Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Holsim from Colorado Springs

Missing some details....

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Arrived 3PM, (beautiful lobby) check in person very nice & professional. Our room, however, was not ready. The manager bought us lunch which was nice. After lunch, the room still wasn't ready, we just sat there a bit frustrated & disappointed as we had hoped to enjoy the beach & maybe some yoga before dinner. The room was finally ready at 6:15. When we arrived at the room there were Spanish expletives & gesticulation emanating from within. We were surprised to find two maintenance guys inside the room. (Really nice guys & very apologetic) Normally, by this point, I would have gone nuclear on the manager, but it was kind of a date weekend with my girlfriend so I opted out on that option & took things in stride. Now 6:30, we settled into our wheelchair accessible room, which we did not reserve nor did we require. Really nice room but lots of nicks & dings, edges, furniture, everywhere...I guess from all the wheelchairs. Spa facilities o.k., Viceroy much better. Didn't appreciate the staff members on a 'rendezvous' in the stairway leading to the outdoor pool. Romeo & Juliet later interrogated my girlfriend about her keypass saying "show it to us", not "miss may we please see your pass", as would be expected from a properly classed team member of a 'potentially' classy hotel experience. Hey manager guy, next time just upgrade the nice doctor & his CEO girlfriend to ANY AVAILABLE ROOM & be done with it..! Having done so, this mediocre review could have been SPECTACULAR..!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fpny from New York NY

Not a leading hotel of the world!

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: the beach, the spa, the gym, the fact that there is a kitchenette.
Cons: service in the hotel to be really labelled Leading Hotel of the World. This one is NOT
Location: Location is fine, but nothing to do around except a supermarket You have to go to South Beach for shopping or restaurants
I had booked through Expedia a Suite with an Ocean View I was given a suite with no view unless you bend over the balcony to see the view! They finally moved me to another room, because I showed them my reservation. Then the day after I had to call 3 times to have my room cleaned and the sunk unblocked. They finally came around 4pm! The bed was so soft that my back was hurting in the morning. I found out that they had put a plywood under the mattress to make it firmer.When you are a 5 stars hotel, you get a decent mattress. I liked the facilities, but not the service in the hotel, even if the staff was pleasant. They obviously need more employees to clean up the rooms. They also encourage the guest not to change to linens every day, to save energy, but they would turn on the dish washer with one cup and 1 dish inside. This is a shame
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not a family type

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Nice hotel close to beach No activities for children
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from north olmsted, oh

If you like staying at your grandparents house for

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: nothing, wall to wall housing
When we first arrived, the valet, and staff were very nice and welcoming. We went to the restaurant to eat, and were very disappointed. They are a fitness place, only organic food was served with no flavor at all. They do not have any pop whatsoever, or vending machines. You get 2 bottles of water, that's it. We were starving and thirsty, they could not accommodate, and there are no nearby gas stations or food. I felt trapped, and hungry. The patrons were an average of 60 years and older looking for fitness training. There were no young couples. Also, their list of rules is ridiculous. No smoking on the entire property including the balcony, parking lot, anywhere. No talking on your cell phones in the restaurant, the lobby, etc. When people are on vacation, they need to touch base with loved ones at home to let them know that you arrived safely. Once you are checked in, the attitude from the staff begins. Very rude, and unwelcoming, complete opposite of how they made you feel before they swiped you credit card for $750, plus $200 incidentals per person, per day...we stayed 1 night, but they put a hold of $800 on our card, even thoughj we had already paid $750. We have stayed at a lot of nice places, and I don't mind spending money on quality. But we were at the point of checking out, losing the money and staying at a super 8 motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Ed from Ottawa, ON, Canada

A BAD DESIGN

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Pros: concierge and the receptionist
Cons: Read my comments above
Location: Very good
First of all the access uphill ramp to the hotel is steep and the entrance area is plugged with parked cars. It took us a while to reach the front doors.A BAD DESIGN FEATURE The entrance area is exposed to the Easterly winds off the Ocean which is the prevailing wind in South Florida. The entrance doors are hard to open and close due to the stiffness of the door hardware which is necessary to control the operation of the doors from the effects of the wind. THIS IS ANOTHER BAD DESIGN FEATURE. The toilet in our Room No316 was located inside the bathroom in a cubicle separated by a pair of sliding doors hard to operate. There was very little room between the toilet paper holder and the toilet seat. Very uncomfortable. ANOTHER BAD DESIGN FEATURE. We always trusted EXPEDIA. We willl be very careful in our future dealings
5 out of 5
Recommended
by barbara

Posted Jan 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great, relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SBN from London, England

best hotel in Miami

Posted Nov 19, 2012
Pros: beach, boardwalk, spa facilities, general cleanliness
Cons: Airconditioning units in some rooms are quite noisy
With an excellent location on the beach and boardwalk and with great facilities, this is the best place to stay in Miami without question. The suites are self catering and fully equipped. Valet service is good.Food is Ok if you want to watch your diet- dont expect burgers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

I had a great stay

Posted Jul 29, 2012
Pros: clean and large room
Cons: the pool could be a little better
I had a great stay. Room was nice, staff were pleasing and available. I didn't use much of their SPA activities though, but they all seem interesting for those with time for that (and money!). I'd definitely recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Canyon Ranch

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Pros: aquavana
Cons: inconsistent pool service on cloudy days. No air conditioning in the hallways sometimes.
Great Hotel. No 5 star, but very close. The location and spa are awesome!