. The hotel has a good location, but does not offer any amenities such as lounge chairs for the beach or continental breakfast. Other hotels in the area offer such items. Again, hotel was lovely, but there are better deals to be found.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Avner

Very nice boutique hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Location: Very good location next to south beach and the shopping area
We came for one day only, but were still able to enjoy this very nice boutique hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No parking. Don't rent a car.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Small and cozy. Good breakfast.
Cons: Parking situation.
Location: Its one 1/2 blocks from the beach.
They suggest that you park in a lot 1/2 block away. Don't. That lot is a rip off. Park two blocks away at the public lot on 17th for $20 a night. That is the best deal you will find as far as parking goes. The hotel itself is nice. Good location and the Clark Gable room was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JN from Canada

Excellent hotel near the beach!

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Fantastic hotel with friendly and attentive staff. Everything is clean and you can tell they take pride in their hotel. And the location can't be beat... only 1.5 blocks to the beach. We would stay again in a heartbeat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alix from Washington DC

charming boutique hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: staff was wonderful, location only a block or so from the beach room was bright and beautiful even though small
Cons: soundproof windows like the hotels in NYC
Location: beach a stone's throw within walking distance of good restaurants, bike and jog trail, convention center and Art Deco historic district
lovely room, small but beautifully done great special touches like bottled water and a small plate of fresh fruit our only problem was terrible street noise; Spring Break!! ouch otherwise would stay again in a minute!