Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

CORAL GABLES HOTEL

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel was fine. It was within walking distance to a friends house we were visiting while in Miami/Coral Gables. Nice area, safe. Beds and accommodates were fine. Not a 4 star, but it suited our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Exterior belies Interior!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
This hotel was awesome!!! SUPER comfortable bed and awesome well appointed bathroom with a FAB shower (no bath!) Restaurant food was great and all the staff helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Oct 6, 2014
The hotel was alright, not as bad as the reviews. The only problems i had was the shower.. There was no middle temperature, it was either freezing cold or boiling hot... the carpet was a little dirty i found trash on the floor. After I checked in and was going to my room, the door was open !!... The cleaning people must have forgotten to close the door. I got the the hotel at 7 pm so that means the room must have been open for quite some time. Aside from this... The hotel charged my card when I had already pre paid for it via expedia... I did call the hotel and they were very helpful about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

More than adequate!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The rooms and the helpful staff
Cons: The walkway/gallery to the rooms can & should be improved up to the same standards as the rest of the hotel.
Location: The Coral gables area has loads of great restaurants and bars around the Alhambra Plaza.
I saw a lot of negative reviews amongst a mix of some positive one's. I sure was a little apprehensive when booking this hotel, but wanted to be in this area and had no other reasonable choice. My overall experience was rather positive and somehow don't agree with "most" of the negative reviews here. As you walk into the hotel, you see a nice lobby and a decent restaurant. The rooms are very spacious, well lit and very clean. The only negative I found was that my room was in a separate wing and the passage to the rooms (through the lobby) isn't upto the same standard as the hotel lobby itself. As soon as you leave the hotel lobby and go past the double doors (towards the rooms); there is no air-con on the lobby, the walls/flooring appear not as nice as the main hotel. These are the only negative's I could think of. That said, once you get to your room, it's all great! Given then fact I paid slightly more than I would have paid for an average motel in Miami, I am more than happy having stayed here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

centrally located

Posted Sep 8, 2014
ice machine did not work and not told about this at check in-slippery shower surface - a/c barely kept up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl

Two days in

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Is very clean and the building is in good condition
Cons: They need to update the TV and the balcony doors, but I have to say everything works perfectly
Location: Good location, near by free ways, entertainment centers, malls right in the center of Coral Gables
I'm local, I book the hotel for a emergency and because is near by my work place, nice price, good attention, very clean, 24 hours front desk. For that location was a good price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Outdated, bordering bad area (neighborhood)

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. I stayed in a king room with small refrigerator, has new flat screen tv. The pool was nice
Cons: Major remodeling!!! New hotel shuttle! Major overhaul of staff training on professionalism and friendliness.
Location: Nothing within walking distance. Publix, Starbucks and hi end restaurants that require reservations/dress code.
Upon getting picked up at the hotel with this hotels' shuttle van, that was old, smelled horrible, the driver was rude (came to find out he's the owner of hotel) and the van had a taped old print out sign on the back of the passenger seat that read something along the lines (and misspelled) "tips appreciated." The outside was just as outdated, borderline falling apart, between the overhead blue fabric awnings, to the lumpy cushioned green velvet couches in the lobby. The staff all spoke Spanish and seemed to be highly disappointed that I spoke English. The clientele in the restaurant was nothing short of scary and made it uncomfortable to want to eat nor sit in. As the staff were also not professional in their presentation. The hallway leading to my room was hot, outdated, smelled and often had strange men just sitting at either end, making me feel unsafe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location at affordable price w parking

Posted Aug 10, 2014
This hotel have different exposure; street or pool. And some room like mine totally renovated and just great. Some other got lesser luxury depending how busy the hotel is… I was happy with my room. Breakfast is toast, coffee and juice. Or you order a la carte.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Just okay.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The hotel room was so hot and musty when you first go it. Also I felt deceived because it says free breakfast, you just get coffee/Orange juice and two pieces of bread. They didn't even have wheat, only white. Hallways in hotel make the place look cheap and low low low class.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from coral gables

Nice area , cheap hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
No refrigerator as advertised! , room had window ac unit which took 12 hours to cool down. Room was extremely hot when 1st entered.